Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My desert island book...
For students and poetry-lovers in general, this is an anthology you really should not be without. With it's vast array of poets and periods, it acts as a great doorway to the world of poetry for all to enjoy.

Organised by poet's date of birth (unusual some say), I think it makes it extremely easy to flick through the pages and read an old favourite, or...
Published on 10 Nov. 2009 by A. Monaghan

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dreary
Undeniably helpful in some ways, but Norton's insistence on Americanising English spelling is, as my poetry tutor so rightly said, intellectually and academically unjustifiable and unforgivable. There are also some howlers in the glosses, such as when Shakespeare's 'Alack!' is glossed as meaning 'also'. That is not what 'alack' means: it means 'alas'! Very naughty. Also,...
Published 14 months ago by Arthur E.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My desert island book..., 10 Nov. 2009
By 
A. Monaghan "Book Thief" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Norton Anthology of Poetry (Paperback)
For students and poetry-lovers in general, this is an anthology you really should not be without. With it's vast array of poets and periods, it acts as a great doorway to the world of poetry for all to enjoy.

Organised by poet's date of birth (unusual some say), I think it makes it extremely easy to flick through the pages and read an old favourite, or something completely new to you. The index also makes this process remarkably easy to find particular poems or poets.

Value for money is also key as it would cost a fortune to buy the work produced within this anthology seperately.

If you have this book, my brief words will ring true. If you do not, you truly are missing out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Huge, unwieldy, very thin pages - but offers much for exploration, 31 Jan. 2015
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Norton Anthology of Poetry (Paperback)
Designed primarily for the student market (a lot of undergraduate introductory poetry modules are based on this) this is a broad anthology that will also appeal to general readers - but its drawbacks are that it's huge and heavy, and that it's printed on such thin and light paper that you can see the outline of the other side of the page showing through. Anyone the slightest bit heavy handed, or wanting to annotate with anything other than pencil will need to be very careful not to rip the flimsy pages. In that sense, this isn't really a volume which will stand up to much wear.

That said, the selection is broad and sometimes surprisingly deep, and gives a fairly comprehensive 'canon' of poetry. The initial content pages are supplemented with a full index by author and first line, essential to navigate through the 2000+ pages. This is a bit unwieldy in use, and not the optimum size or weight for casual browsing or reading - but it works to give you a sense of which poets and whose writing you might want to explore in more depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic if big, 30 Sept. 2014
By 
TH (Chichester, West Sussex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Norton Anthology of Poetry (Paperback)
Amazing!
It covers such a huge period of time that there is something for everybody in here. And when you've exhausted the bits that you think are "you", then you start finding other things which are new and exciting and it can take you to all sorts of new places.
It's not a book for carrying round in your handbag, more of a huge doorstop, but I wouldn't have it any other way.
(and at almost 3,000 pages, it's also very useful for getting rid of spiders...)
Keep it by your bed, by your sofa, anywhere you might see it and think "I'll just have a quick look", and before you know it you'll be hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional in its breadth and it is a very useful learning tool, 30 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Norton Anthology of Poetry (Paperback)
I had to purchase a copy for university, and let me tell you now, this is not a fun book to carry around, and that is despite the publisher's attempts to reduce the weight of the book by printing it in ridiculous thin (and cheap looking) paper. Putting that practical issue aside, though, this collection really is exceptional in its breadth and it is a very useful learning tool. I wasn't particularly fond of poetry until this anthology exposed me to some fantastic poems, which I continue to revisit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yes, good., 26 Nov. 2012
By 
Rey (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Norton Anthology of Poetry (Paperback)
Delivery time was fast. The condition was sublime, even though I bought the used copy. The pages are thin, yes, but that is an advantage for me. I have to lug this anthology around to classes and it's heavy as it is, thick pages would only be the straw that broke my heavy-duty bag. All in all, I'm happy with the anthology. The selection is varied and I love it. If you're thinking of buying it, do it. It's amazing and I've discovered poets I had never heard of before, but I now love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dreary, 9 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Norton Anthology of Poetry (Paperback)
Undeniably helpful in some ways, but Norton's insistence on Americanising English spelling is, as my poetry tutor so rightly said, intellectually and academically unjustifiable and unforgivable. There are also some howlers in the glosses, such as when Shakespeare's 'Alack!' is glossed as meaning 'also'. That is not what 'alack' means: it means 'alas'! Very naughty. Also, all anthologies select for you, when you should do your own selection. But I shan't take on the anthology tradition, for I will never win.

And, additionally, this is printed and produced cheaply and horribly, and as such is a great displeasure to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get it, get it, GET IT!!, 7 Aug. 2011
This review is from: The Norton Anthology of Poetry (Paperback)
Anthologies and books from the Norton series are all so fabulous. No more indecipherable references in footnotes, no more super lengthy explanations of the various possibilities of one single word that make you lose your train of thought, no more frustration over not understanding a poem because the anthology forgets to explain some basic vocabulary from the period...
With just the right amount of references, on the sidelines and in the footnote, in plain English, accessible and complete, if you are going to get any poetry anthology, GET THIS. It is far superior in my opinion, even to the Oxford English Book of Verse, purely because that one has no explanations, references or anything. Fair enough if you think you don't need any, but somehow I doubt that. Also, if you want to enjoy the poem 'just as it is', you can simply not read the explanatory notes in the Norton anthology, it all boils down to how you use the book!

Buy this book, laminate the covers, take good care of it, and keep it for life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars your true and joyful companion for years to come..., 15 Sept. 2011
By 
S. MOHAMADI (London,SW) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Norton Anthology of Poetry (Paperback)
The best ever anthology available. Highly recommended. It is worth the investment and don't let the price put you off. It would be your true and joyful companion for years to come and don't miss out this opportunity to treat yourself well. If you have come this far to read this review all I can say is this: you deserve the best and this is the simply and truthfully the very best. Come on, don't hesitate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pages are slightly thin and easily crushable. Comprehensive, 10 July 2014
By 
jim (Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Norton Anthology of Poetry (Paperback)
Bought for university. A huge tome of a book - absolutely massive. Pages are slightly thin and easily crushable. Comprehensive. Good for general reading (if interested in poetry) and an essential if studying English Lit at uni.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Norton Anthology of Poetry, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Norton Anthology of Poetry (Paperback)
Certainly, as there is a wide range of poems, a useful addition for anyone studying english at a higher level. One small point though....i would say i did think the quality of paper in the book left something to be desired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Norton Anthology of Poetry
The Norton Anthology of Poetry by Jon Stallworthy (Paperback - 25 Feb. 2005)
£33.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews