Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nuerosurgeon's experiences; very interesting and readable
The author says the first rule of neurosurgey is "You're never the same once the air hits your brain."

Full of the type of dark humor you would expect from medical profesisonals, this book chronicles the experiences of a neurosurgeon
from his days as a medical student to his present day practice in Pittsburg. It is very well-written and is...
Published on 17 May 1996

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A different viewpoint.
Interesting but not as well written as that by henry mason also an nero surgeon and with a more flair, compassion and humour then this American version by way of training within the hospital,semed more "hit and miss" attitude, attitudes very
different in uk. The book is worth a read, if only to compare methods, types of surgery undertaken.
Published 2 months ago by maxine durham


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nuerosurgeon's experiences; very interesting and readable, 17 May 1996
By A Customer
The author says the first rule of neurosurgey is "You're never the same once the air hits your brain."

Full of the type of dark humor you would expect from medical profesisonals, this book chronicles the experiences of a neurosurgeon
from his days as a medical student to his present day practice in Pittsburg. It is very well-written and is intended for the layman (my guess is that fans of the TV show "ER" would love this book).

But be warned, emotionally it is a very hard book to read. Take for example the story of the woman who is diagnosed with a terminal brain tumor while early in a pregancy. The author's story of her fight to live
just long enough to deliver her child cannot help but reduce the reader to tears.

The book also forces the reader to realize how quickly the body can betray and fail to function. It can be a scary realization when the neurosurgeon makes clear
how quickly life can end.

This book is an overlooked treasure. But keep your Kleenex close at hand, especially parents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When the Air Hits Your Brain: Tales from Neurosurgery (Paperback)
Good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A different viewpoint., 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting but not as well written as that by henry mason also an nero surgeon and with a more flair, compassion and humour then this American version by way of training within the hospital,semed more "hit and miss" attitude, attitudes very
different in uk. The book is worth a read, if only to compare methods, types of surgery undertaken.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Awh man, I read this in one sitting, eminently readable, fun, harrowing, cocky, humble. Recommendable to anyone with an interest in life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Immensely readable, evoking the highs and lows of neurosurgical training, 22 Aug 2013
By 
E. Dalton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book, and Katrina S. Firlik's Another Day in the Frontal Lobe: A Brain Surgeon Exposes Life on the Inside, which I have reviewed elsewhere, are two must reads for any would-be neurosurgeon.

This memoir follows Dr Vertosick Jr as he progresses from an early career "scheduling glitch" which results in a rotation in neurosurgery, instead of his then-preferred option of cardiac surgery. That led to a neurosurgical clerkship, then residency and, eventually, decades as a fully-fledged neurosurgeon.

Early in this book we are introduced to the advice given to Dr Vertosick Jr by a mentor, "When the your brain, you are never the same." This advice, with its implicit black humour, encapsulates all that is good, technically challenging and sometimes draining about neurosurgery.

For those familiar with neurosurgery, there are nuggets of information which foreshadow how particular scenarios will unfold. For everyone else, the book guides them on a journey during which they discover, as the narrator did, the highs and lows of working in a realm that even most medics and surgeons would rather shy away from.

Amongst the vignettes, even when relating technical aspects of the work of a neurosurgeon, Dr Vertosick Jr never loses track of the human cost.

The prose is eloquent, lucid and accessible, making this book a pleasure to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fab, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this book came recommended by a neurosurgeon that i actually work with & I recommend this book as a great inspiring read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read!, 14 Nov 2009
By 
T. M. Stephenson (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When the Air Hits Your Brain: Tales from Neurosurgery (Paperback)
I found this book really interesting. If you enjoy reading about health & people's journeys - you'll love this book. It's about a surgeons journey to becoming competent. I hope if I ever have to have brain surgery that I get someone like him. Told with warmth and not too much medical stuff I coldn't understand. I really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic medical book, up there with the best, 18 July 2010
By 
Dr. B. C. Burrows "Prof Plums" (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: When the Air Hits Your Brain: Tales from Neurosurgery (Paperback)
Typically dark humour profeessional medical book covering a high achievers life story. This is perhaps more pertinent now that EWTD has ruined the training of junior doctors! So if you are starting medicine get this, and perhaps mix it with the series Cardiac Arrest, the first series of Scrubs, throw in some of the dressing station and then finish it off with the house of God.

But back to this book, if you are interested in neurosurgery (and God knows why you would be!!!) then you will really enjoy this book, if you are not interesting in neurosurgery (either you are very sensible OR you have done a neurosurgery job!!) then this is a great insight into what it takes to get where you want.

Read it, and read and watch the suggestions above
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Made my career choice for me, 10 Dec 2008
This review is from: When the Air Hits Your Brain: Tales from Neurosurgery (Paperback)
Bought this book while sloging/blagging my way through med school. A lovely account of the highs and lows of professional training all potential surgeons have to look forward to. Entertaining read with patient encounters stimulating ethical debate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

When the Air Hits Your Brain: Tales from Neurosurgery
When the Air Hits Your Brain: Tales from Neurosurgery by Frank Jr Vertosick (Paperback - 15 April 2008)
9.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews