Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reader's Edition - Essential, but without the Illustrations
NOTE: This a review of the READER'S edition - and the Reader's Edition DOES NOT include the facsimile images (art and calligraphy) of the original "Red Book: Liber Novus." I suspect many of those who ordered the book unaware of this will be surprised and disappointed. This distinction was not made clear in Amazon pre-publication information. If you wish to see the...
Published 18 months ago by Lance S. Owens

versus
20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unillustrated edition which only tells half the tale.
Having seen the wonderful illustrated edition, admittedly somewhat oversized, I believed that the 'Reader's edition' would be a more compact edition of the same work (especially given the price). However, nothing could be further from the truth. The book, despite the handsome cover is merely the text and completely diminishes the pleasure of exploring Jung's creation in...
Published 19 months ago by Hermes 3Magistus


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - or incomprehensible?, 7 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Red Book: A Reader's Edition (Philemon) (Imitation Leather)
I have read the Readers Edition and as noted elsewhere it is a very attractively published book which is much easier to handle than the full size book.
I have been reading this book in two ways. Firstly, quietly to myself and the second as part of a reading group where we take it in turns to read sections out aloud. As part of the reading group, I find the material produces a meditative even sacred atmosphere which I value. However when I read it alone, I find large parts of it completely incomprehensible.
This is because there are essentially two styles that the narrative is presented in. In the first, Jung relates his journeys within the unconscious and these have the feel of fantastical dreams, full of archetypes and imagery which are fascinating to read. Then, in his second style of narrative, he presents his thoughts, musings and elaborations on these journeys and these are incomprehensible and extremely difficult to read. Indeed in one part of the book it states that they are deliberately ambiguous in order to promote thought about them. I find this pointless -there are much easier things to read that are thought provoking and a better way of spending time. I don't really like to say that but it feels to me that the sheer incomprehensibility is the elephant in the room that nobody dares mention -we can't criticise the great Jung. However, as mentioned above I have enjoyed reading it as part of a group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Red Book: A Reader's Edition (Philemon) (Imitation Leather)
Brought this book for my son he Love this book and it put a smile on my face as it was a really good price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great addition, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Red Book: A Reader's Edition (Philemon) (Imitation Leather)
I purchased a copy of the full sized version of this book which has all of the pictures in full colour (which this book does not) and it is a treasured possession. This book is a great companion to the full sized version as it is portable and much easier to handle. The full sized version is large in case you are tempted....and also at a much higher price point. In no way would you sit to read this book in one sitting but it is a fascinating work to dip into. It allows you to see the earlier thoughts of Jung, and the thoughts of his profound mind that has added so much to the understanding of personality and behaviour. I love the construction and feel of the book too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a book should be, sumptuous., 4 Aug 2013
By 
Mrs. P. A. Rees "Philippa Rees" (Somerset England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Red Book: A Reader's Edition (Philemon) (Imitation Leather)
The work itself is iconic ( and perhaps Divine in origin) and no reviewer needed for the content, which would be presumptuous. But the feel, touch, visual glory in this day and fast-food age is to die for, to take to bed for other reasons. It gives daily pleasure simply to see it upon a table and to partake of a daily meal. The price tag is modest for the pleasure it affords
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Red Book: A Reader's Edition (Philemon) (Imitation Leather)
A great book but, as mentioned elsewhere, it does not contain the pictures or Gothic script of the original. However, this edition is about a fifth of the price of the full edition, and is much easier to read physically. It is printed on high quality paper and its general layout/style mimics the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Red Book: A Reader's Edition (Philemon)
The Red Book: A Reader's Edition (Philemon) by Mark Kyburz (Imitation Leather - 23 Nov 2012)
18.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews