Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Confirmation
Just to confirm an earlier reviewer's suspicion that "Land of Plenty" is an American edition of "Sichuan Cookery". It is. The sequence of the recipes has been changed, there are no metric measurements and ingredients have been given American names where they differ from English.

There may be other differences, but as I bought this as a backup (having splashed...
Published on 3 July 2011 by Dune

versus
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Caveat emptor
I suspect that this might be the American edition of the book published by Penguin in the UK as "Sichuan Cookery". Check a bookshop before you buy.
Published on 15 July 2010 by Graeme Withers


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Caveat emptor, 15 July 2010
By 
Graeme Withers (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Land of Plenty: A Treasury of Authentic Sichuan Cooking (Hardcover)
I suspect that this might be the American edition of the book published by Penguin in the UK as "Sichuan Cookery". Check a bookshop before you buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Confirmation, 3 July 2011
This review is from: Land of Plenty: A Treasury of Authentic Sichuan Cooking (Hardcover)
Just to confirm an earlier reviewer's suspicion that "Land of Plenty" is an American edition of "Sichuan Cookery". It is. The sequence of the recipes has been changed, there are no metric measurements and ingredients have been given American names where they differ from English.

There may be other differences, but as I bought this as a backup (having splashed coffee all over my copy of "Sichuan Cookery" due to being too absorbed in what I was reading and not paying attention to where the table ended and free space began) I haven't delved down deep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my best chinese cookbook, 10 Mar 2010
This review is from: Land of Plenty: A Treasury of Authentic Sichuan Cooking (Hardcover)
this is a kind and effective cookbook, written with deep expertise.

it contains no strange or unknown ingredients, just the things you can find in the asian supermarket or even the big ordinary western supermarket anywhere. the recipes are also easy to perform.

i read many other chinese cookbooks, especially sichuan and hunan, but i always return to these recipes for what we really want to eat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars nice textbook on sichuan cookery but needs more photographs, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Land of Plenty: A Treasury of Authentic Sichuan Cooking (Hardcover)
Really good book, it can be considered to be a textbook on sichuan cooking. I wish it had more photos or illustrations though - it is often hard to describe complex processes without pictures when you have not seen them before. Fortunately for me I am familiar with this style of food so I found the book very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 18 Dec 2012
By 
Phil (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Land of Plenty: A Treasury of Authentic Sichuan Cooking (Hardcover)
I absolutely love the recipes, the stories and the passion.

Simple food that can set your taste buds alight within a few minutes or have you going all day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Land of Plenty: A Treasury of Authentic Sichuan Cooking
Land of Plenty: A Treasury of Authentic Sichuan Cooking by Fuchsia Dunlop (Hardcover - 30 Dec 2005)
20.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews