Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars It lived up to expectations
Thoroughly enjoyable read. Having read Monument Men it was a very good follow on. I now look forward to seeing the film
Published 4 months ago by Janet Pugh

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Neither fish or foul - hugely disappointed!
I saw this book for sale in the Uffizzi in Florence, read the spiel on the reverse and assumed it was a book about lost treasures and the recovery of the same from the Nazis. I bought the book looking forward to reading the detail of the art and found another book which was mostly about the war and it rarely kept my interest.

Yes the book does cover the lost...
Published 6 months ago by Mr. G. Bridgeman-clarke


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Neither fish or foul - hugely disappointed!, 4 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. G. Bridgeman-clarke "Graham BC" (Rayleigh, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Saving Italy: The Race to Rescue a Nation's Treasures from the Nazis (Hardcover)
I saw this book for sale in the Uffizzi in Florence, read the spiel on the reverse and assumed it was a book about lost treasures and the recovery of the same from the Nazis. I bought the book looking forward to reading the detail of the art and found another book which was mostly about the war and it rarely kept my interest.

Yes the book does cover the lost works of art but its a mess. factually incorrect in that it ignores the difference between Great Britain/United kingdom and England, has a bias towards the American role in the war - there are assertions that the "English" bombed without care and the Americans were precise so how can you take this book seriously when these facts are bent in the favour of the Americans. makes you winder how much of the book is made up or guesswork or was it predominantly written for an American audience.

i did find some facts interesting but all in all a wasted opportunity to present what should have been an unbiased history of the art thefts in Italy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bias as usual, 20 Nov 2013
By 
Professor Ian M. Johnson "Ian" (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Saving Italy: The Race to Rescue a Nation's Treasures from the Nazis (Hardcover)
Exhaustively researched; poorly written; and factually deficient when facts would get in the way of presenting Americans as saviours of the world's art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very interesting but written from a very American point of view. Just remind me, were the British in WWII at all?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Really worth reading., 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very interesting book. Thoroughly enjoyable reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It lived up to expectations, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoroughly enjoyable read. Having read Monument Men it was a very good follow on. I now look forward to seeing the film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars better than the movie, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saving Italy: The Race to Rescue a Nation's Treasures from the Nazis (Hardcover)
The movie about the Monuments Men based on the companiosn to this book has had poor reviews. This is v sad as the story is such an important and exciting one. thsi goes with the book about the art looting in Northern Europe by the same author which is I think called the Momuments Men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars saving Italy, 31 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. F. Mills (Birmingham , England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saving Italy: The Race to Rescue a Nation's Treasures from the Nazis (Hardcover)
Saw the film The Monuments Men first . The book provides a more in depth explanation of what these people really did to protect the treasures of Italy . I have spent a lot of time in Italy & have seen the vast majority of the arts & treasures of this country that the war & Nazis tried to either destroy or steal for the FuhrerMuseum or there own private collections.The insight into the efforts of everyone involved is heart warming & gratifying , & I for one am grateful to these people for all the wonderful experiences I have had , due to them . Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A FASCINATING AND IMPORTANT BOOK, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saving Italy: The Race to Rescue a Nation's Treasures from the Nazis (Hardcover)
Notwithstanding its absurd title this is a most fascinating and important book. I read it with rapt attention. Having admired the excellent books on the Italian Renaissance by Professor Frederick Hartt it was illuminating to read of his major role in saving great works of art during the Second World War.

The books is beautifully printed on high quality paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saving Italy: The Race to Rescue a Nation's Treasures from the Nazis, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saving Italy: The Race to Rescue a Nation's Treasures from the Nazis (Hardcover)
Having read Robert Edsel's earlier book Monuments Men which I thoroughly enjoyed I followed up with Saving Italy - It is very hard to believe that during World War II so many artefacts, monuments & paintings were stolen from so many private homes, museums etc. and placed into the hands of the German Nazis (and stashed away in caves). It is wonderful to think that an "army" of selected people were chosen to infiltrate countries in Europe (both towards the end of the war and afterwards) to find the masses of artefacts and return to their various owners and/or museums. Obviously large numbers of paintings etc. still remain lost and even in todays 20th century era paintings (in particular) are suddenly appearing after so many lost years. Very interesting reading and a lesson to learn from the aftermath of the second world war - Annabel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 July 2014
By 
Robyn T. Crimmin "Zorro60" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Saving Italy: The Race to Rescue a Nation's Treasures from the Nazis (Hardcover)
Excellent resource and reference. An interesting history chapter which has been well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Saving Italy: The Race to Rescue a Nation's Treasures from the Nazis
13.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews