Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A different view of what life is about
This book offers a challenging alternative to what many will believe without question; that is, that we are free souls with inner agents and thoughts that guide our behaviour. This fine introduction to the behaviorist position offers the opposite view. It states, very simply, that behavioural responses are learnt through interaction with environmental stimuli and that...
Published on 10 Aug 2007 by Mr. D. Burrell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars summary.
I have a profound interest with regards to behaviourism and the theories of Skinner and although I found the book to be less detailed and case loaded, I found the supplied information was fascinating and plentiful.
Published 6 months ago by lee


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A different view of what life is about, 10 Aug 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: About Behaviorism (Vintage) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book offers a challenging alternative to what many will believe without question; that is, that we are free souls with inner agents and thoughts that guide our behaviour. This fine introduction to the behaviorist position offers the opposite view. It states, very simply, that behavioural responses are learnt through interaction with environmental stimuli and that behaviour is determined and not free at all. Skinner also attempts to address some of the commonly held myths surrounding the philosophy of behaviorism such as there is no place for the self or that thinking should be disregarded. As a radical behaviorist Skinner simply states that thinking is internalised behavior shaped by the same contingencies of reinforcement as other learnt responses. Now that's something interesting to think about!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skinners clearest explanations for the non-psychologist, 11 Feb 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: About Behaviorism (Vintage) (Mass Market Paperback)
Skinner in this book does what he fails to do in many of his other works, make it readable for the mass audience. B.F. Skinner has made a lasting impression on the field of psychology by his unbelievable attention to detail and the bredth of applicaiton that his work has. This book covers most areas of his analysis, that are more fully described in other places, in a user friendly manner and makes accessible for the lay person his explanations in easy to follow examples. This is an excellent primmer to Skinner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Social Autism, 26 Jun 2014
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: About Behaviorism (Vintage) (Mass Market Paperback)
Skinner could never get to grips with emotions and was the type of man who could dissect a music score but tell you nothing about the hairs standing up at the back of the neck when hearing a symphony. And if he could he would tell you the music was a stimulus and that you were pre-conditioned to hear certain sounds and respond to them. Therefore you have no social agency as you are the product of an ongoing conditioning.

Now to some extent Skinner is correct, most people are dupes. But then again they are not. Yes people are conditioned to buy fashion, music, make-up, cars, holidays, no longer think and just walk in straight lines. However underneath this presentation is a great deal of anger. But Skinner is not interested in people playing roles and feeling alienated. This is because they are responding to a different set of stimuli which is making them feel that way. It is nothing to do with how they truly think, because there is no such thing as personal authenticity or will - this is just something people believe in, because they have been conditioned to believe in these terms.

So we have the greatest theory which explains everything, or something which is used to manager the appearances within the modern world and make everyone conform to a template. My money is on the latter.

However for the creed it is fairly readable, although when he started writing about perception and thinking it took me a while of re reading to understand his concepts. But once you understand the basics - stimuli, generalisation, discrimination, operant conditioning, response, extinguish, negative punishment, positive punishment and the links he makes to evolution and genetics the full scale of the iron prison he inhabits finally emerges.

Skinner has had a huge impact on psychology and the 21st Century, he built the mind prison in which we in the West inhabit, except we no longer see the bars. That is his great accomplishment for humanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: About Behaviorism (Vintage) (Mass Market Paperback)
a great book written by skinner with lots of relevant bits needed for research and is small and easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars summary., 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: About Behaviorism (Vintage) (Mass Market Paperback)
I have a profound interest with regards to behaviourism and the theories of Skinner and although I found the book to be less detailed and case loaded, I found the supplied information was fascinating and plentiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just ok, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: About Behaviorism (Vintage) (Mass Market Paperback)
I found this book old fashioned and difficult to read (compared to many others on the 'required reading list' for my course. It did provide useful information but I cant say I enjoyed reading it. Suits a purpose though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skinner on Behaviorism, 14 Jun 2010
This review is from: About Behaviorism (Vintage) (Mass Market Paperback)
I am very happy with the level of service regarding the sale and delivery of this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars terrible, 6 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: About Behaviorism (Vintage) (Mass Market Paperback)
need to be a doctor to understand this hulla balloo 10 words left so here goes four three two one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

About Behaviorism (Vintage)
About Behaviorism (Vintage) by B. F. Skinner (Mass Market Paperback - 5 Sep 1988)
£2.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews