Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gripping finale
This final installment in the 5-novel 'Ripliad' sees the tables turned on Tom Ripley. Living a quiet and comfortable life in Belle Ombre with Heloise and Madame Annette, Tom finds himself the victim of an obssessive American couple seemingly bent on exposing Tom's murder of Murchison six years previously. The Pritchards (or 'Preekhards' as Heloise hilariously calls them)...
Published on 26 Jan. 2004 by blackeyedsoosan

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not her best effort
I'm a big fan of Patricia Highsmith, but this book was weak and dragged and didn't make a lot of sense. The cops are too dumb not to catch Ripley, who leaves a trail of clues a kindergartner could follow. There was also something so very strange about the dialogue. The original Ripley book was published years and years before this, and although Ripley is in the 80s or 90s...
Published 20 months ago by Carol M


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gripping finale, 26 Jan. 2004
This review is from: Ripley Under Water (Paperback)
This final installment in the 5-novel 'Ripliad' sees the tables turned on Tom Ripley. Living a quiet and comfortable life in Belle Ombre with Heloise and Madame Annette, Tom finds himself the victim of an obssessive American couple seemingly bent on exposing Tom's murder of Murchison six years previously. The Pritchards (or 'Preekhards' as Heloise hilariously calls them) make the hairs on the back of your head stand up as they photograph Belle Ombre, follow Tom to Tangier, threaten, mock and finally inform upon our beleagured anti-hero. Will Tom be able to foil their plans to ruin him? Can his luck hold out for a 5th time?
The triumph of the Ripley novels lies in their knack of seducing the reader to Ripley's point of view. Tom Ripley is a man of contradictions: a man who is capable of bludgeoning someone to death, but squeamish about cooking lobsters; a man who apparently has no conscience, but is equally capable of great tenderness towards Heloise, Frank Pierson, and even Dickie Greenleaf. Is he a psychopath? an amoral pragmatist? or just someone who wants to tend his dahlias in peace and enjoy la dolce vita? Five novels down the line, and I still can't decide...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Stalking Nemesis Looms, 13 Nov. 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Ripley Under Water (Paperback)
If you have enjoyed the Ripley series of books, you will undoubtedly want to read the final book, Ripley Under Water.
This book is a continuation of the story line of Ripley Under Ground, as the title suggests. This book is, however, less engaging and dramatic than Ripley Under Ground.
What Makes Ripley Under Water noteworthy is its boding sense of menace and paranoia. What would it be like to be stalked by someone who wants to do you harm? How would you feel? Those are the themes that are well developed in this book.
An American couple in their thirties, David and Janice Pritchard, move into Tom Ripley's neighborhood. Tom has a slight recollection of seeing them before somewhere. Soon he begins receiving strange telephone calls from someone claiming to be a person Ripley killed many years before. The Americans invite Ripley and his wife for a drink. Ripley goes alone and finds that the couple is obsessed with him, and knows quite a bit about his past misdeeds. The man even threatens Ripley. Soon thereafter the couple is seen outside of Ripley's home taking photographs.
Ripley's annoyed, but trying to stay cool. But when the man shows up in Morocco during the Ripley's' vacation, it's too much. Ripley begins to fight back in typical Ripley fashion. Events escalate when Ripley and Pritchard return to France.
My main complaint about the book is that the end doesn't live up to the suspense that leads up to it. As a result, I was left feeling dissatisfied with the story.
On the good side, the psychological development is very fine. In addition, the book is full of subtle puns and ironies . . . such as Ripley, who has killed so many men being freaked out by having to be in the kitchen while live lobsters are cooked.
Even if you are paranoid, remember that someone may really be after you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back in print at last., 7 Sept. 2003
This review is from: Ripley Under Water (Paperback)
Tom Ripley is being stalked by a strange American couple who are rather too familiar with how he came into his very comfortable lifestyle.Tom may well be a very empathetic sociopath but he really doesn't want to be pressured over the murder,forgery and deception in his past.A lot of the fun and palpable tension in the book comes from trying to guess just how far Tom can be pushed.A near perfect example of narrative seduction,only when you start to analyse his actions do you begin to see the real cruelty and blank amorality within.A masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highsmith's magical spell, 15 Sept. 2009
By 
Eileen Shaw "Kokoschka's_cat" (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ripley Under Water (Paperback)
There is only the merest smidgeon of disappointment here, in that some of the events seem rather timely and fortunate. Is Ripley the most fortunate psychopath in existence? In this novel we return to the decidedly unfortunate Mr Murchison, killed by Ripley in Ripley Under Ground the third book of the series, sent to a watery grave in the River Loing, wrapped in tarpaulin. Meddling by a sinister couple who have moved in nearby and for no particular reason seem to have taken a strong dislike to Ripley threatens the exposure of this particular crime. They are disposed of by a most - again - fortunate accident that, frankly, seems highly unlikely. But who am I to quibble? Highsmith - I salute you!

One reads on quite equably, such is Highsmith's magical spell surrounding the Ripley ménage. His complaisant wife, two London chums who pop across to help him, and the redoubtable Madame Annette, who, one must suspect has picked up more than a smattering of English by now, and is, perhaps, not quite as innocent of Ripley's strange career as she seems. Music, painting, delicious meals, a beautiful house, a little light gardening, with the odd murder thrown in - such is M. Ripley's life. Improbabilities aside, one wishes it to long continue. However, sadly, this is the last of the Ripley books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not her best effort, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ripley Under Water (Hardcover)
I'm a big fan of Patricia Highsmith, but this book was weak and dragged and didn't make a lot of sense. The cops are too dumb not to catch Ripley, who leaves a trail of clues a kindergartner could follow. There was also something so very strange about the dialogue. The original Ripley book was published years and years before this, and although Ripley is in the 80s or 90s now, he appears not to have aged, yet his dialogue and behavior is like it was in the 60s. Nobody talks anymore the way he talks, so it's jarring and unreal. That said, the first book was terrific, as was Strangers on a Train, and my favorite, This Sweet Sickness, a story of obsession, which I highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is it the end for Ripley?, 8 May 2003
By 
Bill Kelly "willireid" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Ripley Under Water (Paperback)
The Ripley series is very well written, very enjoyable, and worrying;why is this repressed psychotic murderer so appealing?
Regarding this novel in the context of the others, it is a little disappointing. The story seems a trifle flimsy, and drawn out. However, it is still addictive, and the problems presented to the - this time, innocent - Ripley interesting.
Whether this would have been the end we can never know, following the author's untimely death. Add in Tom's mistakes during the novel, and I am not convinced that he would have got out of this one.
A good read, and recommended. But not in the league of the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I recommend this book the characters' diets notwithstanding, 14 April 2010
By 
C. J. Cooper "Celia Cooper" (Angus, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ripley Under Water (Paperback)
The Ripley books are engagingly absorbing,even although one can hazard a guess that Ripley will once more "get away with it" given the content of the original book...The Talanted Mr Ripley. One criticism...Ms Highsmith gives meticulous and continuous detail about the food and drink consumed by the main characters. This is somewhat surprising and a little disappointing; an established author need not fall into this novice writer's trap. Her characterisation is masterly and this superfluous embellishment serves merely to detract from the quality of the writing of this otherwise excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Again, a continuation of the Tom Ripley series, ..., 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ripley Under Water (Paperback)
Again, a continuation of the Tom Ripley series, which I got hooked on, I had to know what Tom was up to next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars who will tell us what happens next ?, 2 Jun. 2014
By 
have now finished the series and totally drawn into the Ripley world. Glad I don't live next door but love all the details of the house food and garden. Amoral but completely engaging
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ripley Under Water, 20 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ripley Under Water (Paperback)
Having read all of these books many years ago, I am just enjoying myself by reading the whole story again. This book arrived swiftly and isn't it too bad a condition for a second-hand book. Although I don't like the coloured markings across the bottom of the book edge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ripley Under Water
Ripley Under Water by Patricia Highsmith (Paperback - 7 July 2009)
Used & New from: £4.54
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews