Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!
I cant believe this book only has 3 stars at the minute. This book has been around for ages and many people have learnt from it a subject that somehow is prohibitively difficult when learnt from standard textbooks. Come on guys, this is a very cheap book and I would definitely buy this book and any other as good as this if there was any other and if I wanted to learn...
Published on 1 July 2010 by S. Santos Hernandez

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, but drags the topic out
This is a good book for the purpose, it will teach you Div Grad and Curl techniques in a relaxed manner and does not overcomplicate the topics with maths. Rather the emphasis is on electromagnetism and how these techniques can be used to solve problems in this topic for Engineers and Physicists. However I think that Griffiths does a better job in his Electromagnetism...
Published on 7 Mar 2010 by Mr. Bc Leadbetter


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 1 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Div, Grad, Curl and All That: An Informal Text on Vector Calculus (Paperback)
I cant believe this book only has 3 stars at the minute. This book has been around for ages and many people have learnt from it a subject that somehow is prohibitively difficult when learnt from standard textbooks. Come on guys, this is a very cheap book and I would definitely buy this book and any other as good as this if there was any other and if I wanted to learn electromagnetism properly. Particualrly I went through all the exercises and I found them very nice. Some challenging and in the end, it was a very nice experience. Go straight to standard textbooks and I guarantee you wont have half teh fun you can have with this book. They might actually put you off!

By the way, I cant believe you can cover this subject in less pages and learn as much as you can from this book. Of course I can simply write down Maxwell's equations and call it a one page book with all covered but you are lying to yourself if you think you will learn this topic in just a few pages. This book is an introdcution and I find it a through one that has exactly the number of pages and questions required for an undergraduate physicist.

On a more scientific note, you need to be good at integratinga and differentiating both one and several variables fucntions. Then youc an read this quite comfortably. I would also encourage knowing quite a bit about solving and the meaning of differential equations. After all, the wave (differential) equation is Maxwell's greatest achievement here. the author says you dont need to know much, but if you want to understand the end result I encourage learning them. Besides, who as a scientist wouldnt need differential equations?

By the way, have you noticed that many books you read on anything requiring vector calculus recommend this? It must mean something!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, but drags the topic out, 7 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. Bc Leadbetter "Ben" (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Div, Grad, Curl and All That: An Informal Text on Vector Calculus (Paperback)
This is a good book for the purpose, it will teach you Div Grad and Curl techniques in a relaxed manner and does not overcomplicate the topics with maths. Rather the emphasis is on electromagnetism and how these techniques can be used to solve problems in this topic for Engineers and Physicists. However I think that Griffiths does a better job in his Electromagnetism book, the forst chapter covers the same topics in half the time and my lecturer agrees and will use Griffiths rather than 'Div Grad Curl and all that' next year.

Overall a good reference book, but if you are going to be studying electromagnetism just buy griffiths electromaganism book it will be cheaper than buying two books and teached the same stuff in 1 chapter in just as good detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars This book is a very useful companion to a course in vector calculus and would ..., 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Div, Grad, Curl and All That: An Informal Text on Vector Calculus (Paperback)
This book is a very useful companion to a course in vector calculus and would certainly be an asset to anyone looking to study electromagnetism. The reason I wouldn't rate higher is because "informal" suggests that the topics can be covered with relatively little mathematical rigour, this is not really possible for a topic such as vector calculus and an understanding of geometric calculus is a major advantage. However, I highly recommend the book for anyone currently taking a course in multivariable calculus as it serves as a welcome alternatives to detailed texts on the subject. The author deserves praise for keeping the presentation of material to the point, but this is subject that on first presentation deserves significant visual association with the subject matter to appreciate geometric interpretations and this book is not designed to fill this role. A great companion but not suitable to learn the subject on its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Div, Grad, Curl and All That: An Informal Text on Vector Calculus (Paperback)
Really recommend this one. Teaches the principles in a clear and easy to read manner towards the goal of solving a specific problem, whick always keeps context.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Div Grad Curl and all That, 3 Aug 2012
This review is from: Div, Grad, Curl and All That: An Informal Text on Vector Calculus (Paperback)
I found this a brilliant book on vector calculus. It took me a long time to work through to the end but was well worth the effort.
It covers all you need to know on vectors at undergraduate level.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very accessible intro to Vector Calculus., 16 Aug 2014
By 
S. Clifford - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Div, Grad, Curl and All That: An Informal Text on Vector Calculus (Paperback)
This text is a very good introduction to the topic of vector calculus without the tiresome rigour and slow pace of some textbooks. I highly recommend it for those starting into the subject area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Div, Grad, Curl and All That: An Informal Text on Vector Calculus
£27.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews