Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent a must have it should be the standard text
I have been practicing Tai Chi for over 12 years and am always interested in good books on the subject. Unforunatley many texts simply repeat the same material and any forms illustrated tend to be the flavour of that particular author. So what you want is a smaller number of the best books that you can really get something from and trust. TT's insights and...
Published on 17 Mar 2000 by GP

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
interesting
Published 6 days ago by Mr. H,T,Suddick


Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent a must have it should be the standard text, 17 Mar 2000
This review is from: Tai Chi Ch'Uan for Health and Self-Defense: Philosophy and Practice (Vintage) (Paperback)
I have been practicing Tai Chi for over 12 years and am always interested in good books on the subject. Unforunatley many texts simply repeat the same material and any forms illustrated tend to be the flavour of that particular author. So what you want is a smaller number of the best books that you can really get something from and trust. TT's insights and transalaion of the Tai Chi Classics is excellent, in fact its my favourite book on Tai Chi by far.The next book to this would be Douglas Wile's Tai Chi Touchstones The Yang Family Secret Transmissions. But TT's Book is perhaps the best on the classics he has a real clarity of understanding of the art and puts it across well. Outside of these core books look for general material on Taoism, Zen, & Mediation to broaden your practice. The last I heard a number of years ago TT was 99 is he still alive ? I would like to know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deeply insightful book on Tai Chi, Taoism and various forms, 4 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Tai Chi Ch'Uan for Health and Self-Defense: Philosophy and Practice (Vintage) (Paperback)
This has rapidly become my favourite read on Tai Chi, as it is so clear and easy, yet so profound, but not written like a text book, more a direct communication with the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tai chi Ch'uan, 10 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tai Chi Ch'Uan for Health and Self-Defense: Philosophy and Practice (Vintage) (Paperback)
This book is not really for beginners as it caters for students who have already learnt the steps for this form of Tai chi. Having said that ,I found this a marvellous book ,dealing with the underlying asppects of tai chi, so even a novice like myself could pick up usefull advice. A great book! Master T.T. Liang has dealt with the philosophy underpinning the movements and shows how the can be used for self defence as well as well being.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for the beginner, 4 July 2012
By 
A. Lee (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tai Chi Ch'Uan for Health and Self-Defense: Philosophy and Practice (Vintage) (Paperback)
After years of practicing the form, this book was the one that I hoped would pull together the information my Tai Chi teacher has been trying to tell me. I wasn't dissapointed, having read 'Steal my art' this book helped me to unravel some stuff to a deeper level of understanding. NOT the sudden 'someone turned the lights on' that most of us hope to get, but much more subtle. Probably because a student absolutely has to be ready to access this. Only the serious student should get this book and only then after considerable practice and thoughtful study of the classics. The commentary on each part of the classics is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The real deal, 7 July 2014
This review is from: Tai Chi Ch'Uan for Health and Self-Defense: Philosophy and Practice (Vintage) (Paperback)
Although this is a book written decades ago, it's timeless. It is something I personally feel needs to be read slowly to absorb and digest the valuable and enjoyable information. It has taught me soooooo much about Tai Chi, I can't recommend this book enough. It is an on-going lesson, an evolutionary experience and feel that it's opened my eyes, as well as, opened my heart. It's not that long, but it's solid filled with vital thoughts...information...You have countless other books on the market, to me, they would be more classified as a glorified money maker or coffee table book that bears no relevance to the true art form of Tai Chi. This one, is simple, it's open, honest, easy to read, yet like I said it's looooooooaded with thoughts to slowly digest and think about (really envisioning these and thinking about them, much the same perhaps as the Tao Te Ching) you will most likely walk away from a reading 'session' with this book...more enlightened and almost as if you'd just had an active Tai Chi meditation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 Aug 2011
This review is from: Tai Chi Ch'Uan for Health and Self-Defense: Philosophy and Practice (Vintage) (Paperback)
I really enjoy T.T. Liangs work. I suspect he surpassed all his teachers, the proof being in the age he reached while still living a full and humourous life. A must have for both short and long form Yang followers.Tai Chi Ch?Uan for Health and Self-Defense: Philosophy and Practice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 15 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tai Chi Ch'Uan for Health and Self-Defense: Philosophy and Practice (Vintage) (Paperback)
interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tai Chi Ch'Uan for Health and Self-Defense: Philosophy and Practice (Vintage)
8.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews