Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating book
This book is an in-depth study of the war fought between the United Kingdom and Argentina over the Falkland Islands from April to June 1982. The book begins with a highly informative history of the islands, focusing on the two countries' claims to the islands. The war is recounted in excellent depth, focusing heavily on the British side. The final chapter is on the...
Published on 25 Nov 2003 by Kurt A. Johnson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dated
Well-written, but dated. There is a lot of 'lost' information that simply wasn't available when the book was originally written, but newer publications do include. There are better publications out now.
Published 16 months ago by Fran


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating book, 25 Nov 2003
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Battle for the Falklands (Paperback)
This book is an in-depth study of the war fought between the United Kingdom and Argentina over the Falkland Islands from April to June 1982. The book begins with a highly informative history of the islands, focusing on the two countries' claims to the islands. The war is recounted in excellent depth, focusing heavily on the British side. The final chapter is on the aftermath of the war, which is severely limited, due to the fact that the book was published in 1983.
Finally, there are three excellent appendices: A covers the British task force, giving everything from silhouettes of the ships and airplanes through list of the units involved complete with their commanders; B lists the honors given to Falklands veterans; and appendix C contains the Franks Report on the conflict. The maps contained in the book are excellent, as are the numerous black-and-white pictures.
This book is quite fascinating, and highly informative on the war. I found myself completely unable to put this book down, but just had to read a little more, and a little more, and a little more... I wish that it contained more information on the Argentine side, which would give the book more all-around information. However, that said, it is a great book, giving the reader a good idea of what happened both on the battlefield, and in the halls of the politicians (a great deal of the British side was run for more political, rather than military reasons).
This is a great book, and I highly recommend it to anyone interested in this fascinating war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A freak event in history, 10 Jan 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
That’s what Max Hastings and Simon Jenkins call the battle between Britain and Argentina over the Falkland Islands. Their rather thorough study on the 1982 conflict makes a fascinating read.
The authors start off with covering the history of the Falklands, which is quite useful background. Simon Jenkins does a good job detailing the political developments right up to the invasion. It would appear that the conflict was as much a result of the fallacies of modern diplomacy as a perceived need by the Argentinean regime to deflect the population from the domestic situation. That’s at least the message I took home from reading the authors’ account of the Seventeen Years’ War and Galtieri’s Gamble.
The actual war is recounted in quite some detail, but largely from the British point of view as Argentinean sources were not freely available at the time of publication (1983). The book also gives the impression that the British were in a bit of trouble quite a number of times during the conflict, but that as a result of a lack of co-ordination (or call it rivalries) between the different services of the Argentinean forces, they got away with their own shortcomings. The authors note that if the different services had better co-ordinated their efforts, the British task of regaining the Islands would have been much harder if not impossible.
At the end of the narrative, there are three excellent appendices on the Falkland Islands Task Force, the Honours List and the ‘Frank Report’ examining the ‘why it hadn’t been prevented in the first place’ issue.
This is an excellent book on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 Mar 2000
By A Customer
A first class history of modern warfare. Deals with both the military and political aspects in a comprehensive but compelling narrative. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engaging account of every aspect, 11 April 2009
By 
Luis Mansilla Miranda (Viña del Mar, Chile) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Engaging and complete is the less I can say about this book. The authors tell the story of British side of events, from a brief description of the history of the island, the Argentine occupation by force and the following diplomatic offensive -- to the preparation, deployment and succesive war either by sea and land. The book is full of interestings facts, like the logistics problems of the British, the submarine warfare and the difficult task that it was to deal with air and missile attacks (exocets). Here you see the importance of aircraft carriers, submarines, frigates, artillery fire, good radar systems, ground-to-air missiles, air-to-air missiles and no less important, a good professional army.
The Argentine Junta gambled and they lost, and they lost big since this totally diminished any bargaining position. There is no such thing as share sovereignity, and to finish the war was the best thing to do by the British. There was a cost of lives, we could not see much about the sufferings in combat, we just could see how the Argentine airplanes made brave incursions on the British ships and we can only imagine the horrors of this war in both sides. When I saw the images of the Argentine concripts in their trenches, I just felt pity for them -- What on earth the Argentines were thinking, really? Patriotism only is not enough againts an army with tradition and experience. Fortunately, the war was short and no more blood was shed at Port Stanley. For Chile, this was the best outcome indeed for peace and stability reign again in the region. Finally, I consider the Falklands and South Georgia of strategic importance, we might not think this now but you never know what the future can say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the best account of the war, 30 July 2007
By 
Doctor Syn (Dymchurch-Under-The-Wall) - See all my reviews
Max Hastings is a journalist who has an unerring knack of writing for publications that I would normally walk a thousand miles to avoid. Notwithstanding this, however, I have to say that he has done an absolutely sterling job with this book.

Although first published in the immediate aftermath of the war it has withstood the test of time well and, as a general history of the conflict, it will probably not be surpassed.

If you want to read the best written, most accessible account of the Falklands war then, without doubt, this is the book you should buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A excellent book detailing the war from 2 perspectives, 5 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This is a well written book from 2 diffrent journalists who covered the war, one with the British taskforce and the other with the British government.
It gives a account of what Westminster decided to do and how the military carried it out.
A definative guide to the war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great account of how Britain was dragged to war, 10 Nov 2002
Two of our finest journalists combined to write this account of the almost surreal Falkands conflict.
Hastings on the front line - facing the same risks as those he is reporting on - gives a terrific account of the problems the British forces encountered. How close were we to catastrophe? the answer it seems is too close for comfort. While clearly he writes with a high regard for the British soldier, he nevertheless gives due credit to elements of the Argentinian defenders especially the Air Force whose raids came close to crippling our war effort.
For me though, even more interesting than the military details, the political account of the war written by Simon Jenkins gives a clear insight into the thinking of politicians on three continents. The farcical American flip-flops, lead by an anti-British UN Ambassador and a highly ambitious Secretary of State, and at least on this reading, an American President not wholely in touch with events. Also, the U.N. where British diplomacy somehow managed to win through against all the odds.
Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive general history of the conflict, 7 Jan 2001
By A Customer
An excellent overview of the Falklands Conflict - both politically and militarily. As well as dealing with the conflict itself, a brief overview of the Falklands' history, and the specific problems leading to the outbreak of the conflict, are given.
If there is one improvement that could be made, more detail on the attacks themselves would certainly have been of interest to me - both in the maps and the text.
However, this is a strategic, not a tactical history and, as such, is one of the best examples of modern military history I have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Topical History, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
With the recent passing away of Margaret Thatcher, I decided to download this book onto my Kindle, so as to gain a better insight into this period of her time as the British Prime Minister.

Excellent book, the way that Max Hastings brings the narrative together from the viewpoint of Britain as well as Argentina, leading up to and during the war, with the key decision makers at the time, is very involving.

A historical masterpiece!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a newcomer to military history I wanted a book which covered all aspects off the Falklands campaign and this book certainly did that. The book covers the history of the islands right through to the aftermath. Hastings and Jenkins cover everything and provide a honest/accurate story of the war with brilliant detail. A must read.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Battle for the Falklands
The Battle for the Falklands by Simon Jenkins (Paperback - 14 Aug 1985)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews