Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what!!!!
i couldnt believe it when i saw how many negative comments there were for this book. it is a superb read and i recommend it to readers aged12+. it is a touching story of a girl called nova who feels that she is not good enough. she then meets a ghost and learns all about him and the mistakes he made in the past. shelearns that he cannot leave the hotel so nova makes it...
Published 2 months ago by Renske Oudhuis

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's all right - but nothing special
Another reviewer put it well, i think, in saying it was a 'ghost of Malorie Blackman's better books.' It isn't great really; even avid Blackman fans like myself, who find themselves glued to jewels like the Noughts and Crosses series, and 'Thief!' will be disappointed in this anaemic read from an author who has produced much better. The story slacks at times; the...
Published on 27 Sep 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what!!!!, 10 Aug 2014
This review is from: Dead Gorgeous (Kindle Edition)
i couldnt believe it when i saw how many negative comments there were for this book. it is a superb read and i recommend it to readers aged12+. it is a touching story of a girl called nova who feels that she is not good enough. she then meets a ghost and learns all about him and the mistakes he made in the past. shelearns that he cannot leave the hotel so nova makes it her mission to help. but as the knows two deadly secrets it makes it quite hard.
this is a thrilling and exciting read with unexpected twists. it one of the only books i have read by malory blackman and has certainly left me wanting more!! an enjoyable read!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's all right - but nothing special, 27 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Dead Gorgeous (Paperback)
Another reviewer put it well, i think, in saying it was a 'ghost of Malorie Blackman's better books.' It isn't great really; even avid Blackman fans like myself, who find themselves glued to jewels like the Noughts and Crosses series, and 'Thief!' will be disappointed in this anaemic read from an author who has produced much better. The story slacks at times; the characters are not sympathetic and Blackman's attempt to bring an adolescent issue into the plot (in the shape of Nova's eating disorder), though valiant, is largely unsuccessful. I wouldn't really recommend it, although if you have read all her other books maybe you should read this one too. But my advice is get it from the library, and save buying the book for passionate, intense works of near-genius like 'Hacker' 'Noughts and Crosses' 'Knife Edge' 'Checkmate' or 'Thief!'
Frankly, if you're a Blackman fan, this second-rater should be well down your list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an excellent read, 15 Nov 2005
This review is from: Dead Gorgeous (Paperback)
i noticed that alot of the other reviews for this book are quite negative. This surprised me because it is such a brilliant book, one of malorie blackmans finest.
The plot is superb and very believable. This book is emotional at certain points and hard to put down. i would definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dead Gorgeous, 24 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Dead Gorgeous (Hardcover)
This book is very good - possibly one of malorie blackman's best. The plot is very good and beleivable even though it contains a ghost! This book is very emotional and you get drawn in to the world of Nova and her family. Well worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dead amazing, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Gorgeous (Kindle Edition)
I really loved this book!
It really sums up the future of dying and the perils of being bulimic.
Malorie Blackman, you are one of the few people who are that amazing at writing!
/)/)
( . . )
(")(")@
bunny rabbit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!!!, 8 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Gorgeous (Kindle Edition)
I have really enjoyed this and its nothing like other books, it's very unique!
also read:
. boys don't cry
. the deadly date mysteries
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 25 Aug 2007
By 
J. hobson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Gorgeous (Paperback)
this book is interesting. Nova is not your typical perfect heroine as she has her own problems. The whole plot unwinds in an unexpected way and took me totally by surprise. It was not the best book I have ever read but one of Blackmans finest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A ghost of her better books., 28 Aug 2005
This review is from: Dead Gorgeous (Paperback)
Malorie Blackman is a fantastic auther, and has written many great books but this is a dissapointment. It was not bad, and the story was original, but it had no gripping suspence, few jokes, was very predictable, and was basically, boring. I did not stay up till who knows what time at night to finish it, as I had with Noughts and Crosses and Hacker.
So, in conclusion, not one of her best books, but a light read if you're bored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Malorie Blackman Dead Gorgeous, 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Gorgeous (Paperback)
Bought this book for my daughter for Christmas as she has read most of the other books in the series and really enjoyed them. Quick delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not sure, 21 April 2014
This review is from: Dead Gorgeous (Kindle Edition)
i got a sample but iwant to know what happens nexxt can somene quickly summarise this book please/?i want to know if its rright to buy jt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Gorgeous
Dead Gorgeous by Malorie Blackman (Hardcover - 7 Aug 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews