Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Audacity of Hope
It's not unsurprising that this book was a bestseller in the United States. This book postulates the shape of the 21st century and just what might happen. In 13 chapters, the author presents his opinion that this is the age of America. The war on terrorism: a counterfuge to stop the emergence of an Islamic superpower. The growth of China: a myth that will all fall apart...
Published on 30 Mar 2010 by Ed Foye

versus
49 of 56 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Big disappointment!
Friedman totally misses the point by contradicting his own opening statements about "identifying long-term underlying trends". He bases the whole book on misguided assumptions and geo-politics. Alvin Toffler pointed out 20 years ago that geo-politics is on the way out...
The real "long-term underlying trends" are not about "dominating sea-trade"! And they are not...
Published on 6 Jan 2010 by F. L. P. Souza


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars interesting concepts, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So one more hundred years of American domination, surprised China will not rise to power or even India, time to buy into Turkey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Thee Next Hundred Years, 14 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its rather heavy going and towards the end develops into a Star Wars scenario which in the time scale, is fanciful
However the early pars makes sense though as it was published about a couple of years ago some of the predictions have not come to pass

Its worth a read but I would not rush to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the next 100 years, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Next 100 Years, The (Paperback)
amusing. not that exciting. I am not sure can I believe in all that was written. but for anyone interesting in politics as a hobby, nice book...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good insight into the future backed up with good statistics and theories. Slight bias in a lot of aspects though but overall a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The unexpected will negate the expected, 18 Mar 2010
By 
Philip Welsby (Ebinburgh UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
George Friedman warns us to expect the unexpected. This oxymoron contains the potential negation of all his predictions. All his predictions are very interesting but "jokers in the pack" will emerge to alter the world dynamic. In the recent past computers and the internet were not predicted (even by HG Wells). In the future, to compound the oxymoron, I predict, for example, that someone will unexpectedly develop cold fusion (thereby rendering many oil states of historical interest only) and that computers, once they are complex enough, will develop some form of consciousness (and who know where this might lead?). I could continue my criticisms in similar vein but, unexpectedly,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A compelling read, 11 Jan 2010
By 
M. Smith (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Next 100 Years, The (Hardcover)
A great escapist book that really does make you sit back and think. Yes, the cynic within me was in full flow when I read the abstract, but what Friedman does very well is place the past 100 years in context within the first chapter. This does bring a sobering reality to how the world could look in the next century and clearly shows that some of this will be out of our control. Japan attacking the US space station with meteors fired from the moon, the re-emergence of the Turkish Empire and the threat of war on the Mexico/US border! It all makes compelling reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One sided American perspective, 1 Jan 2010
This review is from: Next 100 Years, The (Hardcover)
This was a disappointing book in many ways, but perhaps the author only intended it to sell well in the US market, hence the bias perspective. In the end, one realizes this book does not even attempt to do a fair evaluation of what future society, environment or technology (outside of war toys) could look like.

For those who enjoy war reading and especially from a US better-than-anyone viewpoint, you may like this book. It clearly is based on short historical perspective of the last 60 years and assumes basically business will be as usual. This becomes ludicrous if you take the premise - nations such as Poland and Germany seek inherently to go to war to expand their borders. Perhaps if the author had travelled more or at least developed an understanding of European, Chinese or Russian perspectives, then this book would have had a chance to be of interest. Sorry but this title is a misnomer. I would not recommend this book as a 'forecast for the 21st Century'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unconvinced, 1 Jun 2011
This review is from: Next 100 Years, The (Paperback)
Although the book was published in 2009, by 2011 some forcasts are already out of date. For example on page 200 when refering to Japan the author says "It [Japan] is currently the world's second largest economic power, and will continue to be well into the twenty-first century" - umm correct me if I'm wrong buy China is already no2, so Japan's position as no2 hardly continued 'well into the twenty-first century' !

Agree with most other reviews, a massive American bias, no wonder it was the New York Times bestseller! - but for all the wrong reasons, i.e. not because it's particularly true or good, but because it tells Americans what they want to hear!

Having said that, there were some interesting perspectives that I hadn't considered, and for that reason I gave it an extra star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Far Fetched ..., 14 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: The Next 100 Years: A Forecast for the 21st Century (Hardcover)
An interesting read, from someone who is obviously Pro-American. Not that there is anything wrong with that, but the author is far too optimist about America's future. He mentions that America's vast industrial capacity will enable it to win future wars. What industrial capacity? At present, the Americans have outsourced most of their industry to Mexico and China.
As for his predictions about Europe, he ignores that fact that Muslim immigration, combined with a negative birth rate of Europeans, will result in Europe becoming an Islamic entity, possibly as soon as the year 2050. This will spell disaster for the United States, which is the only nation that supports Israel.
His premise that America's future conflicts will be about mineral rights is way off base; America's future conflicts will be over it's unilateral support of the State of Israel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A FASCINATING, DISTURBING LOOK FORWARD AT WHAT COULD BE, 16 May 2009
By 
RBSProds "rbsprods" (Deep in the heart of Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Next 100 Years: A Forecast for the 21st Century (Hardcover)
Four and a half FASCINATING Stars! Highly Engrossing!! Futurist author looks back at the last 100 years in a great geo-political analysis of where we have been as England, Germany, Russia, and the USA engage in strategic political swordmanship over the benchmarks of 1900, 1920, 1940, 1960, 1980, 2000, and the fateful date of Sept 11, 2001: presented in a way and with an overview that may have escaped some of us. In many ways this is an expansion of The Future of War: Power, Technology and American World Dominance in the Twenty-first Century written by George and Meredith Friedman, but this book is much wider in scope and depth.

The author then looks out into the future over the period of 100 years from now, surveying everything from Atlantic Europe, the USA, "the Soviet Empire", the Islamic world, earthquakes, Soviet successor states, the coming "Texas Rebellion", Mexico, the Eurasian "Poacher Paradise", socio-policital trends, population shifts, and far beyond. Reading almost like science fiction, the author paints a disturbing picture of the future of the world and the USA in particular. But make no mistake, this is not your 'run of the mill' conspiracy book but a deep study of past trends and future projections. One may not like what he projects on a macro-level, but one look at where we are today in 2009 should dispel any doubts that things may change radically into a world that none of us believed possible and far from our benefit as a nation and world leader. Buckle up for a Wild Ride into our possible future. Definitely recommended!! Four and a half POSSIBLE Stars. (This review is based on an eBook digital download, 394 pages with 28 geo-political illustrations)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Next 100 Years: A Forecast for the 21st Century
The Next 100 Years: A Forecast for the 21st Century by George Friedman (Hardcover - 20 Jan 2009)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews