Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Full Works
This is an absolute doorstep of a book. Not only does it have the complete works of Shakespeare including the sonnets but many other texts too: critical essays, sources etc. It's a set book for the OU course AA306 and can be taken into the exam (as of this date 18/09/11). Once the module is over it should stay on the shelf as a permanent reference to everything that is...
Published on 17 Sep 2011 by Mrs. A. Cleave

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Overpriced
The text itself is fine, but the paper is far too thin and the paperback version is far too overpriced for such shoddy bindings.
Published 15 months ago by A. Frost


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Full Works, 17 Sep 2011
By 
Mrs. A. Cleave "Bookworm" (Inner Hebrides) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Norton Shakespeare (Paperback)
This is an absolute doorstep of a book. Not only does it have the complete works of Shakespeare including the sonnets but many other texts too: critical essays, sources etc. It's a set book for the OU course AA306 and can be taken into the exam (as of this date 18/09/11). Once the module is over it should stay on the shelf as a permanent reference to everything that is William Shakespeare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good edition of Shakespeare's full works, 29 Jun 2012
This review is from: The Norton Shakespeare (Paperback)
I agree with the other reviewer that the cover is ugly but then the book is targeted towards students, not the casual reader. Each play has a good sized introduction to it, which is very good for the less well-known plays and can shed some light on the common ones, like Romeo and Juliet.The introduction are by no means authoritive but they are perfect for the student who wants to know what they should be saying about this play.

My one problem is that the filmographies included in the introductions are inaccurate and not particularly useful. Nothing you couldn't get from imDB.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Product!, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Norton Shakespeare (Paperback)
Excellent Shakespeare Collection for those on an English/English Language Degree!

Plot summaries, character lists, translations and every play, ever written/associated with Shakespeare!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All the Shakespeare you will ever need., 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Norton Shakespeare (Paperback)
Fantastic resource, well edited. I paid for the paperback version as I thought it was very expensive, but the pages are wafer thin and the book is extremely heavy. I would recommend the hardback copy if you can afford it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Norton review, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Norton Shakespeare (Paperback)
The copy arrived very quickly and has been invaluable with my studies. The notes that accompany the plays are really clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars collection of Shakespeares poems, 4 Mar 2010
By 
KJ Mansfield "Kirsty" (Swansea, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Norton Shakespeare (Paperback)
great book for studying the poems and sonnets of Shakespeare in secondary school, 6th form/college and for university.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Norton Shakespeare (Paperback)
Excellent delivery and seller. Bought for my English and American literature course at university. Wonderful aid to studies and jam-packed with useful and thoughtful texts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good for uni, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Norton Shakespeare (Paperback)
I bought this for my university course and I really wanted to rate it 1 star because of how heavy it is, but that wouldn't be fair. Afterall, it works really well as a doorstop, too. It's got all the plays I need, so I can't really complain (too much)!

Onto the downsides:
- It's heavy, as I said, but that's unavoidable so I can overlook that
- The paper is super thin like Bible paper, but again I guess it needs to be to fit everything in it
- It's super expensive, especially for a student
- Because it's so heavy and the paper so thin, it's pretty easy to damage (especially when used to hold open heavy doors). I guess buying it in hardback would help a lot, but that would make it even heavier and be even more expensive so maybe not.

In summary - if you need the works of Shakespeare for university because you're studying English, then go ahead and buy it! If you're buying this just because you want all of Shakespeare's works (and not for studying) I would imagine there are other, more durable collections. If you're not yet at university level but need it for GCSE/A-Level, I'd only recommend if you plan on studying English at degree level too, because otherwise you won't get enough use out of it for the hefty price tag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant to get through an exam, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Norton Shakespeare (Paperback)
My son needed this for his University exam, and couldnt have done without it - huge thick book - have no idea what hes going to do with it now though?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars happy with purchase, 22 July 2013
By 
C. Confrey "indefatigable drunk" (the26 counties) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Norton Shakespeare (Paperback)
i needed this for college it is good value for what it contains but the size and weight make it hard to carry around but that said it is as compact as it could possibly be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Norton Shakespeare
The Norton Shakespeare by William Shakespeare (Paperback - 28 Mar 2008)
27.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews