Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please Kate Brown write the next one
My daughter is writing a letter to the author and we'll send it soon.

She wants to say "Dear Kate Brown, I loved your book and love your imagination. Please can you write another one. My father says he will buy it for me. I want to know what's going to happen next."

What an endorsement, eh?
Published on 20 Jan 2011 by Mr. Nadim Bakhshov

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful but much too short
Fascinating and beautifully drawn fantasy but much too short! Bekka is a young girl, a diver with webbed hands who collects oil-bearing sea urchins which her community trade with the bird folk, the ruling elite. When her mother, a village elder, is arrested for failing to trade with the oil company Bekka and her mentor Kaye go after them.
Published on 16 Oct 2010 by Jo Bennie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please Kate Brown write the next one, 20 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. Nadim Bakhshov "Nadim Bakhshov" (Bloomsbury, London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Spider Moon: Book 1 (DFC Library) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My daughter is writing a letter to the author and we'll send it soon.

She wants to say "Dear Kate Brown, I loved your book and love your imagination. Please can you write another one. My father says he will buy it for me. I want to know what's going to happen next."

What an endorsement, eh?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Illustrated, 19 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spider Moon: Book 1 (DFC Library) (Hardcover)
I spotted this book while in a children's bookshop and it really stood out to me, lovely illustrations, great looking book. Finally got a hold of it and I think the plotline is very engaging and hopefully more will be produced.
I don't think the manga/japanese animation influence is particularly strong, the hairstyle could be and the title spider moon (akin to sailor moon) but beyond that it seems quite western.
The plot is original and Bekka having webbed hands reminds me of waterworld, combined with the potential apocalypse that is coming. The way it's drawn and the dialogue is presented is very concise and it feels like you're watching an animated film of the story. Please make more Kate Brown!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Illustrated and Moving Storyline, 17 Nov 2010
By 
H. Pierce (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Spider Moon: Book 1 (DFC Library) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The fine artwork that Kate Brown has put into this graphic novel is truly delightful. The book is full of unusual and detailed ideas that bring this fantasy world to life in all it's glory, with an apparent wealth of background information that underpins the whole premise of the story. The lead character, Bekka, is likely to appeal to readers young and old with her determination that she too will help in the fight against what has been prophesised; the impending doom of their world.

The story shows a lot of promise for future works as The Spider Moon is titled 'Book 1', promising of more to come. It is fast-moving and engages the reader swiftly. It also has an interesting section at the end that takes the reader through a process of how to create such artwork as is demonstrated throughout.

Dramatic, interesting, and beautifully illustrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gentle but fast paced manga, 10 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: The Spider Moon: Book 1 (DFC Library) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I gave this to this thirteen year old son of a friend who has recently gone manga-mad, and he absolutely loved it. It is action packed and a tremendous amount happens within the very short book. There is adventure and danger, but nothing overly shocking or graphic to put off younger readers. Would recommend this to those new to manga or to manga readers aged about 12-14.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Graphic Novel (or Manga?), 16 Jun 2010
By 
Marco Rossini "Marco" (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Spider Moon: Book 1 (DFC Library) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Good Graphic Novel (or Manga?),

As others say, it's true that the story doesn't quite finish at the end of this volume, but that's normal! If you're familiar with Japanese manga comics, you encounter some series goes as far as something like Vol.70, and the enthusiasts have been following the story for years!

Speaking of Japanese manga, I can see a lot of Japanese influence in this book (graphic novel - is it how it's called nowadays?) such as in the expressions in the faces and background drawings etc. Compared to comics or cartoons from 20 years ago, you can clearly see how much it has been 'Japanised' now.

I think it's silly to hold an old & stereotypical view, such as 'Reading comics is an uneducated thing', as the manga has become accepted not only as the pop culture of Japan but as one of the methods to convey knowledge and imagination to the readers, as young people, especially teenagers, seem to spend far less time on reading.

It's a good quality hard-back book and I like it a lot! I have no hesitation to recommend it to young readers or adults!

Hope you agree with me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For Manga Fans, 7 Aug 2010
By 
D. Pearce "djarmhp" (rainham, kent) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Spider Moon: Book 1 (DFC Library) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I got this book for my two sons, both huge Manga fans. They both finished the book at a gallop and wanted to know when the next installment was out. That has to be a measure of success for any book hence the high mark. Both of them said that the first section was fairly dull but once the story got going they were really gripped. Encouraged by this I read it myself but found it unengaging, but then again I'm not a manga fan. For anyone who is this appears to be a good buy. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the stars are falling down tonight, 7 Aug 2010
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Spider Moon: Book 1 (DFC Library) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A graphic novel aimed at younger readers. Ideally eight and up but it can be enjoyed by those who are a lot older.

It runs for seventy eight pages and is the story of Bekka, young girl who lives in a world rather unlike our own. A world where her people live near the sea and dive for things. They have webbed hands and lungs that are capable of holding breath for a long time. There are also people with wings in their world, who live nearby and tend to look down on Bekka's folk. Neither group are very happy though because every night, the stars fall. A huge skyship is being built which should carry everyone to safety. Or so they're told.

We soon discover there's more to Bekka than meets the eye and she might have a hidden destiny. When the bird people come to visit and take some of her folk away she and an elder girl called Kay follow. And that's just the start of their adventures.

Literally. Because this is volume on in a series and the book ends with the words to be continued.

But there are many delights to be had before that point. Bekka is quite an amiable character and that makes her a rather likeable heroine. The writing does an excellent job of what they call world building, which means creating a setting unlike our own. Not just giving a place and the people strange names, really coming up with a whole new society and considering the details of how it works.

The art and colouring are rather nice, and they do suit the style of the story very well.

The book ends with a short section detailing the characters and a note from the writer explaining how some of it was put together.

Hugely entertaining reading. And like all good stories it leaves you wanting to know what will happen next. I look forward to volume two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful but much too short, 16 Oct 2010
By 
Jo Bennie (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Spider Moon: Book 1 (DFC Library) (Hardcover)
Fascinating and beautifully drawn fantasy but much too short! Bekka is a young girl, a diver with webbed hands who collects oil-bearing sea urchins which her community trade with the bird folk, the ruling elite. When her mother, a village elder, is arrested for failing to trade with the oil company Bekka and her mentor Kaye go after them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good first episode of a story with beautiful illustrations., 29 July 2010
By 
debbie8355 (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Spider Moon: Book 1 (DFC Library) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This reads like a beautiful large hardback comic. It ends on a suitable cliffhanger and I would buy the next in the series for my children on the strength of this, especially for my 8 and 10 year old who have grown out of the 'Annuals' relatives still buy them for Christmas. I will be pointing family at this DFC series instead. However the immediate reason I can't give it more than four stars is the RRP. It's a hefty investment for a comic book series. I can't even tell from Amazon how many books are going to be in this Spider Moon series or even if/when they are going to be published.
The artwork is amazing, really detailed and flows really well. The dialogue is also easy to follow and is fairly unobtrusive to the fantasy picture storyline. In this book Spider Moon is under threat from the sky falling but their is hope in the shape of a floating isle spaceship but something is wrong... Young diver heroine Bekka and her crustacean pet follow Bekkas mother who has been taken away by the ruling winged tribe for questioning...
OK I've changed my mind mid review. This a quality hardback comic which will last forever and is worth the price. I've looked at some other DFC titles and will be ordering them. You're never too old for excellent comics and great illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for pre-teens, 27 Aug 2010
By 
Jessie (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Spider Moon: Book 1 (DFC Library) (Hardcover)
This is a great graphic novel, all the action and thrills that you need. I would recommend this for 10+ age group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Spider Moon: Book 1 (DFC Library)
The Spider Moon: Book 1 (DFC Library) by Kate Brown (Hardcover - 29 April 2010)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews