Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars36
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 August 2013
This is such a useful book for both counsellors and their clients. It gives empowerment right into the hands of those who need it most: those suffering from the effects of trauma, and in a clear, simple and above all flexible way that makes it the best non-directive guide I can think of. It gives a structure without dictating it, and there is some basic theory that helps demystify much that bewilders clients. Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
If you have no previous knowledge of dealing with trauma you might find it helpful but those who have struggled with PTSD in particular for any amount of time will find it very basic and will be unlikely find anything here that they don't already know about.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
I found this book to be very helpful and clear in describing what can be a complex area of counselling. Practical and down to earth. I would reccommend it for anyone working in trauma counselling and anyone who has experienced trauma and needs therapy.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2014
A wonderful book, sensitively written and deals with trauma in a down-to-earth and sympathetic way. It empowers the victim, not the therapist, to take back control of their life. You won't be disappointed
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2015
My therapist asked me to get this book to help with our sessions. However, it's very hard to read. Complicated with many long words. Am going through this with my therapist and we have to keep stopping for her to explain what it means.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
Has helped me deal with and understand feelings and thoughts I have previously not understood. Long road ahead, but hopefully this book will make it easier.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
In a language that is accessible to anyone, this book guides you through a series of options to aid recovery. The best I have read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
this book offers key concepts when working in a residential care setting. well set out and very understandable. as above brilliant
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2014
Really good book in simplistic terms to help address the psychological problems one encounters when struggling with PTSD sypmtoms
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2014
Some really good ideas and very user friendly for both client's and clinicians.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)