Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The saddest book I've read
I've just finished re-reading this book and once again, I think it's one of the saddest books I've ever read. Justine sacrifices everything for her husband including her parents, her extended family and even her daughter. Her grandfather dreams of finding Caleb but Anne Tyler makes him suffer. Caleb himself lives the most sorrowful of lives, and Duncan, the selfish...
Published on 20 July 2007 by Pauline Butcher Bird

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars unusual story telling
I had hoped to enjoy this book more than I did, but I was interrupted a lot which might have affected my enjoyment. Great characters and an interesting portrayal of lives determined by convention and family ties.
Published 3 months ago by G. Dixon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The saddest book I've read, 20 July 2007
This review is from: Searching For Caleb (Paperback)
I've just finished re-reading this book and once again, I think it's one of the saddest books I've ever read. Justine sacrifices everything for her husband including her parents, her extended family and even her daughter. Her grandfather dreams of finding Caleb but Anne Tyler makes him suffer. Caleb himself lives the most sorrowful of lives, and Duncan, the selfish husband to Justine can never be satisfied. Anne Tyler is unrelenting, just as life is for so many people, in allowing any of her characters to experience fulfilment - that's why she's my favourite writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All in the Family, 8 Dec. 2006
By 
G. E. Harrison (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Searching For Caleb (Paperback)
Another Anne Tyler family saga, this time an overview of the extended Peck family, from Baltimore, where else! The family history of various generations of Pecks is described, all are great characters of course. Then the focus shifts to the life of Justine, contrasting her modern life with the lives of her forebears, and the search for a lost family member, the titular Caleb.

I think this is right up there with the best of Anne Tyler's novels and the included detective story makes it something different from her other books. As usual there are some unexpected twists along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Satisfying, 29 July 2009
By 
hiljean (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Searching For Caleb (Paperback)
Searching is the theme of this typical Anne Tyler story of a dysfunctional family searching not just for Great Uncle Caleb but for meaning in their own lives, for answers about family relationships, for happiness, for peace of mind. Bittersweet but satisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Touching, beautifully written and observed, 22 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anne Tyler is one of my favourite authors. She draws her characters so well and she describes life as it is. No attempt is made to make a happy ending. I enjoyed this book so much following the haphazard life of the family in the quest to find Caleb and can't recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars unusual story telling, 23 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had hoped to enjoy this book more than I did, but I was interrupted a lot which might have affected my enjoyment. Great characters and an interesting portrayal of lives determined by convention and family ties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I did not like the people and could not get into it, 23 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have to admit I only ca 40pages.I did not like the people and could not get into it.
That is rare for me to give up on a book, especially Anne Tyler
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Mistress, 14 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Searching For Caleb (Paperback)
Anne Tyler is superb in all she does, only started reading her last year at partner's suggestion, now can't stop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Colourful, uplifting prose., 1 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Searching For Caleb (Paperback)
Justine is an irritating woman, however, she has a wonderful way of drawing me in to her life. I found her difficult to empathise with, as with other characters in the book. Despite this, the novel paints a colourful picture of smalltown life of a bohemian family. There is plenty of suspense and interest regarding the "search" for Caleb. The history of a family unfolds with little drama, but suprising turns of event nevertheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 14 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not one of Tyler's best. I gave up one third in to this novel. Very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good story well told that keeps you fascinated, 29 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Archetypal Anne Tyler. A good story well told that keeps you fascinated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Searching for Caleb
Searching for Caleb by Anne Tyler (Hardcover - Dec. 1975)
Used & New from: £1.10
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews