Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Common sense, but who listens to that?
Anyone involved in any kind of security should read this book. While the politicians and the hysterical media scream about face recognition, and other security panaceas, Bruce Schneier explains simply and logically why it doesn't work and proposes much simpler and more effective measures.
Take face recognition as an example. Even a system claiming 99.9% accuracy...
Published on 4 Nov 2004 by Hibernia

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well written, but where are the references?
Bruce Schneier always writes about his subject with clarity and common sense. This book is no exception, it's an intelligent review of 21st century security for the man in the mall.
My biggest criticism is that, for a work of non-fiction, there is not a single reference to his sources. Similar works, such as "Security Engineering" by Ross Anderson, cite every...
Published on 5 Mar 2005 by Symbianist


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Common sense, but who listens to that?, 4 Nov 2004
By 
Hibernia (Cork, County Cork Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Fear: Thinking Sensibly About Security in an Uncertain World (Hardcover)
Anyone involved in any kind of security should read this book. While the politicians and the hysterical media scream about face recognition, and other security panaceas, Bruce Schneier explains simply and logically why it doesn't work and proposes much simpler and more effective measures.
Take face recognition as an example. Even a system claiming 99.9% accuracy (which none are) will still fail 1 in 1000 times. How many times would it fail when used on football crowd? Or at an airport? How are the police better off when they have to deal with dozens of false positives from the most perfect system? What is the point of a system which requires every face to be logged in a database when terrorists are so sparse to begin with (and not necessarily in the database)? Obviously it's ridiculous, but this doesn't stop people claiming such nonsense will prevent another 9/11 or whatever.
Instead he advocates human intelligence - security guards who are trained to recognize signs that people are behaving oddly (or 'hinky' as one officer described a terrorist caught smuggling a bomb). This and common sense security based upon risk assessment. As one of the world's leading experts on security, his is a voice that should be listened to. Unlike his crypto books, there is no an equations to be found here. Instead he highlights his points with real world examples and analogy. This tends to become a little tiresome in places, but the point is well made.
It's too bad that someone as informed as Schneier isn't in charge of policy. Otherwise we might be in a world where money would be spent on systems which actually protect us, rather than offer faux security and inconvenience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of very useful practical advice – and don't panic, 21 Jan 2004
By 
Keith Appleyard "kapple999" (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beyond Fear: Thinking Sensibly About Security in an Uncertain World (Hardcover)
Not quite what I'd expected. I'd read & enjoyed 'Secrets & Lies', and I thought this would be more of the same. This book is really a discussion about what actions have been taken post 9/11, and in parts it's a criticism of the overreaction that there has been.
However, its not overtly political, and gives dozens (perhaps a 100) practical worked examples of good & bad, effective & ineffective, responses to security issues, whether it be physical, electronic etc.
There is a 5-step process which I found useful to apply to everyday situations; and (in highly abbreviated form) these are : what are you trying to protect; what are the risks; risk mitigation; risks caused by the solution; trade-offs
The core message is : "as both individuals and a society, we can make choices about our security", and this book helps you understand how to make those informed decisions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Security or Liberty? Both!, 10 Jan 2004
By 
takingadayoff "takingadayoff" (Las Vegas, Nevada) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Beyond Fear: Thinking Sensibly About Security in an Uncertain World (Hardcover)
I first read about Bruce Schneier in an eye-opening article by Charles Mann in the September, 2002 issue of The Atlantic Monthly. It seems that you don't have to make the false choice everyone is agonizing over between security and liberty. You can have both.
Schneier's book expands on the ideas in the article. Although Schneier is a technology fan and it is his livelihood, he realizes that sometimes a live security guard can provide better security than cutting-edge (but still fallible) face-recognition scanners, for instance. He explains why national ID cards are not a good idea, and how iris-scanners can be fooled.
These are ideas for security on a large scale, for airports, nuclear and other power plants, and government websites. For security on an individual or small business scale, try Art of the Steal by Frank Abagnale. But even if you don't run a government, Beyond Fear is a fascinating read about how your government is making choices (and how they SHOULD be making choices about your security and about your rights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Getting the balance right, 13 May 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Fear: Thinking Sensibly About Security in an Uncertain World (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book overall. The author is no hardline libertarian, for sure; he does accept intrusions by the state in the name of security that I might object to, but what is so impressive about the book is the measured, rational way he goes about showing the pros and cons of security measures. It is the sort of book that policymakers here in London would do well to study. A fine antidote to hysteria and complacency in equal measure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well written, but where are the references?, 5 Mar 2005
This review is from: Beyond Fear: Thinking Sensibly About Security in an Uncertain World (Hardcover)
Bruce Schneier always writes about his subject with clarity and common sense. This book is no exception, it's an intelligent review of 21st century security for the man in the mall.
My biggest criticism is that, for a work of non-fiction, there is not a single reference to his sources. Similar works, such as "Security Engineering" by Ross Anderson, cite every reference they used. This book isn't an academic work, of course, but I would still have liked to follow up on the facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great follow up, 21 Nov 2010
By 
Mole "Mole" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Fear: Thinking Sensibly About Security in an Uncertain World (Hardcover)
Having read "Secrets & Lies" by the same author a few years before, I was interested to see what else he had to say. Bruce Schneier is a leading thnker in the world of security and is able to make the topic interesting and relevant to people that otherwise might find it quite dull.

In this book, he also looks at many aspects of physical security, and in particular the way that security is being implemented in the modern world. He is highly critical of many security measures and explains in precise detail why they are so ineffective; and why we should still not be that concerned about this, except for the extra cost burden it places on us.

I would strongly advise that if you are involved in physical or digital security in any way, that you should have a copy of this book and that you should re-read it from time to time. Even if it is not a primary part of your job, you may well find it of value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Learn from Guru in Basic Terms, 11 Mar 2010
By 
Mehmet Suzen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beyond Fear: Thinking Sensibly About Security in an Uncertain World (Hardcover)
This book is a definite starting point for any one who wants to
understand the concepts of security, defense and risk. It will
also help to overcome many misconceptions lying around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Excellence from Bruce Schneier, 18 Jun 2009
This review is from: Beyond Fear: Thinking Sensibly About Security in an Uncertain World (Hardcover)
Once again Bruce Schneier takes a rather complex challenging subject and dissects it in his usual approach with a constructively critical review of security in our globalised society.

You can read what fear is, defined in an honest and sometimes disarming manner, also our approach to risk management and terorism mitigation.

Schneier has an interesting approach to threat modelling.

I have to admit I have been a fan of Schneier since reading "Secrets and Lies".

You dont have to be an infosec enthusiast to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Sep 2014
By 
M. E. Jones "Mary Eleanor" (Surrey,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Fear: Thinking Sensibly About Security in an Uncertain World (Hardcover)
A good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beyond Fear: Thinking Sensibly About Security in an Uncertain World
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews