Customer Reviews


4 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Pithy and empowering
I like this book and it's collection of pithy insights. If you're familiar with Alice Millers work you will grasp her responses without the need to have the original 'readers letter'. It's a book to dip in and out of rather thanntonread from start to end. Every time I open it I find a new insight to her model of work.
Published 23 days ago by S. Ofarsogood

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Alice Miller has abandoned her forums
In book form, "From Rage to Courage" differs from the Readers' Letters section on Alice Miller's website in that the original letters are omitted and only Miller's replies are reproduced. As she says in the Preface, she was unable to ask for permission to publish the letters. The replies are sometimes incomprehensible without their original context and many replies are...
Published on 22 Mar. 2010 by Reader from Devon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Alice Miller has abandoned her forums, 22 Mar. 2010
This review is from: From Rage to Courage: Answers to Readers' Letters (Paperback)
In book form, "From Rage to Courage" differs from the Readers' Letters section on Alice Miller's website in that the original letters are omitted and only Miller's replies are reproduced. As she says in the Preface, she was unable to ask for permission to publish the letters. The replies are sometimes incomprehensible without their original context and many replies are very short (in one case just two sentences). They are arranged chronologically, starting in July 2005. That means topics and issues are dealt with randomly, and the book contains over 400 of Miller's responses.

The product description says: "A practical guide to Miller's therapeutic concept, this work affirms the healing and liberating power of retrieved emotions." But when it comes to healing emotional pain, can there really be a substitute for the one-to-one presence of an enlightened witness?

In the first edition of "Banished Knowledge" (1988) Alice Miller recommended Stettbacher's self-help therapy method to her readers, only to reject it totally a few years later. Then, in "The Truth Will Set You Free" (2001), she encouraged readers to participate in the "ourchildhood" forums which had been set up on her behalf. She believed they would provide a setting in which readers would have their feelings validated by other group members. I don't know if later editions still mention the "ourchildhood" forums, but the page which linked to them has disappeared from her site. I guess the forums didn't work out too well after all. Readers' letters are her latest idea for a panacea. At present, there are close to a thousand of them in the English-language section of her website alone. I can't decide which is LESS helpful, torrents of postings in a forum with hundreds of members, or a stream of unsorted letters. Simply putting the replies into "From Rage to Courage" without the letters is hardly useful. Would it have been beyond a reasonable amount of work to prepare a brief precis of each letter?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pithy and empowering, 7 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Rage to Courage: Answers to Readers' Letters (Paperback)
I like this book and it's collection of pithy insights. If you're familiar with Alice Millers work you will grasp her responses without the need to have the original 'readers letter'. It's a book to dip in and out of rather thanntonread from start to end. Every time I open it I find a new insight to her model of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 12 April 2010
By 
This review is from: From Rage to Courage: Answers to Readers' Letters (Paperback)
.... though you can read on her free internet forum.

although alice miller would not be beyond criticism (and i do agree there) i think alot of her work is excellent and trailblazes ahead. if the content is not perfect ( the missing readers' letters is problemmatic but understandable) i think the sense and idea of what she was/is trying to achieve still stands true. there were some brilliant letters on her forum and some brilliant replies. if she tries to reach a bigger audience with publication in book-form, that surely should be commended to some extent?

as i have said in my earlier review on her book Free From Lies - re. Stettbacher - it is absolutely correct and necessary that people change their minds. the greatest thinkers have always changed their minds, however inconvenient it is for everyone, themselves included. the reverse/contrary would surely be unthinkable ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Rage to Courage: Answers to Readers' Letters (Paperback)
excellent quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

From Rage to Courage: Answers to Readers' Letters
From Rage to Courage: Answers to Readers' Letters by Alice Miller (Paperback - 27 Oct. 2009)
£11.38
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews