Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended!
This was on our reading lists for first year psychology but I continued to use the book throughout my psychology course and now again use it in teaching for revision. The book covers the basics and although other reviews argue that it is a bit simplistic I feel it is a general book which cannot cover all topics inside out and therefore completely fulfils its purpose in...
Published on 8 Jan. 2010 by E. Christie

versus
21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
Covers the basics but not in enough depth. I'm in my first year at Uni, and most of us tend to think that it's a bit too simplistic. It's easy read, but there are better books such as Richard Gross
Published on 10 Oct. 2000 by N M BARRETT


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended!, 8 Jan. 2010
By 
E. Christie (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Psychology (Hardcover)
This was on our reading lists for first year psychology but I continued to use the book throughout my psychology course and now again use it in teaching for revision. The book covers the basics and although other reviews argue that it is a bit simplistic I feel it is a general book which cannot cover all topics inside out and therefore completely fulfils its purpose in helping the student cover the basics and ensuring a good level of understanding. If you want to go more in depth you would look into journals or specific titles regarding your topic.

It is an easy book to read and explains theories which could be hard to grasp in a simplistic way, avoiding using too much jargon. Certainly one of the best psychology books I have come across.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Intro book of your Dreams!(Psychology-Eighth Edition), 7 April 2011
This review is from: Psychology (Paperback)
This is the psychology book of your dreams!This is the book which made me decide that i want to become a psychologist(which was a hard decision since i am an engineer).The authors ask some profound philosophical questions which beckon you to explore psychology further.At no point do they claim that they(or psychology)have all the answers but they've tried to do full justice to the richness and complexity of human behavior and life.I've read three other introductory texts besides this one and none of them comes close to the brilliance of this one.Why?This is intelligent writing at it's very best.Any psychology intro book can give you the relevant information to crack an exam but to package it as well as the authors of this one have done is a rare art indeed.All the relevant concepts have been made crystal clear with unique and pertinent examples.In every chapter,you find examples from the arts(movies/books/music/everyday life etc)that make the content relatable.There is also an online website which accompanies the text wonderfully.You can take quizzes,learn more,watch videos,review what you've studied and so on.The writing itself is so high quality that you won't be bored even when you revisit the book's pages to study for your exams.I bought the eighth edition even though i already had the seventh edition just because i was curious to see how they'd improve upon the earlier edition.Buy it,spend time with it,learn from it and even if you don't touch other intro texts you'll be far ahead of those who couldn't lay their hands on this one.It's not even about competing with others,reading the book itself is so intrinsically rewarding.If you've ever pondered about the deep mysteries of the human mind or if you are someone who appreciates good writing(movies or the arts)then look no further.This is the psychology book for you.My personal favorite was the chapter on Language(written by Mrs Gleitman).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loads of fun, 15 Jun. 2009
By 
JennyD (Woking, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Psychology (Hardcover)
First of all, this book is huge, both in dimensions, weight and content of varied information. I bought it to have something interesting to read that would introduce me to the topic of psychology and am not disappointed a single bit :)
Reading it, I felt like I was back in junior high school, when books were big, interesting, with clearly stated chapters and problems and with heaps of colorful illustrations, diagrams and comparison tables. (this being written from the perspective of a college student, who encounters only highly specific and mostly, dull-written text).
It's written in a very informative and straightforward way, maybe not going into depth but that, in my opinion, is a good point - it is not intended as a specific scientific study resource, but something to keep you amused, while providing lots of interesting facts.

It was a little hard for me to settle on one topic and read it all - instead, I often found myself flipping through the pages only to get my attention caught by some of the many interesting facts.

Well done to the authors - a highly approachable book that, nevertheless, delivers as an overall introductory material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing introductory book, 14 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Psychology (Paperback)
I strongly suggest this book to whoever needs to acquire background in psychology. This book is an absolute easy read, with lots of attractive colorful pictures which help the reader understand the introduced concepts much better. I would say the authors have done their best to provide the students an enjoyable study time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book and a good read!, 12 Oct. 2000
This review is from: Psychology (Hardcover)
To say that this is too simplistic is very unfair to both book and author. It is easy to understand and this is mostly due to how well written it is. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 10 Oct. 2000
This review is from: Psychology (Hardcover)
Covers the basics but not in enough depth. I'm in my first year at Uni, and most of us tend to think that it's a bit too simplistic. It's easy read, but there are better books such as Richard Gross
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the £, 1 Oct. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Psychology (Hardcover)
I have just finished first year at uni and was told by my department that i must buy this book for first year. I hardly used it. The content is not very in depth at all, so its not much use for writing essays, as you end up having to get a million better books out of the libary.
Some reviewers have said its great for beginners and good at spliting topics down into sections for revision, however they obviously have not read many psychology text books! If you are new to the subject there are much better books out there (in terms of content and layout) - for example try Nicky Hayes 'The Foundations of Psychology'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Stick to the psychology, author, 19 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psychology (Paperback)
Author tries to be funny and "with-it" and most of the time doesn't pull it off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book for students!, 31 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I highly recommend this book! It's easy to follow and also an enjoyable to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Big Book, almost all you could need in Psychology, 13 Nov. 2014
By 
Jerry Hexxus - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Big Book, lots of materiel, needed for Psychology students, very intensive materiel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Psychology
Psychology by Henry Gleitman (Hardcover - 28 Oct. 2003)
Used & New from: £1.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews