Customer Reviews


140 Reviews
5 star:
 (85)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


191 of 195 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the effort
From reading the previous reviews it is apparent that this novel polarises opinions like few others, i.e. you'll either love it or hate it. People who hate it find the language archaic, "eighteenth century nautical terms scattered like confetti", the characters wooden and hard to sympathise with, and struggle to engage with the novelist. Many readers, perhaps enticed by...
Published on 1 Jun 2007 by Peter Groome

versus
23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not great, but the start of greatness
This novel has a mixed bag of revues on here, and I can see why. After all the hype over O'Brian you finally read this novel, persevere with it till the end and think 'well, it was all right, but it wasn't that good. What's all the hype about'? Then you read the next novel and think exactly the same. Then you read the third novel and halfway through O'Brian finally kicks...
Published on 18 Nov 2007 by Grev


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

191 of 195 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the effort, 1 Jun 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Master and Commander (Paperback)
From reading the previous reviews it is apparent that this novel polarises opinions like few others, i.e. you'll either love it or hate it. People who hate it find the language archaic, "eighteenth century nautical terms scattered like confetti", the characters wooden and hard to sympathise with, and struggle to engage with the novelist. Many readers, perhaps enticed by the Russell Crowe film, will find themselves buying this book and then struggling to get beyond the first chapter. It is not easy reading, not like Sharpe, or Hornblower that you can race through, especially at the outset. However, if you like a book with a bit of substance behind it, are prepared to do a little bit of work to understand what is going on, and will give the characters room to breathe, you may just find yourself rewarded beyond expectations as a treasurehouse opens up before you.

This is the first of a series of twenty novels and you really do need to read them in sequence, (1. Master and Commander, 2. Post Captain, 3. HMS Surprise etc.),as the author tends to tell you something once and then expects you to remember it. If you start with The Far Side of the World, number ten, because of the film, you will be hopelessly adrift; nothing the characters do or say will make any sense, and the plot is very different from the film so you will not recognise what you are reading.

Start with this one then, book one and don't just skim it for the adventure story. Climb the rigging with the lubberly Dr Stephen Maturin and listen as he has explained to him the masts, yards and sails of the Sophie. After only a few pages you know the difference between the foremast and the mizzen, the stays, tops and ratlines. You will benefit from getting some maps; Minorca and the Spanish coast east of Gibraltar (look them up as soon as the place names come out of the text). You want to get a feel for the shape of the coast, harbours and ports. Don't spend any money, just five minutes with the Google map facility and print them off, nicely magnified so you get all the capes and points. Now you can feel the tension as the Sophie ducks under the enemy guns, steals a prize and races for safety with a half dozen frigates in hot pursuit; all the naval engagements make a whole lot more sense; you might even mark the positions of the vessels and follow their movements; Patrick O'Brian gives you enough description to clearly visualise every detail and this is where he scores most of his points and wins his lifelong devotees. The author had vast resources of knowledge about naval engagements of the period and most of the action is painstakingly recreated from real events, as reported by those who took part in them. This is far more than historical fiction, it is the bringing back to vivid life of a period of our relatively recent history.

Next if you find the story intriguing but the nautical terms frustrating (you are not alone in this), you might consider purchasing a reference book: The World of Jack Aubrey by David Miller (I paid 5.99), a shortish, hard-backed book for the twenty-first century reader, full of diagrams and explanations and with a glossary of technical terms. The mysteries of the stunsail, the use of the log, the bells of the watch and the use of the glass will all become clear, along with good descriptions of the various vessels that feature, from lateens to bum-boats, sloops and brigs, the points of the compass and the different fighting styles of the British and French men o' war (British preferred solid shot aimed at the hull that sent explosions of splinters through the enemy crew, wheras the French preferred chain and grape shot to disable and capture.

A further book is a worthwhile purchase, Admiral W.H. Smyth's The Sailor's Word-Book (Conway 9.99). This fat period tome comprises over 14,000 nautical and naval terms, every technical word used by Patrick O'Brian is in there, described in crisp clarity, the Admiral spent the seven years of his retirement from 1858 - 1865 working on this mine of information and the Aubrey/Maturin enthusiast will have this reference close by at all times.

To bring the experience fully to life I would also recommend a day out to the Portsmouth historic harbour; a couple of hours inhaling the air aboard the H.M.S. Victory touching the cables and absorbing the perspectives will be well spent.

If you find yourself shouting, "Vast that anchor", to your wife in the Sainsbury's car park, and your kids buy you a parrot for Christmas then it's possible that you might be allowing your enthusiasm to carry you a little too far, but until then, enjoy the journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be put off, 21 Feb 2007
This review is from: Master and Commander (Paperback)
I came at this series from a background of reading a lot of fantasy / sci-fi and Tom Clancy type adventure - all of which are easy to read and conjure up a picture in your mind.

I had two false starts on this book, where I got about 30 pages in and then gave up as the language seemed hard and the terms technical. I then made a determined effort to stick with it and finish the book and have never made a better decision in terms of reading. This is one of the best and most engaging series I have ever read and you find that, as the books unfold, various nautical terms are explained. The best idea is just to carry on reading and not worry - the plots are excellent and characterisation is second to none. I enjoyed the first reading for the story, the second for the characters and even now, on my approx 6th time through, still find new sub plots and meanings I never noticed before.

Give this series a chance and give yourself a good stretch at first read to get into it - once you do you should hopefully find, as I did, that this is one of the best series ever written - full stop - and one that can be read again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, and first book of a tremendous series., 8 Oct 1999
By A Customer
Master and Commander is excellent, and the gateway to the enormously enjoyable Aubrey and Maturin novels. It is not often that one can happen upon such a long series of superb books, so if this is your first contact with O'Brien, I envy you.
The action elements of these naval tales are fully the equal of the classic of the genre, Forester's Hornblower novels, but benefit from a less episodic style. The O'Brien series, however, is far stronger than the Hornblowers in the area of character and personal plot lines. After reading a few of them Aubrey and Maturin seem utterly real and known people, and their development through their various adventures, naval and romantic, is masterly.
At the risk of sounding sexist, these novels open up the realm of military historic fiction to a female reader (like me), and so are a rare example of quality light literature of equal appeal to both sexes.
Most highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jack Aubrey and Stephen Maturin become particular friends, 15 Nov 2003
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Master and Commander (Paperback)
A movie that is adopted from a novel presents the eternal quandary as to whether you should read the novel before or after seeing the film. However, with the release today of "Master and Commander: The Far Side of World" you have a unique opportunity to do both. Although we have assumed this Russell Crowe film was an amalgam of the first and tenth novels in the series of twenty written by Patrick O'Brien starting in 1970, that is not the case. The film is based squarely on "The Far Side of the World," although certainly liberties have been taken with translating the work to the screen (the enemy ship is now a French vessel in 1805 durng the Napoleonic Wars instead of an American ship during the War of 1812). This means that reading "Master and Commander" before seeing the film would actually work to your advantage, because you would then understand the relationship between "Lucky" Jack Aubrey and Dr. Stephen Maturin, which begins in this first novel.
On the first of April in the year 1800 two of the most important things in his life happen to John Aubrey, Esquire. Not only is he appointed Commander of His Majesty's Sloop "Sophie," but he makes the acquaintance of Dr. Maturin. Aubrey, who is taller and broad shouldered, plays the violin, which the smaller Maturin plays the cello. Aubrey is the embodiment of an English seaman while Maturin is an absent-minded intellectual. Outside of their love of music there is little to recommend one to the other, but this is the beginning of one of the great friendships in literature. Many times we will be reminded through these books that each is the other's particular friend, and that friendship begins here. Consequently, you can read "Master and Commander" and it will enhance you experience of watching the movie because it provides all you really need to know about the back story concerning this deep friendship which is a recurring subtext of the film.
Aubrey's first command, H.M.S. "Sophie," is an old, slow brig and unlikely to help him fulfill his dream of making a fortune in captured French and Spanish prizes, all of which are bigger and better than his small ship. If there is a theme to this first novel it is the story of how Jack Aubrey came to earn the sobriquet "Lucky," and how he pushed that luck right to edge, and a bit beyond. In the telling of this tale O'Brian amply demonstrates both Aubrey's capacities and his vulnerabilities, both of which are explored in future volumes.
You have to think of this as a series rather than a novel, because after reading this book and seeing the movie you want to progress to the second O'Brian volume, "Post Captain," and not skip ahead to "The Far Side of the World." This is not Horatio Hornblower; these Aubrey-Maturin novels were written in order and the first half-dozen volumes are the ones most grounded in naval history (O'Brian liked to take real engagements and add his characters and their ship into the mix). For his 21st birthday I got my son the entire 20-volume series and one of the many excellent companion volumes that are out there.
Just be aware that if you get the movie tie-in editions of "Master and Commander" and/or "The Far Side of the World" that they are slightly larger than the standard paperback editions. Consequently when they are all lined up on your bookcase having them is going to keep your collection from looking shipshape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Every Story has to start somewhere, 28 Jan 2005
This review is from: Master & Commander (Aubrey-Maturin) (Hardcover)
Many people who read this book will no doubt have been to see the film first; most I imagine will be disapointed.
I really enjoyed Master and Commander and the way in which O'Brian begins to build the relationship between Aubrey and Maturin. The book begins with Jack Aubrey being given his first command the Sophia and almost seeking 'satisfaction' with Matruin at a concert. Instead Aubrey offers Maturin the position of ships surgeon, even though he is a fully-fledged doctor.
I love the way that O'Brian begins to build and hint at the relationship to come between Aubrey & Maturin and how secretive Maturin is. O'Brian builds his characters superbly warts and all, the fact that Jack Aubrey is seriously overweight (something Russell Crowe was not) and that Maturin is a Heroin addict (in the form of Laudanum) give a realism. His historical accuracy is second to none and I really got the feel of what life was like in the British Navy in the early 1800's.
This is not the best book in the series but I would recommend that you read it casting out all memories of the film. O'Brian is a brilliant storyteller and he builds his characters throughout each subsequent book. Master & Commander is a great introduction to many of those characters from Awkward Davies, Bonden and the brilliant Preserved Killick.
I read it and could not wait to read the next 19 books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complex and wonderful, 18 Mar 2007
This review is from: Master and Commander (Paperback)
Patrick O'Brian's see stories are something that divide people into lovers and haters of them. If you like fast paced narrative and swash buckling adventures you will probably be disappointed. There is a adventure in droves but the books are really character lead, the narrative often wanders in what seems strange directions much as real life does. The characters are three dimensional and we care about them, their lives and fortunes. The writing is wonderful if sometimes dense and it certainly is not afraid to delve in technical nautical jargon of the day or to use period forms of dialogue rather than modern forms.

This first book of the series is of course the only place to start, but in many ways it felt atypical of the series. The characters are only starting to be formed and is much more a stand alone story than any of the others. If you like this book, read the next and you will be hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does justice to the book, 14 Jan 2004
By 
TONY "Hotvalve" (Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Master and Commander (Audio CD)
Firstly, for those new to O'Brian's oeuvre, regardless of the title this is not the audio book of the film. 'Master and Commander' is the first in the series of Aubrey/Maturin novels, charting the first meeting between the two men and their adventures in the Mediterranean aboard the brig 'Sophie'.
After reading the entire Aubrey/Maturin series, I came to this, my first encounter with an audio version, with trepidation. Would it spoil my 'inner vision' of the remarkable naval world created by O'Brian?
However my fears were unfounded. Robert Hardy conveys the multi-faceted pleasures of O'Brian's writing with real enthusiasm, and his excellent vocal characterisations endow the Sophie's Captain and crew with an extra dimension (his Maturin is much better than my imagined one). I found myself enjoying the story almost as though I were experiencing it for the first time.
At 4.5 hours this is a long audio book, good value even if you have already read the book and a superb introduction to the series for anyone venturing aboard for the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 18 Aug 2005
This review is from: Master & Commander (Aubrey-Maturin) (Hardcover)
I read the older print of this book - same text but without the useful little diagram at the front telling you what rope's what. So I found it rather hard to figure out what on earth it meant by all this and all that.
I didn't really find that it deterred me from reading it, or enjoying it though. I gained a better knowledge or ropes and things from it and the workings of a boat, as well as the life of officers and crew.
It is no Hornblower - no heroic histories, but a story of life on board the Sophie - and the relationship between the Captain, his officers and his crew. The relationship between the boat and her captain and crew and of course - the doctor Stephen Mautrin and Captain Jack Aubrey's friendship - personified by their shared love of the violin and the cello.
Definately a series I want to continue reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written, funny and sublime., 5 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is from 1970 and is the first in the Aubrey/Maturin series of seafaring novels. Following Stephen Maturin a peniless natural philosopher and physician and the plump, young Naval lieutenant Jack Aubrey. The two meet in an opera house and become friends. We join the Doctor as he boards the Sophie and gets a taste of life aboard a tiny crowded Naval brig of 1801. The Doctor keenly and wryly observes the shifting dynamics of the quarter-deck. We get a sense of the complex and sometimes bizarre nature of civilised War and of Naval affairs in the Mediterranian. The Doctor has both Irish and Catalan nationality and we get a political elements in the mix as well.

Most people who like C S Forester's Hornblower or the host of lesser imitators will not like this. You can't skip through this looking for the action sequences. It is actually grown up proper literature. It does have battles but O'Brian has a habit of confounding our expectations. He will take us up to the point where the fighting is about to start, Only to pull away from the action, the reader only finding out the outcome in a casual conversation days later. The characters are warmly realised, with no concession to modernity at all. Many writers of "historical fiction" give way to temptation and make their character more modern and like us than their contemporarys. Not so O'Brian. He is better than that. Doctor Maturin will use the same knife to eat with as he uses to dissect a dead girl, and only give it a wipe. There is a rich vein of humour in this book with O'Brien finding humour everwhere. One plot strand is the crewman, in chains for unnatural relations with the ship's goat. "milk in your tea sir?" "What kind of milk?" "Goat's milk sir" "I don't think so" We are presented with a blizzard of nautical terms, which you don't really have to understand to appreciate the story. But O'Brian doesn't really help the reader with the shifting geopolitics of this period. Maybe some background viewing or reading on the Napoleonic Wars would help. You dont get a map. It does make things a bit easier if you understand the geography so a map of the Med is a good idea.

I got an enormous amount of fun from this book,a stylish and witty study of humanity, politics, and warfare with sparkling dialogue. This reads more like a contemporary novel than a historical one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Historical Novel I have ever read, 31 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Master and Commander (Paperback)
I could not recommend this excellent series enough; the characters are superbly drawn and beleivable, the setting is perfectly described and in beautiful detail, the story carries you away with its breathtaking use of language, and above all it is the most historically accurate book I have ever had the pleasure to read. And the fact that this is the first in a series of some 20 novels is a real bonus. Buy it, you will be hooked by O'Brian's marvellous creations, Captain Aubrey and Dr Maturin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Master & Commander (Aubrey-Maturin)
Master & Commander (Aubrey-Maturin) by Patrick O`brian (Hardcover - 29 Mar 1995)
16.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews