Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tragic story powerfully told
I've read quite a few books about climbing in the Himalayas and Karakorum, but I haven't read one more powerful than this. The book starts by giving a brief overview of the cultures and home villages of the main local (i.e. Pakistani and Nepalese) personalities in this tragic story. In part the book tells the familiar one of those with the money (in this case, people form...
Published 14 months ago by BrynG

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a 'slightly' different perspective.
a comment I have often made about climbing accounts is that in reality they are all very similar. of course this is expected as the mountain is the same for all who climb. Possibly only weather and unforeseen events ( serac collapse, avalanche etc.) cause much change to the usual story. ( base camp set up- camp I,2,3,4 etc. established and then the day of ascent...
Published 20 months ago by richard john cooke


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tragic story powerfully told, 6 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Buried in the Sky: The Extraordinary Story of the Sherpa Climbers on K2's Deadliest Day (Paperback)
I've read quite a few books about climbing in the Himalayas and Karakorum, but I haven't read one more powerful than this. The book starts by giving a brief overview of the cultures and home villages of the main local (i.e. Pakistani and Nepalese) personalities in this tragic story. In part the book tells the familiar one of those with the money (in this case, people form the west and Korea) taking advantage of the high altitude porters and local climbers who are employed primarily to get them to the top of whatever mountain is being climbed (K2 in this instance). However, this book is different to the others I've read because the focus is vey much on the "Sherpa" community rather than the fee paying climbers.
Additionally, when things start to go very very wrong, the writing is such that I felt I got a palpable sense of how the key players were thinking and feeling.
The book finishes off with a powerful insight into the impact on the families that are left behind when their husbands/sons/brothers go off to the mountains, and also the emotional pain suffered by those porters and climbers who manage to survive and return home when others, including family members, don't.
Finally, I think the book successfully manages not to be preachy about the ethics involved in these kinds of tragedies, but you are left in little doubt as to who are the biggest losers when tragedy strikes.
A brilliant book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brillant, interesting and intelligent story of tragedy and heroics, 18 July 2012
A enjoyable read and unbelievable true story. Fantastically written and historically informative. It was especially interesting to hear the untold story of the native climbers and porters from an ethnically and culturally complex and unique part of the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sobering read., 31 Mar. 2014
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book takes a reasonably well reported incident as far as we in the "west" are concerned and looks at it through new eyes which offers a subtly different view of not just this incident but also encompasses the Sherpa community at large and the dependance many of them have on taking part in such expeditions. To be honest many of these undertakings could only be described as "vanity" projects but they nevertheless bring much needed cash into the Karakoram in the case of K2 here, but also the wider Himalaya. If you are looking for a book which will tell you "why" this disaster happened then that book is yet to be written (if it ever is) but if you want to know why Sherpas do what they do and why they remain such tough, loyal and dependable folk to deal with then this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars much more that i expected, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
still reading this. absolutely love it. very well written. the authors did exceptional in gathering all the information and the stories. out standing. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a 'slightly' different perspective., 24 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a comment I have often made about climbing accounts is that in reality they are all very similar. of course this is expected as the mountain is the same for all who climb. Possibly only weather and unforeseen events ( serac collapse, avalanche etc.) cause much change to the usual story. ( base camp set up- camp I,2,3,4 etc. established and then the day of ascent. )Considering that there are now thousands who climb these hills there is obviously going to arrive a moment when the so called market for more accounts is saturated. Nevertheless this account was better than most as it DID highlight the role played by the sherpas. A welcome change from that of the bloated ego chasing western climbers ( in many cases) Thus this is a better read. As for the future I can only say that having read almost every book about Himalayan climbs I shall only look at future accounts if they do hold something very very different. Maybe like the discovery of the body of Irvine and any new clues as to what really happened on Everest in 1924.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Award winning, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is another one about the k2 summit attempt that ended fatally for some and traumatically for others and this one includes much more about the lives and families of Sherpas which is often a perspective overlooked in other accounts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buried in the book, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buried in the Sky: The Extraordinary Story of the Sherpa Climbers on K2's Deadliest Day (Paperback)
Very good read, excellent buy!! I would recommend this book to anyone who is interested in the outdoors and mountaineering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buried in the sky, 26 Jan. 2014
By 
Ingleman (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buried in the Sky: The Extraordinary Story of the Sherpa Climbers on K2's Deadliest Day (Paperback)
Absolutely stunning read. Immaculately researched by Zuckerman and Padoan. I had to read it twice, it was that good. If you like mountain adventure, high drama and true life buy it and read it. I have to say one of the main reasons for recommending this particular story is that it goes into a lot of detail around the part played by the Sherpa guides. Their story is often not known or heard. It is now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointing book., 28 Feb. 2014
By 
B. T. Jorgensen (Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Buried in the Sky: The Extraordinary Story of the Sherpa Climbers on K2's Deadliest Day (Paperback)
Although there is enough information in the book about the Sherpa people to make it worth reading I was slightly disappointed with the story of the climbing tragedy on K2 in 2008. Having previously read No Way Down, which covers the same story I did not find much new information in this book to help me understand why the tragedy happened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent account of Sherpa life, 9 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The account is written by Sherpa so the first quarter of the book explains there culture, religion and lifestyle and different ventures to various mountains. The book then goes into the expedition up K2.. Brilliant book, informative, cultural and really well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Buried in the Sky: The Extraordinary Story of the Sherpa Climbers on K2's Deadliest Day
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews