Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as the Ripley novels., 27 Mar 2006
This review is from: Deep Water (Paperback)
If your only experience of Patricia Highsmith is the Ripley novels, and you're looking for more, you should definitely pick up this book. Deep Water was her first novel after 'The Talented Mr Ripley', and is a similar suspensful and psychological study of murder. I'm about three quarters of the way through Highsmith's books, and this is my new favourite.
The classic Highsmith ingredients are there: the finely observed, almost mundane domestic setting (which feels like a social history of 1950s US middle class life); the matter of fact, and therefore profoundly shocking way her killer switches between domestic routine, murder and back again; the stupidity/complicity of small town neighbours, and so on. The final few chapters also provide some fine moments of suspense: we know something's going to happen, we know where it's going to happen, we know who it's going to happen to, but we don't know exactly how it is going to unfold.
So get this one, and then move on to 'Cry of the Owl', 'The Blunderer' and 'Edith's Diary'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High and Low, 14 Mar 2006
This review is from: Deep Water (Paperback)
As with her better known Ripley novels, in Deep Water (a welcome reissue from Bloomsbury in a handsome edition), Patricia Highsmith gives us a portrayal of a killer who is not entirely unsympathetic: or at least (as with Tom Ripley), it seems to the reader that the people who suffer at his hand are a lot worse than he is... Here, she sets Victor Van Allen, a small publisher with an independent income, against his vampish wife Melinda, or, as the blurb puts it:
"Melinda Van Allen is beautiful, rebellious, tempestuous and sexy. Unfortunately for wealthy socialite Vic Van Allen, she is his wife."
When one of Melinda's lovers is murdered, Van Allen seizes the opportunity to frighten off another by telling him that he, Van Allen, was the murderer. No-one believes him, but word gets around, and soon enough, Van Allen finds himself the true possessor of the title. The transition from wronged husband to killer seems to us logical, fluent and plausible, and our sympathy is, if not unequivocally with Van Allen, certainly never with the victims (though Highsmith dextrously forces this by never delving into the reactions of those left behind: the other victims of any murder). She is more interested in exploring what makes a man do these things, and in interesting us in it too, by making the books so devourably readable. "She writes about men like a spider writing about flies," said one critic, and it's a sticky, addictive web once you're in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars You should try reading a Highsmith novel, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep Water (Paperback)
I am a recent convert to Highsmith's work having heard a discussion about her on the radio. This novel was quick and absorbing to read. Highsmith has a knack of making the reader have sympathy for the villainous Vic in this novel about infidelity in marriag and its fatal consequences for the extra marital lovers of the capricious Melinda.. It is the first of her novels I have read and has induced me to try others.Not sure why the Gove has banned American literature in English GCSE examinations. He clearly isn't as widely read as he would have us believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning and fantastic., 21 Jan 2013
This review is from: Deep Water (Paperback)
It's probably not in her top books but just under. The ending pays off so well and it's very worth the ride. Incredible book and you have to read it if you're a Highsmith fan at all. Even in the ballpark. Highsmith was an entertaining misanthrope and this book shows that. She hates us all and revels in showing what weasels we can be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 25 Aug 2008
This review is from: Deep Water (Paperback)
No one touches Ms Highsmith for sheer tension. I think we have to accept that she was one of the greatest novelists of the last century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Typical Highsmith. Tension builds up gradually and you are ..., 9 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Typical Highsmith. Tension builds up gradually and you are on edge just waiting for something to happen. And it does,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars like a lot of Highsmith's novels, 11 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep Water (Paperback)
Highly readable, like a lot of Highsmith's novels....would recommend for the fan of the genre too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A really good story wonderfully written, 31 July 2014
By 
Nicky Dorrian (Dundee Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I absolutely loved this book. It's storytelling at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good read will look out for more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Sep 2014
By 
J. A. Brown (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep Water (Paperback)
Loved this book and in great condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deep Water
Deep Water by Patricia Highsmith (Paperback - 8 Aug 2003)
£8.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews