Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


176 of 186 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Joyous but short
First things first, let's get the rating out of the way. I give this book four stars simply because it isn't long enough. And I was a little disappointed when I'd finished it because I just didn't want it to stop. Perhaps that's a sign of how good the book actually is.

But to take off that star, one has to consider the reasons why it deserved the full five in...
Published on 2 April 2008 by ds

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What might have been....
This is the second spin-off from His Dark Materials, and follows the hugely underwhelming Lyra's Oxford.

First, the good news. This is longer than Lyra's Oxford and is a cracking good prequel about the first time Lee Scoresby and Iorek Byrnison met. The story hits the ground running with action from the start, a tale of corruption, and a shady character from...
Published on 2 Jun 2008 by C. B. Baker


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

176 of 186 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Joyous but short, 2 April 2008
By 
ds (Whitby, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once Upon a Time in the North (His Dark Materials) (Hardcover)
First things first, let's get the rating out of the way. I give this book four stars simply because it isn't long enough. And I was a little disappointed when I'd finished it because I just didn't want it to stop. Perhaps that's a sign of how good the book actually is.

But to take off that star, one has to consider the reasons why it deserved the full five in the first place. The title should give things away just a little; this is essentially a western short story. And a rollicking good one too, because this is the tale of how Lee Scoresby the aeronaut and the bear Iorek Byrnison first met. The events take place a full thirty-five years before the climax of His Dark Materials Boxed set (His Dark Materials), when Lee is but a young man of 24 and newly introduced to the balloon he has recently won in a poker game. As a result his flying is best described as inexpert.

So it is that Lee (and his daemon Hester) arrive in the town of Novy Odense and become involved in a stand-off between a put-upon sailor named van Berda and the power of corporate privilege. After meeting a shady figure from his past, Lee decides he must choose a side, which is how he comes across Iorek.

As you'd expect from something written by Pullman, the story reads with an effortless grace and is beautifully and finely observed and constructed. The extras, like Lyra's Oxford before it are in turn intriguing and useful, including documents and artefacts connected to the narrative itself, as well as a board game, 'Peril At The Pole'.

The last couple of pages are especially curious and relate to Lyra and her correspondence with a minor character from book one.

As with Lyra's Oxford, the slight disappointment is that there isn't more to read but it seems as if, for the moment, this is the way Pullman will realise this world: in fits and starts, and I suppose this is better by far than nothing at all.

An essential purchase for fans of His Dark Materials.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and disappointing, 3 Jun 2008
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once Upon a Time in the North (His Dark Materials) (Hardcover)
Let's get this straight. The His Dark Materials trilogy is one of the best things in literature and wipes the floor with Harry Potter (much as I enjoy them). This is the second in a series of spin off books which are short stories using the original characters. The first, Lyra's Oxford deals with the heroine, Lyra Silvertongue. The second, this book, deals with a prequel in which we find out how the aeronaut Lee Scoresby and the bear king, Iorek Byrnison first meet each other.

The writing is crisp, dark and funny/sad, just as in the original books and the woodcuts, the game and all the additional letters etc, make this cloth bound, pocket sized book a thing of great beauty and a needful addition to any bookshelf. The characterisation is excellent, and these are two of the best characters in the trilogy to meet again.

So, why disappointing? Because it is too short. Because there has been nothing in the way of a real meaty adventure issuing forth from Pullman's pen for too long, and because I'm greedy and I want more. Pull your finger out Philip, there's a dear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Size Isn't Everything, 22 April 2008
This review is from: Once Upon a Time in the North (His Dark Materials) (Hardcover)
Those that have read Pullman's trilogy will find this book an interesting expansion upon the character of Lee Scoresby; how he became an aeronaut and how he met Iorek Byrinson. It is the size of a child's storybook, perhaps two chapters' worth of a normal novel - so you will finish this within a couple of hours. As a stand-alone novel I wasn't left satisfied: it would be better included as an appendix text or supplement to a reprint of the trilogy. It's also very expensive in the shops for what you're getting - the price here is more realistic. Nevertheless, a nice supplement for collectors and fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delight for any His Dark Materials fan, 12 April 2008
By 
J. Takata (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Once Upon a Time in the North (His Dark Materials) (Hardcover)
What a joy this book was to behold!

"Once Upon a Time in the North" has the feel of a Cowboy Western story set in the Arctic (perhaps in homage to Sergio Leone's "Once Upon A Time In The West"). It tells the tale of how the 23-year-old Lee Scoresby (already equipped with his unique charisma we have come to love) first encountered his life companion Iorek Byrnison. As an ardent fan of His Dark Materials, it was delightful to notice some happenings here and there that later formed details in the main trilogy - such as the circumstances in which Lee took Iorek onto his balloon, or how he acquired his balloon and rifle. At the end, we also get the briefest of insights into what Lyra is up to after her adventure, which was a nice touch and lures us to further speculation.

The presentation and layout of this novella can also only be described as a delight. The cloth-backed cover and the engraved illustrations are striking, reminiscent of a regal and deluxe 19th Century collectors' edition; meanwhile the fold-out board game and other snippets of authentic-looking media tickle your imagination. It's a type of book where you cannot help but feel tenderness and love for.

Pullman's writing here is once again masterful: there are passages of flowing description, juxtaposed with tension and a quick unfolding of events. Not one word seems unnecessary or out of place. While people may say it was not long enough, I believe that the book's compactness and self-containedness makes the reading of this book a far more fulfilling experience than "Lyra's Oxford" (which at times felt loosely constructed and meandering). It is not intending to be the fourth book in the trilogy and should not be treated as such; rather, it is simply a small treat to enrich our knowledge of Lyra's remarkable world.

While we eagerly await Pullman's meatier and more substantial "The Book of Dust", "Once Upon a Time in the North" is a superb 'snack' to keep us going. If you are a His Dark Materials fan, do not hesitate to buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a nice little extra, 9 July 2008
This review is from: Once Upon a Time in the North (His Dark Materials) (Hardcover)
As a huge fan of Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials trilogy, I am quite prepared to read anything else from that universe he is kind enough to write for us. Once Upon A Time In The North is no exception - of course I'd have liked it to be longer, but then I could read these characters forever and never be bored. It's quite obvious when you see the book that it's short, and it doesn't get longer simply because you're enjoying it! I often think, however, that short stories are more difficult to write than novels, and I appreciate the hard work and talent that has gone into producing such a lovely little book.

The hard cover, the beautiful illustrations, the wonderful boardgame tucked away inside the back cover... this all enhances the work, and also it's the way more books should be produced, with obvious care and attention. It's a book you could keep forever and pass down to children, grandchildren, and they would enjoy it as much as you did.

This is because Pullman's tales are timeless. They are full of adventure, fun, loyalty, friendship, intelligence - qualities that just don't date. The story here is no exception. It tells of the first meeting between Lee Scoresby, the Texan aeronaut (and one of my favourite trilogy characters!) and Iorek Byrnison, the armoured bear. Pullman's gently descriptive writing coupled with the reader's imagination brings these two allies to life in ways films can't. I loved the Wild West theme and all of the motifs that go with it: the pretty girl, the gun-slinging showdown, and Hester (Lee's daemon) provides an excellent witty companion.

Yes, the story is short, but it's action-packed and interesting, and I would recommend it to anyone who has previously enjoyed the trilogy. If you're new to Philip Pullman, I'd read those novels first, but this stands alone in its own right as a great example of first-class writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest storyteller of our time!, 30 April 2008
By 
H. Leigh-Phippard (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Once Upon a Time in the North (His Dark Materials) (Hardcover)
If you ever doubted that Philip Pullman is the greatest storyteller of our time, here's the book to assuage those doubts. This tale of the first meeting of Lee Scoresby between Iorek Byrnison combines adventure, mystery, excitement and humour in one delicious package. Like the other reviewers my only complaint is that I was left wanting much, much more. Having said that, it is the brevity of the story that proves to my mind why Pullman is such a great teller of tales. This is a book for children and adults alike, and while you could read it to your children in the course of a rainy afternoon, you will return to it again and again when your children are in bed to enjoy time and again the richness of the descriptions and the humour of the dialogue and to delight in Lee's relationship with his daemon Hester.
The board game that is included with the book is another treasure which subverts traditional board games in that it is the "loser" of the balloon race (i.e the last player to reach the centre) who actually wins!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great little adventure, for fans and newcomers alike., 2 Jun 2008
By 
Andromeda Descendent (Tarn Vedra) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once Upon a Time in the North (His Dark Materials) (Hardcover)
After the slightly disappointing Lyra's Oxford, Once Upon A Time In The North came as a great relief to me. It was as if Philip Pullman had learned from his last short story from the His Dark Materials universe all the lessons he needed to in order to make this second spin-off the perfect gift for any fan of the trilogy, people who have only seen the film, and even any adult or child who has never even heard of Lee Scoresby or Iorek Byrnison before.

Serving as a companion or even introduction piece to His Dark Materials, the short story part of the book (there are other surprises, though if you have read the product description you probably know what they are by now) is a genuinely exciting account of Lee's (and, of course, Hester's) first meeting with sentient and honourable Polar Bear Iorek Byrnison. What makes this exciting is that both were already fully fleshed out characters, and firm friends, in the novels, yet the details of their first meeting were never revelled - until, of course, now.

I honestly have never read a short story I enjoyed more than this one. Whether that was influenced by my already existing love of the characters, I don't know - but the story was gripping from start to finish.

As for length - I felt it was exactly the right length for a good short story. As someone who has written a number of short stories as a hobby, I know that that is something it is very difficult to get right.

If you are a fan of the series, there's also a nice twist waiting for you in the supplementary material at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What might have been...., 2 Jun 2008
This review is from: Once Upon a Time in the North (His Dark Materials) (Hardcover)
This is the second spin-off from His Dark Materials, and follows the hugely underwhelming Lyra's Oxford.

First, the good news. This is longer than Lyra's Oxford and is a cracking good prequel about the first time Lee Scoresby and Iorek Byrnison met. The story hits the ground running with action from the start, a tale of corruption, and a shady character from Scoresby's past.

Now, the bad news. The book does not even reach 100 pages, and includes a free game. As with the previous shorter than short story, it's as if Pullman is compensating the reader for lack of content, a carrot that will not please his older readers.

I have given this one more star than Lyra's Oxford, because there is a very good story in here. Trouble is, it could have been so much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I hoped, 5 Jun 2008
By 
Thrud Fan (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once Upon a Time in the North (His Dark Materials) (Hardcover)
It's too short.
It doesn't tell you much more about the dark materials universe.
It's just a straight forward story the two main characters meet and sort out a problem and that's it.
You get a bit more of an insight into Lee Scoresby the aeronaut but nothing of Iorek Byrnison which would have made the book far more interesting.
If you want a really good Pullman adventure story read the Sally Lockhart books first.
The game at the back is good fun but I didn't get the book for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How Lee and Iorek became friends, 8 April 2009
By 
M. Black (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once Upon a Time in the North (His Dark Materials) (Hardcover)
I enjoyed this more than 'Lyra's Oxford' because it has more depth and complexity of plot and character. I think it is an excellent addition to the Dark Materials trilogy especially in the back story it gives to Lee Scoresby and the explanation of his friendship with Iorek.There is a great map of the area with the game,the usual 'extras'in the form of letters, certificates etc.to add veracity and not least superb engravings. I loved the ones of Hester!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Once Upon a Time in the North (His Dark Materials)
Once Upon a Time in the North (His Dark Materials) by Philip Pullman (Hardcover - 3 April 2008)
£12.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews