Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
In my opinion, this is the best existing book on the history of western music ever published. There is a host of information, written clearly, from the ancient Greece to contemporary music. I was astonished by the quality of presentation, with continous references to recorded examples, wonderful illustrations, bits of graphs and pictures showing musical notation, etc. Not...
Published on 23 July 2007 by Marco Bertaglia

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
No Comment No Comment No Comment
Published 1 month ago by fawzigermanus


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 23 July 2007
By 
Marco Bertaglia (Kent, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In my opinion, this is the best existing book on the history of western music ever published. There is a host of information, written clearly, from the ancient Greece to contemporary music. I was astonished by the quality of presentation, with continous references to recorded examples, wonderful illustrations, bits of graphs and pictures showing musical notation, etc. Not to mention the extraordinarily good, vast, reasonably-priced ancillary material. This include both online and off-line materials, and it was thanks to this book that I discovered I could download some mp3 files and also access all of Naxos music library for six months with a small additional $15. Just type "a history of western music 7e" in Google and explore what is available on the first website that comes up. If you're serious about learning the history of music, buy this book now. I can guarantee you will be happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good, readable overview of Western music, 14 July 1999
By A Customer
An excellent overview of the development of Western music from its origins in Ancient Greece to the avant garde composers of the late 20th century. In covering so much it can not possibly provide detailed information on each topic but is a good "jumping off" point to lead into more detailed work on any of the topics. This is assisted by an excellent bibliography for each section including information both on sources and details for further reading material. Essential for A-Level students and probably the same for those at degree level as a general reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for all musicians!, 21 May 2010
By 
C. Underwood (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a classical musician, this book is a must have for all those essay you need to write. Not difficult to understand and very informative. It's also an extremely interesting book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine book, 10 Jun 2005
By A Customer
Probably the best introduction to weatern music available. Very comprehensive and clear an absolute must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A History of Western Music (Paperback)
It is essential reading for my daughter's university course. It has been - and still is - very well used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Every music student should own this., 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A History of Western Music (Paperback)
Great content in this book, massive help to me and my study of music history. Every music student should own a copy.

Shame that the cover is made of very flimsy card, after only using the book several times the cover became dog-eared and now refuses to sit flat. That's my only criticism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 28 Nov 2011
This review is from: A History of Western Music (Paperback)
A great book covering the history of western music from the earliest music to the music we have today. Highly Reccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 18 Jun 2001
By A Customer
I am an A Level music student in Leicester and I have found this book superb. It takes a detailed, concise look at the development of western music which is invaluable in my A level studies and it is also a great book for general interest and reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good, 5 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A History of Western Music (Paperback)
This book is beautifully ilustrated and has complete informations of a huge amount of themes.. Fantastic guide of Music History!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 11 Aug 2014
No Comment No Comment No Comment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A History of Western Music
A History of Western Music by Claude V. Palisca (Paperback - 3 Mar 2009)
Used & New from: £72.58
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews