Customer Reviews


233 Reviews
5 star:
 (104)
4 star:
 (79)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The meaning of our lives/relationships
I found this story original, thought-provoking and with an underlying message of love, loss and how tedious the petty things in life can be and how they can escalate and destroy the more valuable things in our lives. Thoroughly enjoyable read and sadly it flew by so quickly. I laughed, cried and laughed some more. Great stuff !!!
Published 14 months ago by Richard

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Memories
The story was ok although it's not my favourite book by this author. It did leave me wondering what it would be like to forget your life, in one way terrifying but in another way a great opportunity to reinvent yourself.
Published 19 months ago by Sian


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good book.. Although I was a little disappointed with the ending, but it is still worth a read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A little predictable at the end hence only 4 stars, but still a good read, quite funny and moving at the same time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars LOL, 8 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a laugh out loud book for me. The humour came not only from the excellent writing but also from the situation. Yes,the scenario is a bit unbelievable but for anyone who has gone through the divorce situation with kids and then thinks "what if...?" then this book is a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mars and Venus, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent fun read, perfect for holiday reading or to give to someone who is under par and needs something light. The plot is brilliant and the characters superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good entertainment, 6 Dec 2012
This is a light easy book to read. It had some great laugh out moments (one lady on the train asked me what book I was reading I was laughing so much) but also gives some insight to a relationship stuck in a rut - the idea that if you forgot all the strife and saw your partner again as if for the first time how would you feel about them.
At times predictable - the sort of book you can see being made into a Hugh grant movie (bumbling Englishman professing his undying love) - it was an endearing enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A little far fetched, 1 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book however did find some aspects of it a little far fetched and silly which spoilt it slightly for me. Still a very enjoyable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FUNNY, 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I just love John O Farrell's style and sense of humour just my cup of tea....laughed loads while reading.
Well worth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Light-hearted brain candy, 20 Nov 2012
By 
H. K. Cecil "helseykc" (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had been reading a book that I had to give up half way through as I was so utterly bored and decided that life was just too short. I downloaded this one for my kindle as it was the cheapest in my list of books-to-read. It was a breath of fresh air. While the 51% of the previous book had taken me weeeeeeeks to read, this one took just a few days as it was quite un-put-down-able!
It's amusing--I did indeed LOL in a couple of places--and quite heart warming.
So if you need a quick, easy read that isn't going to change your life but is going to give your brain and eyes some happy-time, give it a whirl :) I shall be downloading some more John O'Farrells in the future...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is a true thing that can happen but this is obviously a story only, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed it and lots of funny things in it. Makes you think that people should not let their relationships go this far but should work harder on giving each other time - they say you should take in turns to arrange a 'date' with each other at least once a week if possible - a book to enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny, touching and thought-provoking, 31 Oct 2012
By 
Cloudwatcher (East Anglia, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Funny? Well I didn't laugh out loud but a chuckle escaped now and then.
Touching? Vaughan's attempts at courting his soon-to-be-ex-wife, who he has discovered he is madly in love with, are touching indeed.
Sad? When you can see that just as he'd won her over he was going to risk losing her all over again by being honest and you so wanted him to keep his mouth shut because you could see what was going to happen, what her reaction would be.
Thought-provoking? The idea that anyone could suffer a 'psychogenic fugue' in which their past life is suddenly gone, they have no memory of it at all, don't know their name, is a scary thought indeed. Looking into a mirror and not recognising what you see, being on a train as he was and not knowing why, or where he is going, that total blankness was so well written.
Vaughan, Christian name Jack but everyone calls him by his surname, is/was a teacher, married but about to be divorced, but all this is lost to him as he waits in hospital for someone to claim him. His best friend is his saviour and slowly he rebuilds his memory and his life. But it's not all plain sailing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Man Who Forgot His Wife
The Man Who Forgot His Wife by John O'Farrell (Hardcover - 15 Mar 2012)
11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews