Customer Reviews


13 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - but what else would you expect!, 29 Nov. 2003
This review is from: Walkabout: "A Walk in the Woods", "Down Under" (Hardcover)
Reading this book with a mouthful of stitches, after having all of my wisdom teeth out was probably not a good idea! Compelled to laugh at every inch of the book, never has a book been so painful for being so good! His portrayal of his friend Stephen Katz will be sure to amuse you - whilst the book will also open your eyes to the wider world out there! Read in a day and a half, this book definately kept me in high spirits! Be wise - ignore any critics who may choose to disagree with me, read it! You won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars humorous ramblings, 3 Aug. 2010
By 
AndrewL94 (Plymouth, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walkabout: "A Walk in the Woods", "Down Under" (Hardcover)
Combined in one book are Bill Bryson's amiable jottings on two memorable trips: one into the wilderness along the East Coast of North America that is the Appalachian Trail: the other across the vast continent of Australia, the world's largest island nation. There is no special reason that I know of, as to why the two books have been combined in this way. Bill Bryson has written several travel books in similar vein, about America, Britain, Europe, as well as books on science, history and grammar. His style is instantly recognisable. It's funny, relaxed, often gently mocking his subjects (but never cruel). He manages to dig out surprising facts about mundane objects. So clearly he has done his homework. When he wants to be descriptive, he is movingly so. He is both frank and funny when discussing human weakness. He doesn't swerve away from the ugliness he encounters, but it doesn't put him off his stride. Above all, there is a natural enthusiasm and warmth in his writing. I heartily recommend both books, indeed, all of Bill Bryson's published works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bryson at his best., 2 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walkabout: "A Walk in the Woods", "Down Under" (Hardcover)
Quite simply, when it comes to travel writing (or anything else that takes his fancy), Bill Bryson is without peer.
This unabridged compilation brings together what are, in my opinion, his two best offerings to date - A Walk in the Woods, which sees our intrepid hero set out to walk the Appalachian Trail in the U. S. with an old school friend (who has spent most of his life dedicated to exploring the possibilities of mind-altering drugs and alcohol) and Down Under, an equally riveting account of his travels in Australia.
Each book contains countless, often amazing, facts about geography, history, nature and much else that, whilst gripping the reader's attention, are delivered with style and humour. Learning in school was never like this!
For those who fear that these books may be too 'dry' and serious for them let me just say that his musings on the possibilities of a bear attack in the woods, and an encounter with a 'bluey' in the ocean outside Sydney are the funniest things I have yet seen committed to paper - and I'm a lifelong fan of The Goons, and P. G. Wodehouse. If you do not laugh out loud whilst reading these (and many other) passages then I suggest that someone close to you should phone a doctor and, very possibly, an undertaker.

Buy, read and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laughs all the way., 24 Mar. 2006
This review is from: Walkabout: "A Walk in the Woods", "Down Under" (Hardcover)
Me? I read a book, I give it away and never re-read again.
This book was different. I read, I laughed out loud, i re-read, I gave it away, I bought it again, I bought the rest of Bill Bryson's books and have kept them on my bookshelf.
Just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars genius, 17 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Walkabout: "A Walk in the Woods", "Down Under" (Hardcover)
this man is a genius i think the way he describes his fortunes and miss adventures plus his thoughts of other human beings he encounters along his adventures stikes accord in many of us. his great skill as a author is being able to put his lifes encounters into words and pages that lovers of bill completely emphasis with in day to day life if you enjoy travel writing books this is the man
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bill Bryson Walkabout, 6 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walkabout: "A Walk in the Woods", "Down Under" (Hardcover)
Excellent and amusing book. Particularly for walkers and campers who will appreciate the reality of the episodes encountered on Bryson's walks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If you like Bryson...here's another book!, 28 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walkabout: "A Walk in the Woods", "Down Under" (Hardcover)
Bill Bryson is an interesting read, lots of small anecdotal insighats and facts to the places he visits, as well as stringing together a compelling travelogue. Am a bit annoyed he didn't walk the whole of the appalachian trail though. I felt like that was a bit of a cop out, but from someone that mostly writes about toasty first world countries maybe I was expecting too much adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars down under, 4 Oct. 2009
By 
Mr. C. M. Wellby (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Walkabout: "A Walk in the Woods", "Down Under" (Hardcover)
very amusing bill bryson book of his travels in Australia
full of information and funny stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars present, 15 Feb. 2013
By 
Mr. P Szyndel - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walkabout: "A Walk in the Woods", "Down Under" (Hardcover)
Christmas present so don't know full review. Bill Bryson has got good press from my wife so all ok. One more word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Condition, 22 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walkabout: "A Walk in the Woods", "Down Under" (Hardcover)
In very good condition can be used as a Gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Walkabout: "A Walk in the Woods", "Down Under"
Walkabout: "A Walk in the Woods", "Down Under" by Bill Bryson (Hardcover - 1 Oct. 2002)
£16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews