Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST Nirvana Book
Many books have ben written about Nirvana and I have most of them. In my opinion this book is the best of the lot, it actually contains interviews with all three band members and so is more reliable as a source for die hard fans. Buy it you won't be disappointed!!!
Published on 7 July 2003 by vickyrebel01

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A hagiography
Although not as sickly as No One Here Gets Out Alive, this is largely a "he wrote poo on his school books so he must be a genius" biography of Kurt Cobain. It is hamstrung by its adoration of Cobain and blurred by its treatment of the rest of the band.
I also found the author's statements about popular music somewhat parochial - Nirvana did not arrive at a time...
Published on 7 Nov 2005 by El Loro


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST Nirvana Book, 7 July 2003
Many books have ben written about Nirvana and I have most of them. In my opinion this book is the best of the lot, it actually contains interviews with all three band members and so is more reliable as a source for die hard fans. Buy it you won't be disappointed!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most in depth book on Nirvana yet, 23 Nov 1999
By A Customer
Definitely worth reading if you loved Nirvana, lots of interesting biographical detail and insight into the stories behind the songs. Its only real criticism is that it's a bit too much "what strength coffee Kurt drank". It is particularly good for the earlier period of Nirvana's too-short career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Awesome, 15 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This is a must book for any Cobain fan; the detailed researsch that Azerrad has done is astonishing. I am a huge Nirvana and Cobain fan; I thought I knew a lot but after reading this you will surely be the know all of one of the most amazing men in history. The book traces the band from the start to the later days when they found it hard to remain true to themselves with all the publicity surrounding them. If you are a Cobain/Nirvana fan, READ IT, if you aren't a Cobain/Nirvana fan, READ IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST FOR ANY NIRVANA FAN, 30 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the only book on the band I own and probably will own. As it was written when they were all still alive and together and they contributed to it, I feel it's the most reliable as it's not biased at all. I found it really hard to put this book down. It is so very interesting. It tells the story of the band really well and gives a great understanding to the members and their lives too. If you're a fan of Nirvana, don't even question it. Just buy it. It's not expensive and regardless of what the cost is, it is completely worth it 100%!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read!, 12 Mar 2000
By A Customer
Straight from the GREATS mouth, authorised and great, I sent all the way to Vancouver just to borrow the book from the library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A hagiography, 7 Nov 2005
This review is from: Come as You are: The Story of Nirvana (Paperback)
Although not as sickly as No One Here Gets Out Alive, this is largely a "he wrote poo on his school books so he must be a genius" biography of Kurt Cobain. It is hamstrung by its adoration of Cobain and blurred by its treatment of the rest of the band.
I also found the author's statements about popular music somewhat parochial - Nirvana did not arrive at a time of stagnation in popular music. They arrived at the most revolutionary period in popular music since the mid seventies, if not the mid fifties. While the US alternative scene was looking back to a moribund genre it had never quite understood, the rest of the world was kicking over the institutions and creating a brave new world of popular music and culture.
Still, its a good enough read on a rainy afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Despairingly good, 14 Jun 2005
By 
This review is from: Come as You are: The Story of Nirvana (Paperback)
This is a well thought out, no holds barred account of the life of a kid growing up in a red necked seattle town and aspiring to be more than the sum of his parts. It accounts for Kurts struggle through his childhood and early teens with a mother and father that hated each other and didnt think too much of him.
We are told of his early years as a graffitti artist and small time vandal and are let in on the 10 or so drummers who played for the band before Grohl.
The first edition of this book was written before his "suicide" and is really an excellent read. Of course a lot of whats here can be discovered by surfing the net but you wont get a better insight into what it was like to be in this band.
I always preferred Green Day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Massive Let Down, 5 Nov 1999
By A Customer
Fans or Nirvana and the Seattle music scene will expect great things from this book (it was nearly unofficial don't forget). But the reality is you should only buy it if you care who Courtney Love was 'hanging out' with in 1981 or what the original lyrics to 'Stay Away' are. The discography and pictures are good though!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3d4c144)

This product

Come as You are: The Story of Nirvana
Come as You are: The Story of Nirvana by Michael Azerrad (Paperback - 6 Oct 1998)
Used & New from: 1.08
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews