Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling
House of Leaves is one of the most original and astonishing books I have read in recent times. At first I found the prospect of getting through the book daunting - the many footnotes, the double narrative, the often bizarre layout of the pages - but I found the book hard to put down, and the stories, utterly absorbing. This is a very American book, yet it spans Time and...
Published on 2 Jun 2002

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - but...
To give this book mere 3 out of 5 stars suggests that House of Leaves is a mediocre work. It isn't. But 3/5 is still the closest approximation of my feelings after reading it, no matter how inadequate the rating system is in expressing the book's flawed genius.

House of Leaves has been marketed as a horror story, and a lesser author than Mr Danielewski would no...
Published 24 months ago by Copyzombie


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - but..., 25 Oct 2012
By 
Copyzombie (Helsinki, Finland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: House Of Leaves (Paperback)
To give this book mere 3 out of 5 stars suggests that House of Leaves is a mediocre work. It isn't. But 3/5 is still the closest approximation of my feelings after reading it, no matter how inadequate the rating system is in expressing the book's flawed genius.

House of Leaves has been marketed as a horror story, and a lesser author than Mr Danielewski would no doubt have turned it into a very engaging and still original piece of horror fiction. But the author has aimed higher, far higher.

Just saying that House of Leaves works on many levels would be a rather trite observation; that much is obvious after even the most cursory glance. At the book's heart is a false document of sorts, which has been edited by one hand, then one more layer has been added by the character who, I guess, can be said to be the main narrator - and then there's one more layer of editors. Sound complicated? It is. For those who 'get' the book, all those layers probably are one of the hooks that draw them in, each level adding new meanings to decipher and discuss. I, on the other hand, was first confused, then irritated, and finally increasingly bored. At one level, it has been suggested, the book is a parody of post-modern textual criticism. If House of Leaves indeed is such an inside joke writ large, then I'm one of the outsiders.

House of Leaves has attracted a considerable cult following. The sort of following who, for example, debate the true meaning of something that in a more ordinary book would have been dismissed as a typo. I can very well believe that Mr Danielewski has crafted the book to perfection, that every word, letter and space is just as it should be. But I wasn't fascinated enough to begin the quest of unravelling all the meanings encoded therein.

House of Leaves will remain in my bookshelf. I have this uncanny feeling that one day I might try again - and be sucked in, becoming one with cult. More probably not, but I like to keep my options open.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling, 2 Jun 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House Of Leaves (Paperback)
House of Leaves is one of the most original and astonishing books I have read in recent times. At first I found the prospect of getting through the book daunting - the many footnotes, the double narrative, the often bizarre layout of the pages - but I found the book hard to put down, and the stories, utterly absorbing. This is a very American book, yet it spans Time and Culture. The ghost is a very American ghost, but it is the stuff of many a common nightmare. It is the story of Johnny Truant, an aimless tattoo artist, living in LA, who discovers in the room of his former landlord, a strange collection of manuscripts. As he becomes more and more deeply embroiled in collating these, strange forces are unleashed and he sinks ever deeper into terror and madness. At the same time, "The Navidson Record" the story contained in the manuscripts is woven into the tale, a story that is both compelling and disturbing. The footnotes are fascinating, containing elements of Myth, Physics, fictional criticism (which is at times ironic and comical) Architecture, History and practically every field of Human endeavour. It is also a remarkably touching and compassionate book. It made me feel as if I understood the American psyche a little better. It feels like a great labour of love on the part of the author.
I would recommend this book to any polymath, or anyone with a love of Myth, Art and Science. It is a fabulous literary trip. Oh, and its also extremely scarey!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars hard work but worth it, 3 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: House of Leaves (Paperback)
Unless you have quite a lot of patience and a willingness to read an 'experimental' novel, you'll probably get bored/lost/frustrated/angry with this typographically erratic, non-linear novel. Having said that, you could be a rebellious reader (postmodern texts often claim to require an active reader, but if you are following the trail the author has left does that make you particulraly active? Maybe it's more active to read against the author's wishes -random thought), ignore most of the footnotes and what you'd be left with is an intriguing, cleverly elaborated story. Is it horror? Well, it didn't make me particularly frightened. I'd say it works better as a philosophical conceit - what if space defies our conception of it and constantly shifts beyond our possibilities of knowledge? In that sense it did make me wonder/feel concerned about whether the rooves, floors, walls surrounding me might suddenly disappear.
I think this feeling was heightened by the typographical games Danielewski plays. For me these were one of the best parts of the book because the layout of the text seems to be mirroring what is happening or being talked about in the main part of the text, so for example in the Labyrinth chapter, the text is in unconnected blocks on the page which are the circuitous paths you read/walk by following the footnotes back and forth across the pages.
As for the footnotes themselves, someone else reviewed this and said that they are misleading but I think that is the whole point - throughout the book we are told that no-one apart from Zampano knows about The Navidson Record. He is deliberately using misleading or fictive quotes and sources to write a faux-academic paper about an imaginary film. The quotes and footnotes then are meant to add a touch of veracity to this game with fictive levels but should not be taken too seriously.
The one thing that got on my nerves was the whole Jonny Truant narrative. He rambles on for pages about not very much, his story is a lot less interesting than the main one and his diversions always seem to happen when the main story is at its most interesting. However, he is an essential component for understanding the book so I wouldn't advise skipping his parts - plus, towards the end a lot of the ideas etc seem to tie together around him. My own theory s that he is meant to be taken as the sole author of the whole work (i.e. he is Zampano and Jonny Truant) because there are lots of textual echoes between Zampano's bits and the letters of Jonny's mother.
At times I thought Danielewski seemed to be hinting at language's/text's (in)ability to represent space and with all the typographical games to be pushing at the boundaries of what can be represented (and how it can be represented). I'm sure someone's PhD is lying somewhere in this dense, encyclopedic novel full of ideas as there is such an inexhaustible stream of information that it could take years of study to understand it from all it's different angles. I think Danielewski is sending up whilst at the same time working within this academic framework with many of the footnotes which are speculating about the film's possible meaning (in fact, it's almost worth reading just for these which rip-take the pointless, convoluted, preposterous ideas of mainly American, mainly literary academics).
All in all, this book is not for the fainthearted, is hard work to read but contains an intriguing story, and ambitious and poetic textual experimentation which make it a rewarding read.
If you're into the whole non-linear, multiple narrative thing but want a read that isn't quite as complex as this try Perec's 'Life A User's Manual' and Calvino's 'If on a Winter's Night a Traveller'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good, average and poor book, all at once., 31 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: House of Leaves (Paperback)
It is difficult to know what to say about this book. Danielewski has something dazzling and tedious at one and the same time. At the core of the book is a fascinating adventure/horror story based around 'The Navidson Record', which documents Will Navidson's explorations of his eerie, impossible house. At the same time this story is concealed behind a mass of invented criticism, rambling footnotes and 'postmodern' distancing tricks.
What is utterly frustrating is that the description of the Navidson Record is a damn good story. It is not, however, great literature, and the invokation of Ballard and Pynchon on the back cover is ridiculous. The stuff about Navidson's house is frightening and exciting - and reads very like a horror story written by Michael Crichton. Unfortunately, Danielewski seems embarrassed at writing a fairly simple, genre based adventure and felt compelled to conceal this behind the mass of footnotes and literary references. This sort of prententious elitism is a waste of time bearing in mind the obvious genre qualities of the work itself. The sections about Johnny Traunt are particularly aggravating, and seem only to have been included so that the author could look 'cool'. Worse, the academic references, both real and invented, seem to have been included to demonstrate that the author is intelligent, and above writing a simple genre novel. If Danielewski had cut most of the footnotes and included a preface saying (in big letters) "I AM CLEVER! ", he could have saved himself a lot of time.
Why give the book three stars then? Well, one -the Navidson record is, as I have said, a really interesting idea. Two - the use of typefaces is inventive and really works. Three - the whole thing plays out very like a David Lynch movie, and I love his work (In fact, the entire book can be summed up as 'The Navidson Record'=Twin Peaks, 'Johnny Traunt'=Lost Highway (without the better bits)).
Finally, the ending is an absolute cop out. It is as if Danielewski ultimately couldn't think of anything to actually DO with his labyrinth once he had invented it. However, if you can put up with all these faults, there is something here worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More than the sum of its parts, 12 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: House of Leaves (Hardcover)
Part academic paper, part horror story, part too-real-to-be-comfortable description of escalating insanity, part impenetrable footnote-maze, part (multi-)layered meta-novel - and fully enigmatic and wonderful, House of Leaves is one of the strangest and most memorable books I've ever read. A mere review can't possibly do it justice; isolated and analyzed, its very different and seemingly incompatible elements seem odd, frightening, pointless, sick, funny, and anything in between. Put together, though, the whole thing develops a thoroughly weird and unique attraction.
Having completed the book, I can image Mark Danielewski thrusting his fists skywards, cackling madly and roaring, Viktor Frankenstein-style: "It's alive!" It feels like something that shouldn't be alive but somehow still is.
Danielewski's creation is by no means flawless, the nuts and bolts show in places - but in most cases, I have the impression that the flaws and imperfections are intended.
This one is going to stick, keeping to the edges of my mind like shadows; never quite disappearing, and - when night comes - crawling out of hiding, demanding attention again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly clever and scary - but hard work to read, 28 July 2007
By 
H. Ashford "hashford" (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: House Of Leaves (Paperback)
I was planning to write a longer review of this book, but I now don't feel I can add much to the in-depth and thoughtful review left by "drkennydouglas" (see below).

Yes it is clever, very clever. And yes, it is scary. And yes, the scariness unfolds gradually, partly though the asides in the footnotes, as a good horror story should do. However, what I will say is that I found this book very hard work to read.

Most of the time I found the innovative typographical design increased my enjoyment of the book. I've probably used the wrong word there, but what I mean is that the text is printed in all sorts of different ways, sometimes upside down, or working up the page (when the character was climbing a ladder), or in a small box in the middle of the page that gets smaller on subsequent pages (as the character crawls through an ever smaller tunnel), sometimes in mirror writing, and once in a box that went "through" the pages. I particularly enjoyed the sections where there were only a few words on each page which had the effect of ramping up the excitement in an almost cinematic way.

The book has two main stories that unfold side by side. One is in the main text (the Navidson Record), the other unfolds in the (extensive) footnotes (the Johnny Truant story). But there are also numerous pseudo- academic asides which can be quite tedious (I have to admit I mostly skip-read these - you can't just ignore them because they have little snippets that are relevant to the main stories). You also end up flipping backwards and forwards through the pages, and I remember saying to myself at one point "I do wish they'd printed this book in the order I am supposed to read it!".

Overall I enjoyed this book, and at times found it hard to put down. But is was hard work to read and I was rather relieved when I had finished it. If your taste goes to lightweight fiction then I suggest you take note of the review further down by "Bookworm Lady a1za".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ashes to ashes ..., 19 Nov 2006
This review is from: House Of Leaves (Paperback)
Style; unquestionably - Danielewski's postmodern blockbuster (complete with detailed footnotes to completely fictitious academic papers, crazily long lists in mirror writing, and "experimental" typesetting which at certain points becomes out-and-out concrete poetry) is as cool as they come. But for me, this unique book also has substance aplenty: indeed, it is an unexpectedly moving meditation on love as an act of faith and on the possibility of redemption, using the intertwined narratives concerning the troubled relationships of Will and Karen Navidson, and of Johnny Truant with his dead mother, to draw unexpected parallels.

The whole structure of the novel seems designed to highlight the impossibility of any account of events ever representing "objective truth" (another of Danielewski's central themes), as we get three separate people commenting on the same events from very different perspectives. At the start of the book, Johnny Truant (a troubled drop-out with a murky past who is now working as a tattoo artist) comes across a pile of paper (one of the senses of "Leaves" in the title) while clearing the apartment of the reclusive and recently-deceased old man Zapato. These "leaves" contain Zapato's scrawled narrative, written in pseudo-academic docu-drama style complete with footnotes, of the Navidson family's experience of moving into a Haunted House. In addition to Zapato's own footnotes, Johnny Truant adds footnotes which both comment on the Navidson narrative and relate his own ongoing story. To add another layer of complexity, a supposedly objective editor (Danielewski himself?) adds his own footnotes to Johnny's footnotes! Although both Will Navidson's and Johnny Truant's tales are chilling, the whole business of the footnotes and associated postmodern trickery has obvious comic potential, and Danielewski takes full advantage of this to poke fun at various targets: at celebrity culture; at the very American genre of the docu-drama; at previous "Horror" classics of book and film; and at postmodernism itself.

It's impossible to do the book justice in a few paragraphs. However, just when both Will Navidson's and Johnny's tales appear to be becoming ever darker and heading for a horrific end (as Navidson's house spontaneously grows an ever-enlarging labyrinth of barren, ash-walled corridors which gradually "eats" various family and friends, and Johnny's deteriorating mental state seems to be leading him into a drink- and drug-fuelled spiral of violence in which he risks becoming the very Minotaur haunting the Navidson house), Danielewski pulls off the most unexpected trick of all - the possibility of a "happy ending". And it is here that the book's true greatness lies.

Danielewski ultimately gives the reader a choice between two different readings of the words "ashes" and "leaves", both of which are as omnipresent throughout the book as the word "house" (which always appears in blue writing). The initially obvious meaning is that "leaves" refers to Zampano's description of the Navidson house's labyrinth (symbolising Death) and "ashes" refers both to the charred sheets among Zampano's papers and to the cold, dark walls of the labyrinth (images of Destruction). However, towards the end of the book when both Will Navidson and Johnny Truant may have been redeemed by acts of love (depending on exactly how the reader chooses to interpret certain passages), Danielewski offers an alternative reading, with "Ash" referring to the ash tree, which was the Tree of Life in Norse mythology, and "leaves" referring to the leaves of the tree which symbolise Life and Creation. The Happy Ending therefore becomes an act of faith on the part of the reader. To say more would be to risk a "plot spoiler" - but this changes the novel from being just a witty and entertaining postmodern horror story, into being something much richer and stranger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing journey through the mental labyrinth, 17 Jan 2008
By 
R. Mouatt (Shetland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: House Of Leaves (Paperback)
A challenging book on so many levels, it is not only technically complex but the myriad stories have you swinging back and forth. To me this book acted than more than just a novel, it raises psychological questions, it challenges the perceptions we have and it makes you delve ever deeper to try and understand what is happening.
This book can and will take over your life, searching out the cyphers, trying to find out what in the story is real and what is not. So don't expect this book to remain neat and tidy, you will find yourself scrawling on the pages or marking out letters that could possibly be part of a cyphers.
I also love the multiple aspects of this book, I bought POE's album "Haunted" a long time before I read the book, I latter found out that the album and the book are intertwined - Poe is Mark's sister. So further listening and reading are continually opening more doors with this book.
Enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 28 Aug 2004
By 
J. Reed "joer9914" (Truro, Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: House Of Leaves (Paperback)
An absolute must-read! Don't be put off by the bizarre typography because once you start you won't be able to put it down and ignore all the detractors who acuse Danielewski of pretentiousness and don't acknowledge the irony and satire. This is a brilliant, erudite and fiercely intelligent book written by someone who knew exactly what he was doing. Neither is it simply a horror story (although I found it genuinely very frightening) but a book that can be interpreted on a multitude of different levels. It is at once a self-parodic exercise in postmodern theory, an ultimately moving love story, a biting stire of academic criticism and a story of damaged individuals journrying into their own 'heart of darkness'. Really its uncategoriseable but could be best described as a cross between The Blair Witch Project,Tristram Shandy and Alice In Wonderland. Touching, funny, intelligent and very scary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Zampano, Johnny Truant and Navidson, 6 Oct 2009
By 
Eileen Shaw "Kokoschka's_cat" (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: House Of Leaves (Paperback)
At times utterly infuriating, at others creepily absorbing, even terrifying, House of Leaves is either a tour de force of paranoia and mind-numbing horror, or a huge con-trick. It purports to be thrice conceived - the book is presented as Mark Danielewski's House of Leaves by Zampano, with introduction and notes by Johnny Truant. The text might drive you crazy, alternating as it does the story of Navidson, a film-maker, his wife, Karen, and their children who move into very peculiar house with dimension-changing properties, and the drug-crazed rambles of Johnny Truant, a young tattooist with a tragic past. Johnny lived in the same house as Zampano, a blind old man who has collected together all the relics of the story of Navidson. In its first conception it is a film, secondly the writings of Zampano, and thirdly the additions made by Johnny Truant. All of these accounts are mixed up together, and then there are the footnotes, various appendices and works of art, including collages and poetry. In all 907 pages of text that occasionally bursts out in peculiar ways - as concrete poetry, written diagonally, edge to edge, upside down, in boxes, in different fonts - and in numerous other ways - all to somewhat bafflingly obtuse, arcane or abstract (sometimes even amusing) effect. Some of the footnotes are quotes from people such as William Wordsworth, Camille Paglia, Stanley Kubrick, etc., some are even genuine quotes, but they are all spuriously appended to something that never happened, for the story of Navidson's adventures is fiction.

What's to like in such gallimaufry (n. heterogeneous mixture, jumble, medley)? Numerous moments of genuine suspense, are mixed in with portentous background, recounted effluvia and Navidson-related trivia. Johnny Truant gets into fights and sleeps with a number of girls though not with the one he really wants (a stripper called Thumper, with her nether-regions tattooed with the legend "The Happiest Place On Earth). Towards the end there are the letters his mentally ill mother sent during his numerous experiences as a foster-child. We learn little about the life of the putative author Zampano.

A great achievement and a triumphant (possibly post-post-modernist) work of art, this book most certainly is, but as a reading experience it requires stamina and grim determination to get through. Some critics have compared Danielewski to David Foster Wallace, but Wallace, if similarly digressive, was never less than entertaining and his intelligence and erudition were the unforced, natural corollaries of his brainy brilliance. Danielewski has a similar warmth and is undoubtedly an adventurous and engaging writer, but the wit and charm don't quite stretch to cover his ambitions. Nevertheless, I would heartily recommend this novel for it's sheer, adventurous complexity. It is something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

House Of Leaves
House Of Leaves by Mark Z Danielewski (Paperback - 6 July 2000)
£19.04
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews