Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars White Corridor - a superb book
"White Corridor" by Christopher Fowler carries the Bryant & May series to a further level. It is, of course, a page turner, and I found I had to put it down to avoid the disappointment of reading it all in one go. Two major crime themes are cleverly interwoven against the background of Bryant and May being away from London and their Peculiar Crimes Unit. It keeps the...
Published on 17 Nov 2007 by Nick Hackney

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yawn, yawn....
I must be really hard to please but this book left me somewhat nonplussed. I expected a cracking read and found a story that was convoluted and not at all convincing. It took me ages to finish as I mostly read two or three very short chapters before dropping the novel as my interest kept flagging.I remained totally unengaged throughout with the slight exception of...
Published 13 months ago by H. Lacroix


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars White Corridor - a superb book, 17 Nov 2007
This review is from: White Corridor (Hardcover)
"White Corridor" by Christopher Fowler carries the Bryant & May series to a further level. It is, of course, a page turner, and I found I had to put it down to avoid the disappointment of reading it all in one go. Two major crime themes are cleverly interwoven against the background of Bryant and May being away from London and their Peculiar Crimes Unit. It keeps the great English detective novel genre fully alive. I think these novels are destined to last and to be read for years. There are complex turns and surprises in the plots, and the clever use of the "White Corridor" both in the mind of the young french suspect, and the great snow that ensnares Bryant and May. Oh - just go ahead and get it and read it!

Reviewed by Nick Hackney
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another cracker!!!!!, 2 July 2007
This review is from: White Corridor (Hardcover)
The Bryant and May series blend the nostalgia of the golden age mystery story with the darkness and horrific elements that have been an element of Christopher Fowler's previous books and short stories.

The plot is described above so I won't recap, but this novel contains the humour and great characterisation that is an integral part of the other books in the series. Fans of Bryant & May will love it, as will horror/suspense and mystery readers.

Another classic (probably my favourite so far)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite authors, so this review could be biased!, 15 Sep 2007
By 
Sarah Durston (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Corridor (Hardcover)
'The White Corridor' is the latest instalment in the Bryant and May series following 'Full Dark House', 'The Water Room', 'Seventy-seven Clocks' and 'Ten Second Staircase.'

Following the successful capture of The Highwayman plans are still afoot to shut down the Peculiar Crimes Unit, and prevent any more embarrassing press coverage. Bryant and May set off for Devon to attend a Spiritualist Conference and have a well-earned break. Whilst they're on their way they get caught in severe weather conditions and back at the unit one of the team is murdered. DS Janet Longbright is acting Head of the department and has to use everything she has learned from the elderly detectives in order to exonerate the other officers at the unit.

'The White Corridor' is different to the other Bryant and May novels in that it does not take place in London, which for some readers might detract from it's appeal. It is worth persevering though, because this is a real cracker!

Bryant is his usual self; 'He's only alive because it's illegal to kill him'!

As usual, brilliant. If you haven't read the other Bryant and May novels, it might be better to start at the beginning, so that you really understand the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite authors, so this review could be biased!, 13 July 2008
By 
Sarah Durston (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
'The White Corridor' is the latest instalment in the Bryant and May series following 'Full Dark House', 'The Water Room', 'Seventy-seven Clocks' and 'Ten Second Staircase.'

Following the successful capture of The Highwayman plans are still afoot to shut down the Peculiar Crimes Unit, and prevent any more embarrassing press coverage. Bryant and May set off for Devon to attend a Spiritualist Conference and have a well-earned break. Whilst they're on their way they get caught in severe weather conditions and back at the unit one of the team is murdered. DS Janet Longbright is acting Head of the department and has to use everything she has learned from the elderly detectives in order to exonerate the other officers at the unit.

'The White Corridor' is different to the other Bryant and May novels in that it does not take place in London, which for some readers might detract from it's appeal. It is worth persevering though, because this is a real cracker!

Bryant is his usual self; 'He's only alive because it's illegal to kill him'!

As usual, brilliant. If you haven't read the other Bryant and May novels, it might be better to start at the beginning, so that you really understand the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Humour, London history, some acerbic social insights, and a ripping yarn, 26 Mar 2014
By 
This is the second book I have read by Christopher Fowler and both have been from his Bryant & May series.

Arthur Bryant and John May are Golden Age Detectives in a modern world. They head the Peculiar Crimes Unit (PCU), London's most venerable specialist police team, a division founded during the Second World War to investigate cases that could cause national scandal or public unrest.

It's an unusual and original set up, two crimes have to be solved and these are cleverly interwoven whilst Bryant and May are trapped far from London and their colleagues at the PCU. White Corridor contains more of Christopher Fowler's trademark humour, London history, some acerbic social insights, and a ripping yarn that gets progressively more compelling and exciting.

4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snow sleuths like 'em, 29 Dec 2009
By 
Quicksilver (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you haven't read any of the Bryant and May books before, then don't start here. Start with Full Dark House or maybe The Water Room (FDH is the first chronologically, but TWR will have you hooked on Fowler forever). I'm envious, as you have four beautifully constructed and idiosyncratic crime novels to read before you even make it to this one.

If you have read the previous four B&M books then you will be pleased to know that 'White Corridors' is as well constructed and idiosyncratic as what has gone before. This time, Fowler serves up two parallel mysteries for the Peculiar Crimes Unit to solve - one, a perfect locked room mystery, the other, a hunt for a sadistic serial killer. If that wasn't enough, Bryant and May are trapped in a snowdrift, hundreds of miles from the Unit.

Like the previous books 'White Corridors' is a wonderful blend of detection, superstition and mysticism, and again the plot's resolution makes perfect sense. Bryant's deductive leaps, made from snowbound Devonshire are perhaps a little implausible, but this is easy to forgive - 'White Corridors' is both riotous fun and a thrilling page-turner. Originally there were only supposed to be six Bryant and Novels, but I notice that there are now to be at least eight. Long live the PCU!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
By 
E. M. Wlkinson (Nantwich, Cheshire, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am an officionado of this genre. This does not let down. Nor does the service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As usual excellent story and has characters you care about. You can really enjoy the book from start to finish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best one so far, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed this one. Not quite so obscure as some of the earlier books. The writing is excellent. Humorous subtle and thoroughly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another superb Bryant and May, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I stumbled across this series of books and am avidly reading them all. This one is great, taking the detectives out of their usual location of London into snowbound Devon. The interweaving of two stories is handled with Fowlers usual style, lots of interesting facts, humorous asides and building of tension as it reaches it's conclusion. I really enjoyed this book, though it made me feel very cold at times with all the snow!! One of his best I think and would recommend this book. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

White Corridor
White Corridor by Christopher Fowler (Hardcover - 2 July 2007)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews