Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars1,638
3.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 March 2016
Good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2015
Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2015
Good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2015
Good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2015
Good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2014
Good Book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2014
good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2012
i think it is appalling that such a badly written book has been so hyped when there are gazillions of really well written books out there. i will not read anything else he writes.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2005
Captivating read from start to finish
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2003
This is a comment more on the customer reviews than on the book. I was pleasantly surprised that most customer commentary agreed with my own - that the book is entertaining but the author's bias is discomfiting, that the story and the fundamental ideas have substantial flaws, and the characters are two-dimensional and clumsy. At one point I felt as if I were reading a comedy.
Probably the hugest flaw is the assertion that the Catholic Church is responsible for the decline of matriarchal society, and that the rise of patriarchal societies is the reason we have war and violence.
One of the more interesting reviews called the book heresy and suggested that serious Christians avoid it. I don't share the urge to censor, but the book is indeed heresy. I would NOT suggest that anyone make a serious religious, theological, or philosophical decision based on THIS book. I would suggest that serious readers should read the Bible - old and new testaments - and come to their own conclusions. Based on the general tenor of the reviews, I am confident that the majority of people who do so would arrive at a reasonable conclusion.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.