Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Would've made a great tv story.
Doctor Who: The Harvest Of Time (Audiobook).

Product Info.
10xCD's
Running Time 11 hrs & 48 mins
Author: Alistair Reynolds
Read By: Geoffrey Beevers

What's Up Doc?
After billions of years of imprisonment, the vicious Sild have broken out of confinement from a ruined world at the end of time, they make preparations to conquer...
Published 18 months ago by Timelord-007

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed feelings...
It's Alastair Reynolds and it's Doctor Who. If you are a fan of both then you should buy this book. At least, that's what I thought...

The novel begins with a wonderfully nasty prologue and Reynolds fluid prose style engages immediately. There's a brilliant death in chapter one that could have been lifted straight out of a Terrance Dicks or Malcolm Hulke...
Published 10 months ago by PVille


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, 23 Jun. 2013
I have no idea if this is true or not but I can imagine Alaistair Reynolds sitting as a boy watching Pertwee being the doctor. He has encapsulated that sheer child like joy along with his own personal blend of genius for writing. Add to that the exceptional crystal clear accurate characterisation of the characters of the time, and hey presto, you end up with a fabulous book that's hard to put down down.....Any fan who remembers the Pertwee era will be in a nostalgic heaven, but anyone unfamiliar with the classic Who will still find a gem of a book, and I can think of no better place to be introduced and fall in love with the classic Doctor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars why,oh why..., 14 Jun. 2013
can't we have Sir Mr Reynolds writing for Doctor Who more often? The previous reviewer was spot on in their assessment. I would only add that even if you happen not to be aware of the history or continuity of this era this is still a cracking good read from a Master of space opera.

Now, when will Lord King Hamilton deign to get his chops into writing a Who?

and BTW, may not be the place but RIP Iain M Banks...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harvest of Time, 24 Jun. 2013
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was very exicted about the prospect of a Doctor Who book by Alastair Reynolds, but also a bit nervous (memories of Michael Moorcock's efforts). This book was a total triumph. Alastair Reynolds has taken his skill as a sci-fi writer, and his obvious knowledge of and love for classic Doctor Who and written a brilliant Third Doctor story. Set after the Sea Devils story, this has the Third Doctor as portrayed by Jon Pertwee teamed up against Roger Delgado's Master. Old friends, older adversaries, the shared heritage that the Doctor and the Master have always showed through in unique ways in the Third Doctor era stories. And this has been captured perfectly in this story.

The Doctor and Jo investigate issues on oil rigs north of the coast of Scotland. Unknown to them, a small team from the Ministry of Defence is also doing some research of their own, utilising the skills of Prisoner M - a top security prisoner being held at the Durlston Heath complex under total lockdown. Or is he?

This story utilises the brilliant classic Third Doctor, Jo, and the UNIT team with the Brigadier, Mike Yates, Benton. There are helicopter rides, aliens from time and space, Timelord history, and good old 1970 English life portrayed in the book. The aliens are suitably alien, the bad guys are suitably evil, the Master and the Doctor are perfectly portrayed, down to mannerisms and conversational patterns. The author has written a total `classic' Doctor Who story, and one that will rightfully take pride of place in the Doctor Who novelisations. (But I did feel sorry for the cows!). I heartily hope that Mr Reynolds has plans to write some more Doctor Who.

Totally recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dr who at his finest, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I gave this book 5 stars as I found it a thoroughly involving read. The Doctor and the Master are their usual selves, but with a new side at times, a new aspect to their relationship. With Jo Grant, Brigadier Lethbridge Stewart and co in tow, with the time travel you'd expect it met all the expectations from me in a Dr Who story- with a few twists along the way. Miss it, miss out!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Kind of ok in a nostalgic sort of way, 27 Mar. 2014
By 
Chris (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is well written and accurately captures the style of Dr Who from the 70s so well done Alastair on those points. Unfortunately it just isn't that interesting as a story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, solid adventure., 9 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found a lot to like about this book, especially giving the Master a lot of centre stage and having some character development, which is rare for Doctor Who. The adventures the other characters were having on the peripheries of the plot felt a little more like padding than anything intrinsic, however, although they were well characterised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking story, 11 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am always wary about Doctor Who books as some are written for children and quite simplistic. This book may not have delevoped the characters of the Jon Pertwee era but it does capture them well. It is well written and has a gripping story that kept me going back to my Kindle every chance I got.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars quality books which captures the TV series perfectly, 18 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Marvellous. Well written, good ideas (which you'd expect from Reynolds), good characters, it romps along nicely and it truly feels like it belongs to the time (between the Daemons and the Sea Devils).

My only grumbles were very minor. The book takes advantage of the unlimited budget of the imagination so the Master is n a super hi tech prison but by the Sea Devils he's downgraded to a big house on the Isle of Wight with poor security. Also, Harvest and Sea Devils were both sea based so you find yourself thinking that somewhere in the Sea Devils Jo should muttered 'not again' as she clambered up a ladder.

Hope he writes another one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it, read it, enjoy it! Classic Dr Who., 29 April 2014
By 
M. Powers - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great storyline and characterisation! Will look forward to reading it again soon! Classic Dr who at its best. Definitely one for the collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beast, 2 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazing book

Can't fault it in anyway always nice to travel with an old doctor
Gina have to see what else Alistair has wrote
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: Harvest of Time (Doctor Who (Penguin))
Doctor Who: Harvest of Time (Doctor Who (Penguin)) by Alastair Reynolds (Paperback - 4 Jun. 2013)
Used & New from: £2.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews