Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
20
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 January 2014
I've read quite a few books about climbing in the Himalayas and Karakorum, but I haven't read one more powerful than this. The book starts by giving a brief overview of the cultures and home villages of the main local (i.e. Pakistani and Nepalese) personalities in this tragic story. In part the book tells the familiar one of those with the money (in this case, people form the west and Korea) taking advantage of the high altitude porters and local climbers who are employed primarily to get them to the top of whatever mountain is being climbed (K2 in this instance). However, this book is different to the others I've read because the focus is vey much on the "Sherpa" community rather than the fee paying climbers.
Additionally, when things start to go very very wrong, the writing is such that I felt I got a palpable sense of how the key players were thinking and feeling.
The book finishes off with a powerful insight into the impact on the families that are left behind when their husbands/sons/brothers go off to the mountains, and also the emotional pain suffered by those porters and climbers who manage to survive and return home when others, including family members, don't.
Finally, I think the book successfully manages not to be preachy about the ethics involved in these kinds of tragedies, but you are left in little doubt as to who are the biggest losers when tragedy strikes.
A brilliant book.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 31 March 2014
This book takes a reasonably well reported incident as far as we in the "west" are concerned and looks at it through new eyes which offers a subtly different view of not just this incident but also encompasses the Sherpa community at large and the dependance many of them have on taking part in such expeditions. To be honest many of these undertakings could only be described as "vanity" projects but they nevertheless bring much needed cash into the Karakoram in the case of K2 here, but also the wider Himalaya. If you are looking for a book which will tell you "why" this disaster happened then that book is yet to be written (if it ever is) but if you want to know why Sherpas do what they do and why they remain such tough, loyal and dependable folk to deal with then this is the book for you.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2012
A enjoyable read and unbelievable true story. Fantastically written and historically informative. It was especially interesting to hear the untold story of the native climbers and porters from an ethnically and culturally complex and unique part of the world.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2013
a comment I have often made about climbing accounts is that in reality they are all very similar. of course this is expected as the mountain is the same for all who climb. Possibly only weather and unforeseen events ( serac collapse, avalanche etc.) cause much change to the usual story. ( base camp set up- camp I,2,3,4 etc. established and then the day of ascent. )Considering that there are now thousands who climb these hills there is obviously going to arrive a moment when the so called market for more accounts is saturated. Nevertheless this account was better than most as it DID highlight the role played by the sherpas. A welcome change from that of the bloated ego chasing western climbers ( in many cases) Thus this is a better read. As for the future I can only say that having read almost every book about Himalayan climbs I shall only look at future accounts if they do hold something very very different. Maybe like the discovery of the body of Irvine and any new clues as to what really happened on Everest in 1924.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2014
Absolutely stunning read. Immaculately researched by Zuckerman and Padoan. I had to read it twice, it was that good. If you like mountain adventure, high drama and true life buy it and read it. I have to say one of the main reasons for recommending this particular story is that it goes into a lot of detail around the part played by the Sherpa guides. Their story is often not known or heard. It is now!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
This book is another one about the k2 summit attempt that ended fatally for some and traumatically for others and this one includes much more about the lives and families of Sherpas which is often a perspective overlooked in other accounts.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
still reading this. absolutely love it. very well written. the authors did exceptional in gathering all the information and the stories. out standing. 5 stars.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2014
The account is written by Sherpa so the first quarter of the book explains there culture, religion and lifestyle and different ventures to various mountains. The book then goes into the expedition up K2.. Brilliant book, informative, cultural and really well written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
the book was a fantastic read could not put it down brilliant research had a lot of unexpected detail
everyone should read it a must for my personal [small] library it would not inspire me to go mountaineering though
tough and brave people [the sherpas]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
Very good read, excellent buy!! I would recommend this book to anyone who is interested in the outdoors and mountaineering.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)