Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Relativity....?!, 24 Feb 2003
By 
TK "Thomas" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Einstein and his theory of relativity. It took the genius who was Einstein 19 years (1986-1915) to sort it all out, so is it really possible to compress all the ideas into a 250 page book that I'm going to understand?
Well, yes!
Although I have done A-level physics, I didn't need it. The books easy, conversational language, numerous usefull diagrams, (and a glossary for all those who are unfamiliar with the sciency terms) make its pages accessible for all.
By taking a mainly qualitative approach, the book contains only the smallest amount of maths (or math), and for those who are looking for something to get their hands dirty, there's the appendix!
As well as exploring the ideas behind Einstien's relativity theories, 'Simply Einstien' goes even further. It gives a history of the preceeding events, past theories and experiments helping the reader to see the logic behind Einstiens thinking. Futher exploration of the consequences of relativity begin to extend the readers thinking and understanding of aspects such as the nature of past, present and future, and time and space.
This book discusses ideas that are still at the fore-front of modern physics in a way that people with a background knowledge will be able to use and apply, while people with just an interest will understand and find fascinating.
All in all, a good book for all with an interest in simply what relativity actually is, and so consequently space, time, gravity, cosmology and the history behind them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear, well-written and readable introduction to relativity, 19 Aug 2006
By 
This review is from: Simply Einstein: Relativity Demystified (Paperback)
Although I knew bits about the theory of relativity, my knowledge was patchy, so I got this book. It's very well-written; given that it's clearly targeted at a lay audience, and includes very little maths, it's about as good a compromise between readability, comprehensibility and completeness as you're likely to get.

That's not to say that it's perfect; although the main principles underlying Special Relativity are derived clearly and logically (and very readably), the author apologises for being unable to cover General Relativity with the same rigour. Apparently, this would require far more in-depth maths.... and let's be honest, if you want a more in-depth tome, you can buy one, but this book succeeds admirably within the given constraints.

Consider it a grounding; there's still plenty of meat in the closing sections, enough (possibly) to motivate you to read some "heavier" books on the subject.

Great book, definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you are every going to understand relativity...., 26 Jan 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simply Einstein: Relativity Demystified (Paperback)
...you'll probably get the knowledge from this book. Although the subject matter is not the easiest to understand, the author takes you through a series of steps to the understanding of the general theory of relativity. I would suggest a minimum requirement would need to be a good GCSE/O level in Physics. Without this i think you would struggle.
Excellently explained the author needs congratulating for making a difficult subject relatively (no pun intended) straightforward.
I recommend it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You don't have to be an Einstein to understand Einstein, 2 Mar 2005
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
As this book makes clear, everything is not relative - but I would say that Richard Wolfson's attempt to describe Einstein's theories and their implications is relatively successful. He takes you toward Einsteinian thought one step at a time. First, he gives you a grounding in Newtonian physics, then walks you through Einstein's special theory of relativity, using a number of examples designed to simplify your conceptualization of ideas that tend to go against common sense thinking, and then he attempts to summarize Einstein's general theory of relativity - which, by its nature, is more difficult to expound upon using models and logical examples. Finally, he touches upon some of the implications of the general theory of relativity, giving the reader a quick trek through the notions of black holes, the future of the universe, and other largely astrophysical theories and concepts.
Simply Einstein is written for a layman audience, but it is by no means an easy read. I really believe you have to have at least some affinity with mathematics and logic in order to really grasp what Wolfson is saying. Of course, those with no such affinity will - I feel safe to say - never even think about reading a book such as this. Wolfson works very hard to provide numerous examples of the theories and concepts of Einsteinian thought, but you can't just breeze through these things and expect to have everything click into place automatically; oftentimes, you have to stop, review, and ponder what you have just read in order to truly get a handle on things. Wolfson's examples are, it seems to me, two-edged swords of a kind. If you know absolutely nothing about relativity, they are quite good and certainly helpful. If, however, you already have some familiarity with the space-time paradoxes of Einsteinian thought (the twin paradox, for example, or the space and time "distortions" of near-light speed travel), a few of Wolfson's examples muck up the water, at least temporarily - you basically have to forget what relativity theory you already know and start again from scratch in order to fully grasp what the author is attempting to show with each example.
Wolfson does do a great job demonstrating the significant differences between Newtonian physics and Einsteinian physics (as well as clearing up popular misconceptions about both subjects), and his information on gravity is enlightening and informative. By the time he gets around to stating that gravity is not a force per se, he has built the foundation upon which he can prove why this is the case. Going further, this allows him to offer an excellent explanation of the curvature of space-time owing to the presence of matter or energy throughout the universe.
If you just want to read about black holes and other fascinating aspects of the universe, this isn't the book for you. That kind of discussion is rather protracted here and comes only after a lot of theory has been introduced and described in some detail. Of course, to truly understand the strangest and most fascinating aspects of our universe, you really do need to have a decent grasp on the general theory of relativity, and this book makes for an excellent introduction to that very subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excelent intro for the layman., 29 July 2012
By 
M. J. Robinson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simply Einstein: Relativity Demystified (Paperback)
This is a very readable and informative intro to relativity - special relativity and then general relativity. It presents more justification for the theory of special relativity than it does for the general theory, but I think this is because the latter is more difficult to explain without going into a lot more maths. Only very little maths is used in this book, and most of this is in an Appendix for those who are interested.

It provides a fascinatiing description of how relativity changes the view of space-time and the universe compared to the preceding Newtonian paradigm, and is pretty mind opening.

The book starts of with some back ground info about how things were understood before Einstein, and shows how Einstein's theories were revolutionary.

A great read for anyone wanting a basic intro to relativity, anyone wanting to know what was so great about Einstein and anyone who wants to challenge what they think they know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best ever in this field, 2 Jun 2009
By 
Jafar Qutteineh (Jordan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Simply Einstein: Relativity Demystified (Paperback)
The author is one of those gifted people who can convey the seemingly impossible....very smooth language, full of illustrations and Thought Experiments. Every page is a joy. The first two thirds of this book cover Special Relativity in a very solid reasoning approach, the last third covers General Relativity (Albeit reasoning is not as concrete as for Special Relativity)

Recommended for all of those who are new in the field looking for simple answers for their big questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to understand, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I don't like writing book reviews, reminds me of school and I'm not good at it.
Very logical approach to relativity explains the basics in a readable way.
Particularly like the analogies used and the avoidance of maths.
Definitely worth reading if your looking for a introduction to relativity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 24 Jan 2012
This review is from: Simply Einstein: Relativity Demystified (Paperback)
Having purchased around twelve books on Einstein and relativity before this book (I am only a novice, and have no scientific background), I was pleased to have finally found a book that takes the reader along step-by-step, and answers those all important questions such as 'what does the OTHER observer see' etc. It is a joy to read, and reafirms each stage throughout the book without being patronising. Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eureka !!!, 7 May 2010
By 
Ian Eyre (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simply Einstein: Relativity Demystified (Paperback)
At last, a book that allows everyone to understand relativity. I have tried to read several books about Einstein's great work but always gave up half-way through. This book, however, was different. It is really readable & Prof Wolfson very cleverly uses easy-to-picture scenarios to illustrate his points. After reading each chapter, you really do begin to think about the world in a whole new way. At last, I've found the knowledge I always wanted to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars written in an easy style and the author describes each stage of the ..., 15 Oct 2014
By 
G. Dale "Gawain" (Devon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simply Einstein: Relativity Demystified (Paperback)
Very interesting book, written in an easy style and the author describes each stage
of the Einsteins theory using good examples without the maths.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Simply Einstein: Relativity Demystified
Simply Einstein: Relativity Demystified by Richard Wolfson (Paperback - 20 Jan 2004)
£8.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews