Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, but Amazon will send you a black & white copy
ggplot2 is a very powerful R package that will produce high quality graphs. For a book like this, it is essential that it is printed in color. I have seen a PDF of this book and it was indeed in color; however Amazon will send you a black and white copy on cheap paper. The book is therefore greatly overpriced. Some graphs are just one big blurred black mess. Go for the...
Published on 6 July 2012 by H Harmsen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Hard-going
It's a good book but I do find that I need to do a lot of referring to other materials to work out what's going on.

I have also bought the other book recommended on the GGPLOT site ("R Graphics Cookbook") so I'll see how they compare...
Published 18 months ago by Urd Yggradsil


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, but Amazon will send you a black & white copy, 6 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ggplot2: Elegant Graphics for Data Analysis (Use R!) (Paperback)
ggplot2 is a very powerful R package that will produce high quality graphs. For a book like this, it is essential that it is printed in color. I have seen a PDF of this book and it was indeed in color; however Amazon will send you a black and white copy on cheap paper. The book is therefore greatly overpriced. Some graphs are just one big blurred black mess. Go for the PDF and forget the book version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book for a great R Package, 15 Aug. 2010
By 
Brandon Hurr - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: ggplot2: Elegant Graphics for Data Analysis (Use R!) (Paperback)
First off, ggplot2 is an amazing package. If you want to create a graph that just makes sense with minimal fuss (for R anyway) then use this package.

This book is a great introduction with lots of examples and some of the pages even have color (which may explain the relatively high cost). The book complements and adds to the available online materials (had.co.nz and ggplot2 google group). I knocked it down a star because I wish there had been more examples of the more detailed features that Hadley has hidden away in the package. Since publication, he has worked very hard on the package and added features and fixed old ones. I wish that this was an online publication or PDF so that it was searchable and updateable. A wiki wouldn't be a bad idea.

That being said, I find that I best concentrate on things that are printed in front of me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Introduces nice graphics package for R programmers, 3 May 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ggplot2: Elegant Graphics for Data Analysis (Use R!) (Paperback)
If you want more flexibility to create your own graphs, and are familiar with the R programming language, this is a good choice.
I am still a novice at R, and so struggled a bit. For instance, you have to load various datasets, and I had to go back to my manuals to remind myself of commands such as require and data, as it was just assumed that you'd know what to do. At one point I was puzzled by reference to a variable 'presidential' which had not been defined, only to find it comes with R. Having said that, there were lots of useful worked examples that gave practical demonstrations of how the ggplot2 commands work.
Also, in fairness, the introduction does say that it assumes some basic familiarity with R. Nevertheless, I felt it would have been good to have been given the commands to ensure you had the relevant data available for the first example - it was a bit offputting to be groping for information at such an early point. This is a common problem, I find: books like this would always benefit from more field trials with the more ignorant end of the intended market to iron out potential points of confusion and broaden the readership(happy to volunteer myself for this role for any future books like this!)
The possibilities for creating graphs are fantastic. You have to learn some 'grammar of graphs', i.e. syntax, in order to get the most out of the package, but, as one who values clear and distinctive presentations of data and has to prepare figures for publication, I think it will be well worth the effort - and will also encourage me in an ongoing process of migrating from other software to R for my statistical analysis. In effect you can store scripts to create customised figures and then easily substitute new data or make other modifications. Better still, you don't have to precompute the statistics you want to plot - they can be derived as part of the plotting syntax.
Compared with Matlab it seems more precise and easy to use (once you know the syntax), though it does not do 3D plots or dynamic plots. Anyone who has tried to place a caption or label in a specific position on a matlab subplot will enjoy the relative simplicity of qqplot2 commands.
In sum, the authors are to be congratulated on their excellent software, which I think deserves 5*. This manual doesn't quite make the 5* for this reader, but is nevertheless is very helpful in getting me up and running to use the software.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing graphics for R, 25 April 2011
By 
Blaise F. Egan "blaisefegan" (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ggplot2: Elegant Graphics for Data Analysis (Use R!) (Paperback)
The graphics that come with the R language are OK, but not great. If you want great graphics you need to get to grips with the Lattice package and also Hadley Wickham's ggplot2. ggplot2 tries to make the production of superb-looking graphics very simple, by good use of defaults and a logical, consistent approach he calls a 'grammar' of graphics. It workss: it produces great graphics in a few simple commands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You got to see my great plots now!!!, 26 Jun. 2010
This review is from: ggplot2: Elegant Graphics for Data Analysis (Use R!) (Paperback)
ggplot2 is a great package. It allows me make plots before took a day in minutes. People may think it is too much a have a whole book just for plotting but this is a great invertion. Easy to read, well organize and a great complement for the documentation on the web.
If you have to make plots on R, you should get this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hard-going, 27 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ggplot2: Elegant Graphics for Data Analysis (Use R!) (Paperback)
It's a good book but I do find that I need to do a lot of referring to other materials to work out what's going on.

I have also bought the other book recommended on the GGPLOT site ("R Graphics Cookbook") so I'll see how they compare...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very friendly and systematic approach to get you working on the powerful ggplot2 engine., 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ggplot2: Elegant Graphics for Data Analysis (Use R!) (Paperback)
Gradually taking the reader from the simple to the more elaborated plot building process, this is a book that most R programmers will enjoy and it will provide them the complete design power that ggplot2 supports.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ggplot2: Elegant Graphics for Data Analysis (Use R!) (Paperback)
Very nicely written book with good intro and all the basics about plotting and layers in ggplot2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

ggplot2: Elegant Graphics for Data Analysis (Use R!)
ggplot2: Elegant Graphics for Data Analysis (Use R!) by Hadley Wickham (Paperback - 5 April 2010)
£46.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews