Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big book! Big ideas! Massive help!
Yup, I am a Literature student toiling away at uni, and yes I love books. What I don't like in lectures is fleeting references to obscure writers who we are supposed to know about and their critical theory. "Go to the library" we are constantly told, but for what book! Okay, rant over. This book has LOADS of critical and theoretical texts and is going to be invaluable as...
Published on 12 May 2011 by Yetifeet77

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Snore....
I had to purchase this for a class. Oh my goodness. What a bore. What a total bunch of post-modern drivel. I mean, if you have insomnia, this is the book for you. I suppose it's great if you actually buy into all that nonsense, but in my opinion, this book is absolutely crammed full of hot air. I can't believe there are people out there who actually think this stuff...
Published 5 months ago by Stacey in Scotland


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big book! Big ideas! Massive help!, 12 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Norton Anthology of Theory and Criticism (Hardcover)
Yup, I am a Literature student toiling away at uni, and yes I love books. What I don't like in lectures is fleeting references to obscure writers who we are supposed to know about and their critical theory. "Go to the library" we are constantly told, but for what book! Okay, rant over. This book has LOADS of critical and theoretical texts and is going to be invaluable as I move into my third and final year. It covers a wide variety of criticism and theory and might be slightly daunting... but it is less dunting than sitting in a cold library for hours on end looking for book and then finding out it is on loan. This book has most things covered (I haven't sat and read through it yet, but skimming through I have found 90% of lecture references) and means no more cowering behind a mountain of books.

Be warned though, this book is a beast! 2500+ pages, thinnish paper and okay print size and pretty weighty.
Buy it now fellow students, this what your loans and grants are for, not beer or tattoos! Hope my grades climb up a bit now as I finally have a chance of understanding the more obscure theory references!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful value for money, 1 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. John Ryan (LONDON UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Norton Anthology of Theory and Criticism (Hardcover)
This massive tome is unique, and I strongly urge anyone contemplating whether to buy it or not to GO FOR IT ! I'm reading it for sheer pleasure. The whole tone makes for easy reading, challenging though it is for someone who, like me, is an amateur, published poet. But be patient! : nearly 3,000 pages long, it requires persistence, patience, and a determination to "take it easy", and not attempt to read it right through. The one feature I found so useful was the "alternative" table of contents composed of "themes". It is a true literary friend, and a fascinating, wonderful account of Theory and Criticism from its earliest roots to the present-day. Truly, a good buy. Excellent value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Compilation, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Norton Anthology of Theory and Criticism (Hardcover)
Norton Anthology of Theory and Criticism: Second Edition.

This is a highly useful book for any students of literature, critical theory, philosophy, anthropology, cultural studies, media or history. Whilst it does focus mainly upon literature, it contains excerpts about a huge number of topics. As potential buyers are unable to see the contents, included below is a complete list of theoreticians' work contained within the anthology:

Georgias of Leontini,
Plato,
Aristotle,
Horace,
Longinus,
Augustine of Hippo,
Moses Maimonides,
Thomas Aquinas,
Dante Alighieri,
Giovanni Boccaccio,
Christine De Pizan,
Joachim Du Bellay,
Giacopo Mazzoni,
Sir Philip Sydney,
Pierre Corneille,
John Dryden,
Aphra Behn,
Giambattista Vico,
Joseph Addison,
Alexander Pope,
Samuel Johnson,
David Hume,
Immanuel Kant,
Edmund Burke,
Gotthold Ephraim Lessing,
Friedrich Von Schiller,
Mary Wollstonecraft,
Germaine Necker De Stael,
Friedrich Schleiermacher,
Hegel,
Wordsworth,
Coleridge,
Percy Bysshe Shelley,
Ralph Waldo Emerson,
Edgar Allan Poe,
Marx and Engels,
Charles Baudelaire,
Matthew Arnold,
Walter Pater,
Stephanie Mallarme
Henry James,
Friedrich Nietzsche,
Oscar Wilde,
Sigmund Freud,
Ferdinand De Saussure,
W.E.B Du Bois,
Leon Trotsky,
Virginia Woolf,
Gyorgy Lukacs,
Boris Eichenbaum,
T.S Eliot,
John Crowe Ransom,
Martin Heidegger,
Antonio Gramsci,
Zora Neale Hurston,
Erich Aurbach,
Walter Benjamin,
Mikhail M. Bakhtin,
Horkheimer and Adorno,
Edmund Wilson,
Roman Jakobson,
Jacques Lacan,
Langston Hughes,
Jean-Paul Sartre,
Cleanth Brooks,
William K. Wimsatt Jr. and Monroe C. Beardsley,
Simone De Beauvoir,
Claude Levi-Strauss
J.L Austin,
Northrop Frye,
Roland Barthes,
Louis Althusser,
Paul De Man,
C.D Narasimhaiah,
Irving Howe,
Hans Robert Jauss,
Raymond Williams,
Frantz Fanon,
Deleuze and Guattari,
Jean-Francois Lyotard,
Michel Foucault,
Wolfgang Iser,
Hayden White,
Jean Baudrillard,
Jurgen Habermas,
Adrienne Rich,
Chinua Achebe,
Adunis
Harold Bloom,
Pierre Bourdieu,
Jacques Derrida,
Zehou Li,
Richard Ohmann,
Stuart Hall,
Barbara Herrnstein Smith,
Fredric Jameson,
Edward W. Said,
Monique Wittig,
Benedict Anderson,
Sandra M. Gilbert and Susan Gubar,
Helene Cixous,
Gerald Graff,
Stanley E. Fish,
Ngugi Wa Thiong, Taban Lo Liyong and Henry Owuor-Anyumba,
Paula Gunn Allen,
Tzvetan Todorov,
Karatani Kojin,
Annette Kolodny,
Julia Kristeva,
Laura Mulvey,
Gloria Anzaldua,
Gayatri Anzaldua,
Barbara Chrisian,
Terry Eagleton,
Stephen J. Greenblatt,
N. Katherine Hayles,
Donna Haraway,
Barbara Smith,
Susan Bordo,
Barbara Johnson,
Bruno Latour,
Martha C. Nussbaum,
Bonnie Zimmerman,
Homi K. Bhabha,
Gayle Rubin,
Slavoj Zizek,
Henry Louis Gates Jr.
Franco Moretti,
Eve Kosofsky Sedgwick,
Dick Hebdige,
Steven Knapp and Walter Benn Michaels,
Bell Hooks,
Lisa Lowe,
Judith Butler,
Paul Gilroy,
Andrew Ross,
Lauren Berlant and Michael Warner,
Michael Hardt and Antonio Negri,
Judith Halberstam.

Obviously, some excerpts are covered in more detail than others, as the book is only approximately 2700 pages long and therefore doesn't contain the full publications by each of these figures, merely snippets and excerpts. However, a good selection from each is included, as is a quick preface for each individual containing a holistic overview of their biographical information and theoretical contributions to their respective fields.

Topics include (at random) 'The Defence and Enrichment of the French Language', 'A Philosophical Enquiry into the Origin of Our Ideas', 'Culture and Anarchy', 'The Defence of Poesy', 'The Archetypes of Literature', 'The Signification of the Phallus', 'Racism in Conrad's Heart of Darkness', 'Visual Pleasure and Narrative Cinema', 'A Manifesto for Cyborgs: Science, Technology, and Social Feminism in the 1980s' to name but a few.

Translations are presented well. I personally enjoyed the opportunity to experience some new (and in some cases improved) translations of familiar works, particularly a selection of wonderfully eloquent excerpt from Nietzsche's 'Birth of Tragedy' translated by Ronald Spiers which was a refreshing change from my Kauffmann and Hollingdale editions.

The book itself is printed upon unfortunately cheap (bible-type) paper which does not highlight particularly well. However, with the lighter colours such as orange and yellow it is more than possible to highlight on any page. The pages do crumple and fold somewhat readily, although some might suggest that a well loved book needs a little wear and tear. This would perhaps be my single criticism of the book. However, as a particularly mobile student, I've lugged mine all over the place and as yet it has not been rendered damaged. I can imagine rain playing havoc with the pages.

The binding is nice and hard, and somewhat stylish - pure white with red text. Included is a dust-jacket.

Overall this book is excellent, and I would thoroughly recommend it to any student considering further education. It can't ever hope to replace original texts of course, but either as an introduction or a handy collection for easy reference, it does hold a vast selection of real gems.

Minor personal quibble would be a lack of work from Jung (which was included in the previous edition, but sadly not this) or Goethe/Schopenhauer, yet selection is of course a personal taste.

9/10: deserves five stars rather than four.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect For Student of Literature!, 21 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Norton Anthology of Theory and Criticism (Hardcover)
It was recommended on my University course that we purchase this book, at first i was discouraged by the price. It has recently reduced a little, however, it is worth every single penny and more!
It has a very clear contents, two versions. It helps you find exactly what you are looking for. I have used this on lots of separate occasions, it includes individual , original essays from theorists, all of which are explained in a fairly easy language. It is a very big book with lots of fantastic content!!
Whether you are a student, or just a fan of Literature, this book is absolutely fantastic and well worth the money !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 26 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Norton Anthology of Theory and Criticism (Hardcover)
I purchased this for my undergraduate degree in English and we have been directed to it a lot from our course leaders and it is useful for accesible background reading and secondary reading for essays and such as it contains a very wide range of critical analyses/essays etc.
It is a very large hardback book (which explains the price!) but it contains so much that it is worth the price. It arrived in very good time and quality, I am impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seminal texts of Theory & Criticism, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Norton Anthology of Theory and Criticism (Hardcover)
A book that has served me well for my English undergraduate degree; a great wealth and variety of philosophers' and theorists' seminal texts along with biographical information and explanation of major themes. The book is very weighty and isn't too portable but it is a good quality read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just what i was looking for, 14 Jan 2013
This review is from: The Norton Anthology of Theory and Criticism (Hardcover)
The product was received in good condition and was sent promptly. The book has some notes inside and signs of paper that was wet but still acceptable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Snore...., 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Norton Anthology of Theory and Criticism (Hardcover)
I had to purchase this for a class. Oh my goodness. What a bore. What a total bunch of post-modern drivel. I mean, if you have insomnia, this is the book for you. I suppose it's great if you actually buy into all that nonsense, but in my opinion, this book is absolutely crammed full of hot air. I can't believe there are people out there who actually think this stuff is important or has any real impact on life, but I guess there are. My warning to you: Don't buy it unless you absolutely have to. It's a huge waste of money, and it weighs a ton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book was as described and great value., 11 Sep 2014
By 
Philip Harlow - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Norton Anthology of Theory and Criticism (Hardcover)
~Arrived very promptly. Book was as described and great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 24 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Norton Anthology of Theory and Criticism (Hardcover)
Missing Thomas Hardy and Byron!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Norton Anthology of Theory and Criticism
The Norton Anthology of Theory and Criticism by John Mcgowan (Hardcover - 9 April 2010)
£34.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews