Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it ...
... and I'm not sure why. Whether it's the background to the discworld, the extra information or the fact that it's taking the mickey out of the annual almanac which is on sale every Christmas (like a diary).

I was given one of the 'proper' almanacs once and I would sooner the Discworld one - it makes more sense !

There was no diary published for...
Published on 17 Feb 2008 by Su

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a lot to it.
Amusing but not much there. I worked my way through it in half an hour and doubt that I will open it again
Published 16 months ago by Grumpy old man


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it ..., 17 Feb 2008
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Discworld Almanak : The Year of the Prawn (Hardcover)
... and I'm not sure why. Whether it's the background to the discworld, the extra information or the fact that it's taking the mickey out of the annual almanac which is on sale every Christmas (like a diary).

I was given one of the 'proper' almanacs once and I would sooner the Discworld one - it makes more sense !

There was no diary published for 2005/2006 and most people see this book as being published instead of the annual diary, which was a bit of a shame as many people (myself included) were expecting a diary as usual. But please don't judge it against the diaries, judge it as a new add-on book instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant addition, 1 Nov 2004
This review is from: The Discworld Almanak : The Year of the Prawn (Hardcover)
One of the joys of reading discworld is the sense of completeness, you get not only stories but background information and quite litterally another world. this book is one of a long line of supporting acts to the novels themselves, it is to be taken as something to dip in and out of and as such works very well. It is absolutely beautifully presented and contains many many in-jokes and escapades as well as offering its own elements to enrich the discworld further. it is great fun and i have enjoyed it emmensly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Discworld Almanak : The Year of the Prawn (Hardcover)
Brilliant - as expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great addition to the Discworld family :-D, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Discworld Almanak : The Year of the Prawn (Hardcover)
Enjoyed reading this. Great pieces/ articles. Adds another layer to the Discworld world/ fantasy. Some very funny moments. Hardback - good quality book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not a lot to it., 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Discworld Almanak : The Year of the Prawn (Hardcover)
Amusing but not much there. I worked my way through it in half an hour and doubt that I will open it again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Too small - Need more, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Discworld Almanak : The Year of the Prawn (Hardcover)
According to the Discworld, each years Almanak edition was a much celebrated and useful book. and not just for reading...

I enjoyed reading it, but I was hoping for more material into this book, to justify the description of its uses inside the novels. Of course, I have not tried any of the alternative applications of its pages...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful Information, 24 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Discworld Almanak : The Year of the Prawn (Hardcover)
This volume contains all the information you would need to plan your year whether you work on the land (particularly with cabbages) or in some other line of business. The paper is also thin and there is a handy hole marked so the string can be added later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 64 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kind of Disappointing, 18 Oct 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Discworld Almanak : The Year of the Prawn (Hardcover)
Well if you're a huge Terry Pratchett fan you'll probably end up buying this book, but before you do I just want to say that this is the most disappointing Diskworld item I have bought to date.
It is vaguely amusing in places but nowhere near as funny as these offerings usually are (The diaries that have been produced for the last few years were much better).
There is also in my opinion just slightly too much about cabbages, but then maybe that's just me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 1 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Discworld Almanak : The Year of the Prawn (Hardcover)
Not what I expected and disappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Discworld Almanak : The Year of the Prawn (Hardcover)
Brilliant, typical Pratchett
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Discworld Almanak : The Year of the Prawn
The Discworld Almanak : The Year of the Prawn by Bernard Pearson (Hardcover - 1 Oct 2004)
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews