Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


111 of 113 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beware! This is the same book as Millennium
Millennium is an excellent book illuminating a little known but crucial period of European history. The style is the same as Holland's previous books Rubicon and Persian Fire. Just be aware that the Amazon page is misleading in that "The Forge of Christendom" is just an alternative title for "Millennium" so I hope they are not frequently bought together!
Published on 13 Nov 2009 by Marcus

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Forge of Christendom
BEWARE. SHARP PRACTICE. This is the same book as 'Millennium', but marketed under a different title. I was very annoyed indeed to find that on acquiring The Forge of Christendom I had already read it as Millennium. Nowhere in its advertising of these two books does Amazon point out that these are one and the same. How many people, like me, have fallen into the trap...
Published 11 months ago by bashall n


Most Helpful First | Newest First

111 of 113 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beware! This is the same book as Millennium, 13 Nov 2009
By 
Marcus (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Forge of Christendom: The End of Days and the Epic Rise of the West (Hardcover)
Millennium is an excellent book illuminating a little known but crucial period of European history. The style is the same as Holland's previous books Rubicon and Persian Fire. Just be aware that the Amazon page is misleading in that "The Forge of Christendom" is just an alternative title for "Millennium" so I hope they are not frequently bought together!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Forge of Christendom, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
BEWARE. SHARP PRACTICE. This is the same book as 'Millennium', but marketed under a different title. I was very annoyed indeed to find that on acquiring The Forge of Christendom I had already read it as Millennium. Nowhere in its advertising of these two books does Amazon point out that these are one and the same. How many people, like me, have fallen into the trap. Amazon should hang its head in shame at perpetrating this distinctly sharp trick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Really annoyed, 26 Jan 2012
This is Millenium, with a different cover and title. Very sharp practise here. Very sharp practise indeed. It's an entertaining read but it's still the same book in a different guise. It gets one star to draw people's attention to that fact; the text itself is a good 4 stars and is an enjoyable and flowing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is Millenium retitled, 30 Aug 2012
By 
Miss Cathryn Symons (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was just about to buy this when I noticed the books they thought others had bought with it, and realised this is just Millenium rebadged. That was a good book, but this is a very very bad marketing ploy. Shame on whoever thought this up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent historical exposition of a largrly unknown period., 29 May 2013
By 
L. K. D. SULLIVAN (Warwicks. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Forge of Christendom: The End of Days and the Epic Rise of the West (Hardcover)
Compulsive material, beautifully told, unfolding the story of a period seminal to today's conflicts. Couldn't put it down! Mr. Holland scores again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and interesting book, 18 April 2012
By 
jan (yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This week I finished reading The Forge of Christendom , which is one of the most interesting books I have read in a very long time.

One of the things I like best about history is finding out how things fit together. School history seems to be very fragmented - Egyptians one term, then Tudors, then World War II, then Romans - and there are gaps which don't get filled at all.

I had some questions such as "If the Normans were north-men, ie Vikings, why did they come speaking French and building castles, rather than raping and pillaging like the Vikings that came straight from Scandinavia?" and "There was a Holy Roman Emperor till only a couple of centuries ago, who seems to have been a king in Germany - what's that about?"

This book answers those questions and lots more I hadn't even asked yet. It ties together things that were happening in lots of parts of Europe, connecting people who were at best names I had heard of with events and political movements. How did feudalism happen? What was the chain of events that led to the Pope sending people off on Crusade? How did Byzantium and the Saracens fit into the picture of Europe?

It's taken me a few weeks to get through the book, but it's been a fascinating journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History at it's best, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Tom Holland manages to combine a feel for the period with a present-day point of view, alle presented in a fluent style
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An irritating read, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'd forgotten what an irritating writer Tom Holland is (I've read "Persian Fire"). I think the low point was a reference to a "fell decision"; I ended up skipping great chunks. But I will probably use it for reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a crucible of change, dirt and gold - dust, 16 April 2012
rather like the big state of MAINE, usa. whats at the end of copse hill there i wander! a b c , ultima
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Forge of Christendom: The End of Days and the Epic Rise of the West
Used & New from: £10.51
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews