Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book
Being DID isn't the problem. Not being able to cope with dissociative and post-traumatic symptoms is the problem. This book addresses a real gap in the literature - we may be able to detail the aetiology of dissociative disorders, we may even be familiar with advances in recent neuroscientific research, but no-one has previously written (or at least not as cogently and...
Published on 1 July 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good models, but "treatment as usual"
I bought this book as I have suffered from lifelong mental health problems, and had many types and years of therapy. Lately my dissociative symptoms have been coming to the fore in treatment, and especially the way in which my reactions and feelings seem very much to be experienced in 'parts'. I should say that I am not diagnosed with DID, but do experience...
Published 9 months ago by Ross


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 1 July 2011
This review is from: Coping with Trauma-Related Dissociation: Skills Training for Patients and Therapists (Paperback)
Being DID isn't the problem. Not being able to cope with dissociative and post-traumatic symptoms is the problem. This book addresses a real gap in the literature - we may be able to detail the aetiology of dissociative disorders, we may even be familiar with advances in recent neuroscientific research, but no-one has previously written (or at least not as cogently and comprehensively as this) about how to actually LIVE with either Dissociative Identity Disorder and Dissociative Disorder Not Otherwise Specified (DDNOS) - and how to work towards recovery. This book is practical, accessible and REAL, with very concrete and specific exercises to work on that help in the first phase of DID recovery - safety and stabilisation. I can't recommend it highly enough. Every DID/DDNOS survivor should have a copy of this book, let alone every therapist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good models, but "treatment as usual", 16 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coping with Trauma-Related Dissociation: Skills Training for Patients and Therapists (Paperback)
I bought this book as I have suffered from lifelong mental health problems, and had many types and years of therapy. Lately my dissociative symptoms have been coming to the fore in treatment, and especially the way in which my reactions and feelings seem very much to be experienced in 'parts'. I should say that I am not diagnosed with DID, but do experience depersonalisation, derealisation, intrusions and changes in body perception.

What attracted me to this book is paradoxically the thing that has lead me to rate it down. I was pulled in by google previews of the explanations of dissociation, and in particular the 'shame scripts' and having angry parts in conflict with scared parts. However, having read many hundreds of books on psychotherapy, I found "Coping With Trauma Related Dissociation" had the classic Self Help book problem: Excellent, highly self-validating explanations and models of "what's happening and why", paired with 'treatment as usual' coping methods. This for me is key: The book itself mentions that those with dissociative symptoms have typically spent many years in the Mental Health system, with many (wrong) diagnoses, and frequently given incorrect and unhelpful treatments. By this stage in their 'treatment career', most of the treatment options presented are likely to have been encountered. In my opinion it needed to bring something new to really deliver.

Frequently I was disappointed to see that, after an excellent build up and sense of "at last, this makes sense", the book essentially falls back on CBT, DBT and Schema-based treatment protocols. If you have had therapies involving the following: challenging of "inaccurate" thoughts, imaginal work, safe space creation, mindfulness / acceptance, distress tolerance and "parts" work such as that found with gestalt or schema, and found these ultimately unhelpful, then this book brings little else to the table beyond perhaps some validation of the unique experience of dissociation and parts or alters. That might be enough for some, but for me I repeatedly felt as though the chapters built me up to a sense of anticipation that was let down by "oh, that again" when I reached the treatment plan elements.

Caveats to the above: For those new to the above treatment methods, this book may well be worth getting as it does break down the exercises into neat, easy to follow steps, with guided revision sections to help it sink in. It may also make a huge difference doing this in a group setting, especially as the CBT-type sections can feel cold and invalidating when presented as words on a page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guide for working with trauma and dissociation., 27 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coping with Trauma-Related Dissociation: Skills Training for Patients and Therapists (Paperback)
This book is set out as a manual for running groups for people living with Complex PTSD, Dissociative Identity Disorder or Dissociative Disorder (Otherwise Specified). It can be used as a semi-structured guide to one-to-one therapy too.

Suzette Boon has co-written it with Kathy Steele and Onno van der Hart [ASIN:0393704017 The Haunted Self (Norton Series on Interpersonal Neurobiology)with Ellert Nijenhuis], based on groups run in the Netherlands for a decade. The manual covers stablization, affect regulation, safety and skills building and is designed to work alongside individual therapy. This approach is informed by the three phase approach put forward by Judith Hermann and advocated in Sensorimotor Psychotherapy: 1) Stabilization (emotion regulation and safety in the present, self care: physical and emotional); 2) Processing trauma memories; 3) Rehabilitation. The groups concentrate on phases 1) and 3) - they are not the place for phase 2 work because of the importance of doing this within a relationship and the risk of destabilizing other members. The book is informed by developments in neuroscience and 'bottom-up' therapeutic approaches, proposing work at the body level as well as the cognitive and emotional. This makes these groups uniquely appropriate for dissociative clients and survivors of complex abuse. This field has highlighted the re-traumatising effect of cognitive and emotional psychotherapy, teaches understanding of brain process and self-regulation of autonomic arousal, and prioritising safety in therapy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coping with trauma related dissociation - an excellent resource, 12 May 2012
This review is from: Coping with Trauma-Related Dissociation: Skills Training for Patients and Therapists (Paperback)
A well written, insightful and compassionate resource for those who experience dissociation or other consequences of trauma. Lots of practical, grounded self-help information.

Also a helpful manual for clinicians written in the form of group programme. Incorporates some CBT, mindfulness and PTSD stabilisation techniques.

Would be a good accompaniment to other therapy, such as DBT or psychotherapy or as a stand alone approach.

I use this daily with people who have been traumatised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it says little to nothing about what healing looks like, and even whether healing is possible at all, 19 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coping with Trauma-Related Dissociation: Skills Training for Patients and Therapists (Paperback)
I bought this book because I am currently suffering from C-PTSD and have used dissociation as a natural coping strategy. I found this book to be quite interesting on an intellectual level, as it describes in quite a lot of detail about how the brain dissociates and why it does. However understanding what is happening is not healing. Although this book provides a lot of strategies to cope with the symptoms of dissociation and PTSD, it says little to nothing about what healing looks like, and even whether healing is possible at all. It doesn't inspire hope, just a way to somewhat cope in the present using CBT methods.

I have never been a fan of CBT in this regard as it doesnt address the underlying problems, its kind of like trying to patch over an open wound without addressing the core wound itself - and thats probably why there is no mention of healing or recovery. So if you want to just cope with your symptoms buy this book, otherwise I would recommend Complex PTSD: From Surviving to Thriving - Pete Walker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A therapists View, 28 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coping with Trauma-Related Dissociation: Skills Training for Patients and Therapists (Paperback)
Working within this field I have been on the hunt for a while for an appropriate book. This was recommended.
The layout is well defined and I find myself regularly nodding my head in agreement. It has demystified some of the more challenging elements that arise in this arena by putting certain behaviours into context.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coping with Trauma-Related Dissociation: Skills Training for Patients and Therapists (Paperback)
What a brilliant and comprehensive book. Its surprising how many mental health practitioners know very little about dissociation and its tragic effects on the person experiencing it. Also people suffering from dissociation can fear judgement if they talk about the strange happenings and symptoms experienced, therefore, sadly, its often missed or overlooked. This is a very helpful, warm, sensitive and supportive book - nobody needs to feel ashamed - thank goodness there are authors like Suzette Boon out there to raise awareness, educate and help people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars NHS recommended, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coping with Trauma-Related Dissociation: Skills Training for Patients and Therapists (Paperback)
I suffer from DDNOS or Dissociation, I am being taught how to combat this disorder by the NHS and they use this book, so I thought it would be wise to buy it. The book it excellent and you can tall the people who have written it really want you to get better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great value for the price if you work with trauma., 25 July 2014
By 
A. Hewitt ""Therapist"" (Wirral, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coping with Trauma-Related Dissociation: Skills Training for Patients and Therapists (Paperback)
Great book, describes clearly what is required to put in place when working with dissociation & trauma. A bible for therapists working with trauma. Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 5 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coping with Trauma-Related Dissociation: Skills Training for Patients and Therapists (Paperback)
This is extremely good when used alongside and with your therapist for explaining how and why this Disorder affects you and how to learn to live with the effects of this Disorder. It completely explains how and why you are the way you are when you are diagnosed with this debilitating Disorder. It is written in clear easy to understand straightforward English designed for the patient and or their family &/or friends who want to understand & help
Definitely recomend this to anyone suffering from Dissociative Identity Disorder
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Coping with Trauma-Related Dissociation: Skills Training for Patients and Therapists
£23.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews