Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction to acting technique
This short and easy to read book offers a succinct summary of a coherent adaptation of Stanislavsky's Method of Physical Action. It borrows heavily on the authors experiences with David Mamet and yet does not fall into some of the dogmatism of Mamet's own writings on acting. In a sense acting is not really this easy - but the approach outlined is straightforward,...
Published on 8 Jan. 2001

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One of a very few
This is the only book you need on acting, it simplifies the craft of the actor, removes the magic hocus pocus so that the magic remains for the audience. This is one of about sixty books on acting that I would actually say is helpful to the actor, should be read as a companion to Mamet's True and False and Karen Kohlhaas's Monologue Audition.
Published on 8 Nov. 2007 by M. D. Westbrook


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction to acting technique, 8 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: A Practical Handbook for the Actor (Paperback)
This short and easy to read book offers a succinct summary of a coherent adaptation of Stanislavsky's Method of Physical Action. It borrows heavily on the authors experiences with David Mamet and yet does not fall into some of the dogmatism of Mamet's own writings on acting. In a sense acting is not really this easy - but the approach outlined is straightforward, accessible and a great way to start making sense of acting and how it works! Worth trying it out - it wins ten out of ten for clarity compared to so many other books on acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Surprisingly Practical Approach, 15 Aug. 2011
By 
L. Weichert (London, UK, EU) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Practical Handbook for the Actor (Paperback)
At under 90 pages, this book presents a little gem and an excellent introduction into an approach of acting as developed by the authors and David Mamet, William H Macy and Gregory Mosher, and that is now being realised and taught at Atlantic Acting School. It stirs clear of unnecessary extended explanation but remains true to its title to be precise and above all practical in the way it sets out its principals. As any 'Guide' or 'Handbook' to anything that is a personal responds to something, such as acting, it may appear at times a little dogmatic, but the fundamental points of the technique to look to connect oneself with ones imagination and to develop a craft of ones acting are very true and relevant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars clear, direct and accessible, 4 Jan. 2011
By 
M. J. Phillips (West Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Practical Handbook for the Actor (Paperback)
A Practical Handbook for the Actor
I've been an actor for some years now and have developed my own method for preparing and performing - usually based on things which have worked for me in the past, and integrated with the ideas of the current director. However, i am always open to new ideas, especially when they seem to have encapsulated previous methods - simplified. For me, this book seems to gather up that which i've learnt, and gives it a clarity for future use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great guide for Actors, 30 Sept. 2006
By 
This review is from: A Practical Handbook for the Actor (Paperback)
Speaking as a Writer / Director, I found this compact book to be a very useful. The insights it gives, and its clear no nonsense approach, distil much invaluable knowledge and experience. I especially like the way it focuses on the Meisner approach to acting, acting in the moment. I think it would be a great help to Actors from time to time who want to remind themselves of what their craft should really be all about. It is what it says it is - both practical and a handbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can not put this down!, 25 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Practical Handbook for the Actor (Paperback)
I start drama school in September and this was on our reading list and I just love it! So many great pointers and techniques, its really going to help me with analysing scripts and taking on characters. If you want some insight into practical techniques this is perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One of a very few, 8 Nov. 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Practical Handbook for the Actor (Paperback)
This is the only book you need on acting, it simplifies the craft of the actor, removes the magic hocus pocus so that the magic remains for the audience. This is one of about sixty books on acting that I would actually say is helpful to the actor, should be read as a companion to Mamet's True and False and Karen Kohlhaas's Monologue Audition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book cuts through the crap. It is a straight forward guide to a ..., 19 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Practical Handbook for the Actor (Paperback)
This book cuts through the crap. It is a straight forward guide to a way of acting which works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Practical Handbook for the Actor
A Practical Handbook for the Actor by Melissa Bruder (Paperback - 31 Dec. 1986)
£9.33
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews