Customer Reviews


243 Reviews
5 star:
 (189)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating character study of a good man
Night Watch, the 27th Discworld novel by Terry Pratchett, is a wonderful character study of Samuel Vimes, the head of the City Watch of Ankh-Morpork. In this one, Pratchett turns kind of serious, though there are some amusing bits. Unlike Small Gods, it appears to work in this one. Maybe I just wasn't ready for it before. Or maybe Vimes is such an interesting character...
Published on 27 Oct. 2003 by David Roy

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Really like the book, but...
I'm not sure if i just has a duff copy, but there is only one track on each CD. I am rarely in a position where i will sit down for 60 minutes at a time so i appreciate when they split each CD up into approx 5 minute tracks. These CDs usually are split this way so I'm a little concerned that this is bootleg.
Published on 25 Oct. 2010 by D. Lang


‹ Previous | 119 20 2125 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A lovely cynical but humorous parody. Pure Pratchett!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Dec. 2014
By 
Mrs. N. E. Morgan (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Terry Pratchett books! What else can I say!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The latest Discworld fix - good, but not TP at his best, 15 Nov. 2002
By 
mariatom (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Night Watch: (Discworld Novel 29) (Discworld Novels) (Hardcover)
The Discworld saga has distinctly evolved since the relatively straightforward parody of the swords n’ sorcery fantasy genre of the first books, and has become a more complex satirical study of the human condition. In 'Night Watch', the 27th novel in the series, Vimes, Commander of the Ankh-Morpork City Watch, and Carcer, the murderous psychopath he is chasing, stumble into a time loop and are transported back through the decades to a turbulent and violent Ankh-Morpork. Vimes is then posed with a 'Quantum Leap'-esque dilemma when he assumes the identity of John Keel, the dead sergeant who inspired him as a naive new recruit, and is torn between righting the wrongs of a blood-spattered revolution and allowing the true path of history to take its course, thereby enabling him to return to his wife and unborn child.
Despite being a huge fan of the series, I can retain enough objectivity to admit that 'Night Watch' is not Pratchett at his best, and I feel that the book will appeal more to the Discworld veteran than the uninitiated. The former will find it both entertaining and touching to encounter the younger versions of well-loved characters such as Nobby Nobbs, Fred Colon and Sam Vimes, but the latter are unlikely to feel as much sympathy for these individuals. Although this is the darkest Discworld book so far (death and brutality are prevalent), there are a few dashes of comic brilliance that lighten the mood. In particular, the bath scene involving the Archchancellor of the wizard university caused me to guffaw in an embarrassingly undignified manner while travelling on public transport!
Pratchett’s subtle art lies as much in what he leaves unsaid as in what he does say, allowing the reader to fill in empty gaps. However, my main criticism of 'Night Watch' is that he tends to overstate his point at times, almost forcing it. Nevertheless, even an average Pratchett book is a good read, and I recommend Night Watch to all Discworld enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gotta love Pratchett's. This is one of his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Possibly my favourite Pratchett novel of all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the best Discworld book of all, 29 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Possibly the best Discworld book of all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Vines strikes again, 3 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good read with an interesting story line
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good read. Freedom and a hard boiled egg
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Best book I've read in a long time :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great book would recommend to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 119 20 2125 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Night Watch: (Discworld Novel 29) (Discworld Novels)
Night Watch: (Discworld Novel 29) (Discworld Novels) by Terry Pratchett (Hardcover - 4 Nov. 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews