Customer Reviews


150 Reviews
5 star:
 (111)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pratchett at his best
I love Terry Pratchett books, I really really do. They're brilliant. Pure, unadulterated genius.
This book follows the story of a con artist as he tries, with the flair of a natural showman, to get the Ankh-Morpork post office up and running against the competition: the clacks, semaphore towers which can send a message across country and next to no time, but are run...
Published on 30 Nov 2004 by Ms. Clair E. Mcmullen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars only good by pratchett standards
ok so let me start by sayin i have read a lot of discworld all the watch novels, wizard, witches and even the young reader books and although this book was good i think it is pratchetts weakest effort i have read so far moist von lipwig is a great character i just think the story is quite slow and not a lot going on , but its still a good book its just that with so much...
Published 3 months ago by reidy


‹ Previous | 114 15 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better Effort, 18 Oct 2004
By 
M. G. Chisholm "chiefengineer3" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Going Postal (Discworld Novels) (Hardcover)
I guess that like many of you I was holding my breath, hoping that this book would be better that Terry Pratchett's last, rather sad effort. Fortunately this is the case, although not up to the standard that he set when writing the likes of his Watch or Witches books. I won't bother going through the story as it's better described elswhere, but what I can say is that the lead character is much more interesting and more of the older elements are back in this book, which can only be for the good. There is humour and just a hint of sharpness - both of which were missing in the miserable and overly preachy Monstrous Regiment. Hopefully this will continue in future books and perhaps Terry may even go back to writing Discworld books, not something that is trying to now hide from them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars o Gasing Plot, 25 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Going Postal (Discworld Novels) (Hardcover)
He's Back, I have been an avid fan of the man that is Pratchett for a number of years, he's had some highs - Equal Rights, Sourcery actually More Highs than lows but the odd low Monstrous Regiment*
The Man has his moments. Lord Vetinari is the shark, in a wolf's sodden hide.
If you haven't read Pratchett, then read this and realise his genius
*(In my opinion).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars returning to form, 16 April 2006
The discworld takes another step closer to being normal by resurrecting its postal service - with actually some very entertaining results. He's not been at his best recently, following his reworkings of shakespere with various detective stories surrounding various issues of industrialisation. This one is more of a return to form, away from the watch (who i'm so bored by) and back to new characters and the occasional cameo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 22 Mar 2006
I'm a huge Pratchett fan, having read almost the entire series and until the last couple of books enjoyed them all. However, just like Monstrous Regiment, this one was a disappointment. Although something of an improvement on MR, it is plodding and predictable with an over-heavy, over-simplified moral constantly shoved down your throat. (Conning People Is Bad. But Bad People Can Be Redeemed! Yay!) I've come to expect slightly more moral complexity from Pratchett than you'd find in your average Hollywood blockbuster - look at the Granny Weatherwax books for example: shades of grey and an acknowledgement that sometimes none of the possible choices might turn out to be the "right" thing to do. And Moist von Lipwig is possibly Pratchett's most one-dimensional main character. He never seems any more than a prop for the Moral Of The Story; his redemption just doesn't feel convincing. As for the grand plan at the end? Is that really all it takes? Unsubstantiated interpretations of facts that Lipwig outright states were already known? Someone like Slate couldn't wiggle out of that? Or if it was that easy, couldn't the Patrician have started his own rumours and saved some time? He's surely sharp enough to think of it, if it would've worked. Unimpressive, and again, unconvincing.
As for the humour, well it's an improvement on Monstrous Regiment - at least I chuckled once or twice - but Pratchett seems to be losing his touch; I don't remember ever laughing out loud.
All in all, a deeply average book that left me feeling sorely disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Second class, 13 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Going Postal (Discworld Novels) (Hardcover)
Tired and formulaic. Pratchett's plots have sometimes been a bit creaky, but he always made me laugh out loud. Not this time. Pratchett Lite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


87 of 334 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Classic, 24 July 2004
This review is from: Going Postal (Discworld Novels) (Hardcover)
Another great book of the discwork series that will no doubt be a number one. Funny, compelling and holds a mirror far too close to some of the ridiculousness of the world today. A Book who's only flaw that like his last is the cameos from some of his best loved characters are far too brief. Still wonder if hell get the chandelier back. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars (audio cd .) just ok really, 10 May 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think there must be an awful lot missed out in these audio books. Although I listen to them several times and 'get it' I dont find them very fullfilling somehow.
Perhaps I ought to try reading the books instead
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A defence of Monstrous Regiment, 28 April 2005
By 
Michael Weatherill (St Andrews, Fife United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Going Postal (Discworld Novels) (Hardcover)
An earlier reviewer is very critical of Monstrous Regiment. I disagree entirely: it is an excellent book, different in style from many of Pratchett's others but none the worse for that. I haven't yet read the book I am nominally reviewing so I won't make any comparison. I am not allowed to post a review without stars so I'm going to guess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Convincing, 3 Feb 2006
By 
oja7 "oja7" (Huddersfield, UK) - See all my reviews
I'm under no illusion that this review will be read by anyone other than myself, but; I wasn't convinced by the characterisation of Moist. Whilst the rest of the book is carried by the plot, and adds to the lore - I couldn't believe that Moist was there in any other capacity than the promulgatation of this. Not that either of them are real, but; I expect more than Star Wars from Pratchett
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He dos it again., 28 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Going Postal (Discworld Novels) (Hardcover)
I've read most of Pratchetts books and there all amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 114 15 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Going Postal (Discworld Novels)
Going Postal (Discworld Novels) by Terry Pratchett (Hardcover - 1 Oct 2004)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews