Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gem Amongst Victorian Libidinous Literature
This book, supposedly first published in 1885, although research would be needed to verify that assertion, is one of the jewels of Victorian/Edwardian erotic literature. It relates the adventures of a highly complaisant young girl in her progress, as governess, through a number of households whose masters and mistresses are all too willing to made good use of her...
Published on 24 Sept. 2008 by Clifford

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for the faint hearted!
Oh my! Not quite what I expected. Some really 'sick' ideas in here!
Not a romance at all.
This is just porn really!
Published 13 months ago by TL Clark


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gem Amongst Victorian Libidinous Literature, 24 Sept. 2008
By 
Clifford (Weymouth, Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Venus in the Country (Paperback)
This book, supposedly first published in 1885, although research would be needed to verify that assertion, is one of the jewels of Victorian/Edwardian erotic literature. It relates the adventures of a highly complaisant young girl in her progress, as governess, through a number of households whose masters and mistresses are all too willing to made good use of her hot-blooded nature. A local vicar and his sister play major roles, along with several intertwined aristocratic families replete with nubile females. Inter-personal relationships offer little restriction to these enthusiastic participants, and the book excels in its setting up of a particularly wide range of libidinous situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic In The Education of Errant And Innocent Victorian Females, 9 July 2011
By 
Clifford (Weymouth, Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
This book is one of the jewels of Victorian/Edwardian erotic literature. It relates the adventures of a highly complaisant young girl in her progress, as governess, through a number of households whose masters and mistresses are all too willing to made good use of her hot-blooded nature. Many young ladies are educated in the erotic arts, often with the encouragement of corporal chastisement Family ties are usually deemed to be trivial obstructions, and fathers often play a major role. Additionally, a local vicar and his sister discover their true natures, and several intertwined aristocratic families become involved, replete with nubile females. The book excels in its setting up of a particularly wide range of libidinous situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth reading., 12 Aug. 2011
By 
carocaro (Middle of the UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a classic, a thoroughly enjoyable Victorian/Edwardian novel typical of the erotic genre & era. Its main character, Pamela, goes from the seduced innocent submissive character who quickly comes into her own as the intelligent controlling mover in a range of libidinous sexual adventures that traverse aristocratic families experiences both within the family, extended family and other socially acceptable acquaintances e.g. the vicar & his sister. The sexual exploits/situations border on farcical comedy at times and there are some very funny though improbable situations. However, if incest, birching and orgiastic/multlple partners is not on your reading list then this is not for you! Broadminded & connoisseurs of both erotica & especially Victorian novels - then this is a must, a treasure I loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oddly charming, 14 Jan. 2012
I was a little surprised by the amount of incest, as that's not something I usually read, but all in all, this was a gem of a book. The sex was hot, sure, but the interesting part was the delightful innocence of the main character. What pushes this up in my estimation is that I'm sure I'll read this again. I'd probably give it 4-1/2 stars, but since Amazon doesn't allow half stars, I'll give it five just for being such a fun, sexy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 1 May 2013
By 
darfieldboy "darfieldboy" (Darfield South Yorks. UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This had a very clever plot unusual for this kind of book. The sex scenes are very well described , but are integrated into the plot so the whole is more than just a "shagathon "
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Venus be blowed, 19 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent romp,from one to the other. the women are in fine fettle. The incest can be ignored as it is the norm. Victoriana at it's best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for the faint hearted!, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Oh my! Not quite what I expected. Some really 'sick' ideas in here!
Not a romance at all.
This is just porn really!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 22 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dont even know why I downloaded this obviously I perused the "SAMPLE" anyway don't waste your money or time on it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 5 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Badly written, dull, way too much incest and ultimately not erotic in the slightest. Just my opinion but I didn't even bother to finish reading before deleting this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Venus in the Country
Venus in the Country by Anonymous (Paperback - 1 Jan. 1982)
Used & New from: £1.76
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews