Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended
I found this book a relevation. Even though some of what he writes may not be completely new to people properly educated in Catholic teaching, I have rarely met such people to be honest. The way the subject is presented here is beautifully set out, well informed and carefully referenced, so it came fully alive and three dimensional for me in a way that was inspiring and...
Published on 5 May 2011 by Susan Frances

versus
10 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read Book
In this book Dr. Pitre intent is to help the reader understand the Jewish roots of the Holy Eucharist, the Real Presence. This book was written for the layman and a wide audience. Nothing in this book is new to any student of biblical studies at even the basic level. If you were raised Roman Catholic and taught your Catechism in the U.S.A. this subject matter will be very...
Published on 22 Feb 2011 by M. A. Ramos


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 5 May 2011
By 
Susan Frances (Walton-on-Thames, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jesus and the Jewish Roots of the Eucharist: Unlocking the Secrets of the Last Supper (Hardcover)
I found this book a relevation. Even though some of what he writes may not be completely new to people properly educated in Catholic teaching, I have rarely met such people to be honest. The way the subject is presented here is beautifully set out, well informed and carefully referenced, so it came fully alive and three dimensional for me in a way that was inspiring and stayed with me for a long time.

Sadly, all too often, Christian principles are presented as a list of precepts repeated by rote, seemingly by believers who are just repeating what they have heard and do not seem to have questioned their beliefs, thought about them deeply, or managed to integrate them properly, so they cannot explain them clearly and this rich body of knowledge ends up lacking depth and real meaning. Or theology just gets trotted out as a intellectual exercise or a display of good memory. It is one thing to describe beliefs from the head, and another to live them from the heart. When we engage the heart (in the scriptural, Jewish sense, ie the deepest self, not the physical organ or emotional centre), there are often more questions than answers. It's living the questions that takes us on the way. I am a Christian yet I often find Christian theology and teachings quite difficult. It's not because the beliefs are complex, but the theology can seem so abstract, and I have the nagging feeling that something gets lost in translation. I want to understand why - why did Christ have to suffer this terrible way, and why did it take his descent into hell after the Crucifixion and his ascension into heaven to lead to the sending of the Holy Spirit to humanity and the birth of the Church? When people have repeated the answers, I often feel none the wiser. With this book, I experienced insights and glimmers of light that were deeply inspirational. To set Christ in his Jewish context both historically and liturgically as the author has done was a profound learning for me. I am grateful to the author and highly recommend this book to anyone seeking insight into why Christ did what he did for humanity. A jewel of a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Give us this day bread from heaven, 10 May 2011
By 
Mike L (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesus and the Jewish Roots of the Eucharist: Unlocking the Secrets of the Last Supper (Hardcover)
In The Lord's Prayer, the phrase "give us this day our daily bread" seems unlikely. Why the repetition of day and daily in this very economical prayer? What is this daily bread that Jesus asks us to pray for? The Greek has epiousios bread, but epiousios is a neologism, a new word. No-one knows what it means.

Brant Pitre neatly solves this question in this new book. He suggests that the correct reading for epiousios is the most ancient one: epi ousia, above nature = supernatural. In this he follows Jerome, who has in the Vulgate:

panem nostrum supersubstantialem da nobis hodie
- Matthew 6:11 (Vulgate)

In this reading, Jesus is the new manna from heaven. (A jar of manna was kept in the Ark of The Covenant, making it Most Holy - Exodus 16:32-34). Pitre argues that Messiah was expected as the new Moses (Deut 18:15). The manna was one of the expected signs of the new exodus which Messiah would bring (e.g. 2 Baruch 29). The Gospel writers acknowledge this in the account of the transfiguration, where Luke has Moses and Elijah speak of Jesus' exodos (Luke 9:30-31). Jesus is also the new bread of the presence, which allowed the Jews to see God.

There is much more in this book, which focusses on the Passover. As the new Passover lamb, Jesus is both celebrant and sacrifice. He only permits himself to drink the fourth and final cup of wine of the Jewish passover with his dying breath.

This book is solid, not speculative, but is easy to read. A really helpful book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 11 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesus and the Jewish Roots of the Eucharist: Unlocking the Secrets of the Last Supper (Hardcover)
Jesus and the Jewish Roots of the Eucharist: Unlocking the Secrets of the Last SupperJesus and the Jewish Roots of the Eucharist: Unlocking the Secrets of the Last Suppervery good book mostly read down the pub,only wish he writes more books on the same subjects as his cd's,about the connection of the Jewish practice and the Christian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Connects the time of Jesus to the Eucharist today, 18 April 2013
By 
C. Haggerstone "Chris Haggerstone" (Wooler Northumberland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesus and the Jewish Roots of the Eucharist: Unlocking the Secrets of the Last Supper (Hardcover)
This is an educated read.
It does spell out its story but I had difficulty keeping the overall picture in mind.
The time of Jesus it speaks of was highly complex and as it describes based on the history of the Jewish Faith from Abraham through Moses and the Prophets to the Messiah.
However you do need a fairly clear understanding of the Old testament for this book to add to your Knowledge of the sacraments of the Church.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for any Christian., 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesus and the Jewish Roots of the Eucharist: Unlocking the Secrets of the Last Supper (Hardcover)
A must read for any Christian as it brings a big piece of the jigsaw, as to why we are followers of Jesus, together. The writing is easy to comprehend and the thread of the book is very well clear for all to follow. It links the Jewish traditional history with the Christian faith as natural as day follows night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST for all Christians!, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesus and the Jewish Roots of the Eucharist: Unlocking the Secrets of the Last Supper (Hardcover)
Brant Pitre writes in such a way that you think he is talking to you. Pure gem both in terms of contents and imparting of vital knowledge which, I believe all Christians of whatever denomination need to know. It has opened up for me a much needed understanding of what lays behind Jesus' actions, words, deeds. I cannot praise this book enough! I have bought several copies and all who have read the book are equally impressed. Thank you, Most Holy Spirit for leading dr Pitre to do the work which the WHOLE Church will benefit from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesus and the Jewish Roots of the Eucharist: Unlocking the Secrets of the Last Supper (Hardcover)
An eye opener to the depth of the way the Old Testaments helps the New Testaments throw lights on the New Testaments, especially when it comes to the Eucharist. The author also have another wonderful book called 'Jesus the Bridegroom'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars for a better understanding of the Eucharist, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was drawn to this book by Scott Hahn any book he reccomends is allways worth a read this book did not dissapoint, from start to finish. gave me a full understanding of how jesus at his last supper (Pass over) was going to become the new Eucharist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesus and the Jewish Roots of the Eucharist: Unlocking the Secrets of the Last Supper (Hardcover)
Clearly and consisely presents the different keys to the secrets of the eucharist, perfectly explained, I'd recommended this book to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book providing an important background information about the Jewish ..., 19 Oct 2014
This review is from: Jesus and the Jewish Roots of the Eucharist: Unlocking the Secrets of the Last Supper (Hardcover)
Excellent book providing an important background information about the Jewish Passover, manna and bread of the presence: throws a totally new insight into the celebration of the Eucharist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jesus and the Jewish Roots of the Eucharist: Unlocking the Secrets of the Last Supper
Used & New from: £1.40
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews