Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's all in the mind
I read about Erickson as the pioneer of NLP, and his work in hypnosis and psychotherapy and was intrigued. This book is a great introduction to Erickson. His style of communication which involves the use of skilfully vague language patterns, rapport skills, and conversational hypnosis techniques, forms the basis of the Milton Model in NLP.

These stories are...
Published on 15 Sep 2008 by L. Power

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Book Review
Got this book as have started a hypnotherapy course and was advised out of all the books this was the one to read. Its good as it provides lots of information but in short segments so you don't get bogged down with heavy information.
Published 16 months ago by M R Thomas-Ellis


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

67 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's all in the mind, 15 Sep 2008
By 
L. Power "nlp trainer" (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: My Voice Will Go with You: Teaching Tales of Milton H. Erickson: Teaching Tales of Milton H. Erikson (Paperback)
I read about Erickson as the pioneer of NLP, and his work in hypnosis and psychotherapy and was intrigued. This book is a great introduction to Erickson. His style of communication which involves the use of skilfully vague language patterns, rapport skills, and conversational hypnosis techniques, forms the basis of the Milton Model in NLP.

These stories are case studies, people with all sorts of problems, and very interesting solutions, and great stories.

This guy is a genius. From bedwetting to alcoholism, to repression, I was particularly inspired by a very short story about the Turmahara Indians, and how knowing and thinking about their special abilities can increase your energy levels. If it works for me, it might work for you.

There was one story about how he treated one woman who was sexually unresponsive, and through using his storytelling method caused her to have an orgasm in his office without touching her! Before reading this book I had not realised how easily influenced we can be by indirect suggestion, and how powerful his techniques are.

Essentially this is a book of anecdotes, with the author who is himself a psychiatrist giving an explanation of the methods and techniques being used by Erickson.

Apart from the therapeutic benefits, if you read this book you can really improve your communication and storytelling skills if you follow the principles used here, so I would recommend this book to aspiring story tellers.

Think of Erickson as someone who was a master of effecting life altering personal change by being able to communicate on a deeper level. Applied to yourself you can most likely imagine the effect you can have on yourself and others and how you can win friends and influence people by learning this skill.

For more case studies, check out Conversations with Milton H. Erickson Vol 1 by Jay Haley. You might find situations in there that relate to issues in your own life. In fact, use the look inside feature and check out the index. I found the chapter on public speaking and performance anxiety quite helpful. Also, check out the Patterns of... Erickson book by Richard Bandler, which gives a a complete analysis of Erickson's induction methods.

I hope you find this review helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great voice to take with you, 15 Oct 2007
By 
Mr. Stuart Robert Harris "Vivir Con Arte" (Norwalk CT 06850) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Voice Will Go with You: Teaching Tales of Milton H. Erickson: Teaching Tales of Milton H. Erikson (Paperback)
"If you going to tell yourself stories, you may as well make them good ones" is a sound piece of advice that I first heard from NLP trainer Ian McDermott. "My voice will go with you" fills the bill nicely.

It's not hard to imagine some of these tales being included in popular anthologies of folk wisdom, yeah even unto Reader's Digest. Some might regard such a prospect with distaste, what with Erickson being so revered by many really clever people including writer Aldous Huxley. But it's actually an indication of his all-embracing humanity that so many of the tales make great points in ways that could easily please a very wide audience.

Sidney Rosen's commentaries uncover some of the principles underlying what Erickson was up to in these stories, thereby adding to the wealth of learning. His commentaries are mostly short and anyone wanting more extensive "under the bonnet" insights might care to check out Bandler & Grinder's "Patterns of the Hypnotic Techniques of Milton H. Erickson".

"My voice will go with you" is an easy read, but no less worthwhile for that. A few stories run to several pages, many are just a page or so and some are even shorter. You can dip into it or zip through it in any direction with equal pleasure and edification. Either way is better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great insight into Erickson's techiques, 15 April 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Voice Will Go with You: Teaching Tales of Milton H. Erickson: Teaching Tales of Milton H. Erikson (Paperback)
If you are studying hypnotherapy then this book is a must.
Actual case studies are described, analysed and explained, so the reader can get an insight into how Erikson worked.
But this is not a book that will teach you how to do it - it just provides you with examples of his methods. To really appreciate Erikson you need to see and hear him working.
This book is easy to read and will make you wonder, perhaps, how such dramatic change is brought about through cleverly constructed language alone. Erikson used language to allow the patient to effect change within themselves, and this book really illustrates that well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that lets you watch a genius at work, 23 Nov 2003
By 
K. Alexander "rfdesign" (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Voice Will Go with You: Teaching Tales of Milton H. Erickson: Teaching Tales of Milton H. Erikson (Paperback)
This book will be an excellent addition to the library of anyone interested in Hypnosis or NLP.
Each tale is accompanied by a short description of the thinking underlying each tale and to read these notes is to look inside the mind of a genius in his field.
A modestly priced book packed with information and insight - buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Resourcefulness of Erickson, 11 Feb 2008
By 
This review is from: My Voice Will Go with You: Teaching Tales of Milton H. Erickson: Teaching Tales of Milton H. Erikson (Paperback)
This is a great introduction to skill, resourcefulness and versatility of Erikcson and the possibilities of Ericksonian hypnosis.

The stories are fun to read and they may also inspire solutions to problems presented by your own clients, but do remember that the essence of Ericksonian hypnosis is "utlization" of client's background, predispositions and preferences, rather than pick a script or a technique and use it on everyone indiscriminately.

It is not only techniques which are thought through NLP and Ericksonian hypnosis today that distinguished Erickson, but his respect for uniqueness of individual and the problem he was facing. Erickson was also open to using absolutely anything that may work, no matter how outrageous it would appear. And he was infinitely creative in his approach as you'll find out from the stories in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 8 Aug 2007
By 
Mr. Ross Maynard (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Voice Will Go with You: Teaching Tales of Milton H. Erickson: Teaching Tales of Milton H. Erikson (Paperback)
Through anecdotes about his practice and examples of the stories he used, My Voice will go with You is a fascinating and highly readable insight into the genius of Erickson. The stories are always compelling; often funny; and occasionally bizarre; making this a really enjoyable read. The only problem for me is that many of the stories are so context specific that it is difficult to know how they could be applied elsewhere. Nevertheless this a fun, easy read and there are many ideas that you can apply in your own metaphors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A skillfully edited and crafted work of Ericksonian wisdom, 7 Sep 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: My Voice Will Go with You: Teaching Tales of Milton H. Erickson: Teaching Tales of Milton H. Erikson (Paperback)
Milton Erickson chose well when he gave permission to Sidney Rosen to write a book on his "teaching tales." The reader is richly rewarded with a plethora of categorised accounts of the stories that Erickson imparted to both patient and student alike over many years. Rosen had the privilege of working closely with Erickson up until the time of his death in 1980, and that close working relationship is evidenced within this work. This entertaining and easy to read 'can't put down' book is a 'must' for any therapist or clinician, but will have an appeal to any reader at some level or another. Just as Erickson was a visionary, so too is Rosen. Well worth adding to your library, along with works by other visionaries such as Jeffrey Zeig, Ernest Rossi, Jay Hayley, Richard Bandler and John Grinder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book that I'll keep with me always!, 26 Dec 2003
By 
This review is from: My Voice Will Go with You: Teaching Tales of Milton H. Erickson: Teaching Tales of Milton H. Erikson (Paperback)
This book is a real gem. Just from reading it, one immediately gets a feel for Mr Erickson's approach and technique. (Its a pity he's dead, I would've loved to meet this talented man in person even if its a one in a billionth chance.) The stories recounted are very interesting, even if just for their story-telling value. Its hard not to feel a sense of calm after reading one or two of them, which is amazing. Even if you don't "get" at first glance what each story is supposed to do for you...after reading each story, you know it had worked its magic on you even if in a small helpful albeit subconscious way. Normally I only read most books once, but this I read time and again. This is one of those things I'll always carry with me, wherever I go and whichever country I'm in
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much to discover, 14 Sep 2008
This review is from: My Voice Will Go with You: Teaching Tales of Milton H. Erickson: Teaching Tales of Milton H. Erikson (Paperback)
An easy read; well written; an excellent resource for training therapists and health professionals and those that have been in the business for sometime.

This book is full of gems. Every story can be viewed on so many levels. You can discover skills and techniques and ideas from the stories while absorbing and enhancing your natural ability to share the right story with the right person at the right time in the right way to make a difference to so many people's lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His voice will stay with you., 1 Jun 2008
By 
H. Hurmson "white antelope" (Staffordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Voice Will Go with You: Teaching Tales of Milton H. Erickson: Teaching Tales of Milton H. Erikson (Paperback)
Don't often leave reviews but this book is well worth every penny. As a hypnotherapy student there are mountains of (great) theory and scripts, but to have actual condensed case studies from the master is both inspirational and essential for understanding everything else written about him. Brilliantly presented in a way that can be read as a recreational text, and as you would expect each case seems to instantly commit itself to memory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews