Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent starting point for novice users, 9 Oct 2009
This review is from: Introductory Statistics with R (Statistics and Computing) (Paperback)
If you are just starting out with R I can recommend this book. The presentation is very clear and concise, concentrating on the basics of getting things done rather than exploring the multitude of options available with every command. As a bonus all the datasets used in the book's examples can be easily downloaded from the R repository (it tells you how in the book), so you can work through them as you read. Although it's a relatively short book, it covers all of statistical analyses in common use, and it keeps the statistical theory to the minimum required to understand the models. I think this is the best introductory book on R I've come across.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a perfect start to R, 28 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introductory Statistics with R (Statistics and Computing) (Paperback)
R is tough at the start, probably for longer than the start. I was completely new to any form of programming or indeed statistics beyond the rudimentary teaching at medical school that noone paid much attention to. However, thrust into a genomic scale PhD i found it almost mandatory to know something about R and statistics to convert data into knowledge. That said, one can try to leave it up to the purer bioinformaticians but its nice to have overlapping abilities and a way of deciphering certain research papers.

This book was my second book in R. The first was Beginning R, in the same series. I think they complement each other quite well but the first book is the weaker of the two, but still a relatively gentle introduction. This book also has excellent introduction chapters that might be enough for the savy given the wealth of additional material for free on the internet anyway.

The structure of this book is logical and whilst not going into statistics in vast amounts of detail the writing is so lucid and crisp that it feels like the information imparted is of a much greater tome.

I think going on an R course whilst reading this and the beginnings book is about the easiest way of entering the world of R. For more brief encounters one could simply just use individual packages without revising the whole of stats/R. Another good book in the series for the genomically orientated is the bioconductor case studies, although they all need modernising into the post-microarray, high throughput sequencing world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book., 27 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introductory Statistics with R (Statistics and Computing) (Paperback)
This book is brilliant. It not only teaches the fundamentals of R but is also a great introduction to statistics. Can thoroughly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent but exercises pitched too high for laymen., 14 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introductory Statistics with R (Statistics and Computing) (Paperback)
Although there is no doubt that this book is an excellent introduction to the R programming language and follows a clear developmental path from the simple to the more complex, it is still quite tough. I had a real problem with the exercises at the end of the chapters which seemed to demand a greater level of knowledge and inference than that which was provided in the previous text (this accounts for the four stars).This was a little frustrating and maybe some more 'hints' could have been provided to make the process easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Introductory Statistics with R, 12 Nov 2010
By 
J. F. Pye (Risca, South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introductory Statistics with R (Statistics and Computing) (Paperback)
Peter Dalgaard has written an excellent book. I read it in conjunction with O'Reilly's R in a Nutshell, and found myself getting into R at speed. It helps to have some knowledge of statistics before starting, but it is not essential.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stats with R, 14 Nov 2010
This review is from: Introductory Statistics with R (Statistics and Computing) (Paperback)
As an MSc student using lots of stats programs, I found R to be the most straight forward. This book allows you to work through and learn how to complete all the tasks you will need, in a simple step-by-step way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best start, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introductory Statistics with R (Statistics and Computing) (Paperback)
I have used R for about 10 years now for my research and I always turn back to this back for reminder on the small (but very important) things I always seems to forget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for beginners, 27 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introductory Statistics with R (Statistics and Computing) (Paperback)
This is a very helpful book that can introduce you to R from scratch. It is very well written and every step is well described. For a very beginner like me it has been a surprise. Very useful book.
Enjoy R!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Introductory Statistics with R (Statistics and Computing)
Introductory Statistics with R (Statistics and Computing) by Peter Dalgaard (Paperback - 15 Aug 2008)
30.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews