Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EVERYONE should read this, especially men !
This is both shocking and disturbing that this is a reality for many children and girls in the World.

We think we have hardship in the West, for the majority we truly are unthankful and ungrateful and dont know what hardship is! It would help everyone if they had to study something like this at school....would recommend as a captivating read for men women and...
Published on 1 Dec 2009 by S. T. Bratchie

versus
3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware of fakes
In the next years and hopefully in the next months you will see that the women Called Somaly Mam is not exactly the saintly savior of poor prostitutes as described in this book. This is a business for her and unfortunately the money doesn't go in the right pocket and moreover the victims of prostitution "detained" in her "centers" are really going to a hard time, they are...
Published on 24 Sep 2010 by Jean Mathis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EVERYONE should read this, especially men !, 1 Dec 2009
By 
This is both shocking and disturbing that this is a reality for many children and girls in the World.

We think we have hardship in the West, for the majority we truly are unthankful and ungrateful and dont know what hardship is! It would help everyone if they had to study something like this at school....would recommend as a captivating read for men women and youth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing but necessary reading, 9 May 2010
By 
Somaly Mam is an amazing woman, and she has written an amazing book. An utterly disturbing and haunting book which tells her own life story as well as focuses on the factors in Cambodia and its neighbouring countries which allow the exploitation, rape, forced prostitution and slavery of women and girls. It is a horrific story but Somaly Mam tells it in gentle terms but also with a certain natural distance. Her ability to overcome the terrible things that were done to her during her childhood and youth is almost as impressive as her present struggle against the corrupt police and central administration in Cambodia.

The situation in Cambodia today is even worse than when Somaly Mam was growing up, so her fight for freedom and respect for the young girls and women held in giant brothels has never been more relevant. Read this book before going on holiday in Cambodia, Thailand or Vietnam!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shocking and moving, 20 Mar 2010
By 
Natalie J. Mounter (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is written with suitable directness and shocking honesty. As a result, is it extremely moving and, like many others who have read it, i was unable to put it down and read it one day. Despite the disturbing content, you will not be sorry you picked it up. It opens your eyes to the plight of so many unfortunate women and girls, and the story of the writer herself is both touching and inspiring. This book will have a lasting effect on you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sadistic child molesters, brutal pimps, traumatized children, 9 July 2009
By 
Luc REYNAERT (Beernem, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Somaly Mam's autobiography is both terrible and terrifying, as we see what members of mankind (parents, traffickers, pimps, government officials) do and are allowed to do with innocent children (even their own). She also paints a bleak picture of her mother country, Cambodia.

Sex trade
The sale of women and female children has always existed in Cambodia.
Parents consider their offspring as money on legs, an asset, as cattle. A 12-year old virgin girl can be sold for 50 to 100 US$ or used as a deposit for a loan or to pay back debt.
Virgins are especially wanted because men believe that raping a virgin will cure them of Aids (instead, the child is infected), keep them strong, lengthen their lifespan and lighten their skin. People consider that keeping a virgin or a minor in a luxurious brothel is a status symbol (!).
Once sold into a brothel, no law, no police, no justice can protect the child. It becomes the slave of a violent pimp: `Now I see girls in brothels with nails hammered into their skull.'

Women's fate
Women are considered as servants. They have to show full obedience to their father and husband. Being beaten is a part of a `normal' life. Marriage becomes a prison.
In general, women don't like to make love and remain passive.

Cambodia
The Cambodians are traumatized by decades of war: `To survive you must be silent.' Nobody can be trusted. People can use your words to betray you.
Actually, the country is in the ban of moral bankruptcy. `Corruption is like a gangrene at the heart of the legal and the police system.' The police are involved in the sex trade as owners, guards, protectors and clients.
The revenues of prostitution equal the annual State budget. Traffickers are so rich that they are more powerful than the law. Judges are bribed.
Under the communist government (after the Red Khmer regime) schools (a real way out of poverty) and health care were free. Now, everything is for sale, even doctor's diplomas. Education is only for the offspring of the wealthy few.

The whole book bathes in an atmosphere of racism (against dark-skinned people).

This intensely moving `human' tragedy gives an extremely gloomy impression of (a part of) mankind. But, there is hope. One brilliant star at the firmament, Somaly Mam, and her courageous actions made the sex traders loose all respect. Now, her organization can sometimes beat the culprits in court.
Her book is a must read for all those interested in human nature and the world we live in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Woman Is Remarkable, 11 Jun 2009
By 
C. Martin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have just read this book and all I can say is, Thank God for women like Somaly Mam. This inspiring, courageous woman is a lifeline for so many young girls, whom without her, would be lying in the gutter. I truly hope that her organisation receives the funding it really deserves and that her work can go on and become an even bigger success. Somaly, you are not only beautiful on the outside, you are a strong caring human being with an even more beautiful heart. Keep fighting girl, you may not win the war but every little girl you rescue is a single battle won. Take care x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cambodian sex slavery., 22 Dec 2011
By 
Maha Upasika Gotami (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
'When I was sold to a brothel, I was sixteen. Today, there are virgins for sale in every large town. To make sure of their virginity some of the girls are as young as five or six years old.'
They are sold, stolen, raped, beaten and often killed. This is their story told in a beautifully written style, with some photographs, by a Cambodian who escaped the system and has spent the rest of her life trying to help, save and rebuild the lives of her fellow countrywomen, and to tell the world, particularly men, what is actually going on and what it is like for the women.
She says that there are more than 50,000 sex slaves in Cambodia; 1 in 40 girls will be sold into sex slavery.
Writing the book, she says, makes her sick, gives her nightmares; she showers and cries, but 'what can one do?'

Although the subject is horrifying, there is no hint of 'Poor Me!' - the whole book is powerful, informative and inspirational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST READ, 15 Jan 2009
Amazing story and incredible that in today's age of media and wealth nothing more can be done - just shows how one woman can make a difference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very moving, 3 Aug 2008
By 
Paul (Birmingham, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This book raises lots of questions for me. Somaly Mam is a modern day Mother Theresa.
But how do so many, many people get to be so indifferent or normalised to - to use her blunt words - rape? That's what haunts me from reading this. I've read about Cambodia's history. But still. I still don't get it. She says as much, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 6 April 2008
By 
Suzanne Fox - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I agree with the previous reviewer, completely unputdownable.
I bought this book yesterday and have finished it already.
Everyone should read this book...the first step to action is awareness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable - a story of a very different life, 20 Jan 2008
By 
P. L. Brennan "winanoscar" (Leeds UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Well written,so very interesting,thought provoking,touches the heart and is also inspiring. An unusual story of a different kind of life. Make time to read this book because I really had to force myself to break off when necessity called. A book I will read again and buy copies for friends. In a word: EXCELLENT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Road of Lost Innocence: The True Story of a Cambodian Heroine
Used & New from: 0.45
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews