Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grrrrreat!
I loved this book and gave it 5 stars because as always with KMM I couldn't put it down and read it in 2 days! I was disappointed it when it was finished and I realised I had to wait a long time for the next one.
There's always a cliffhanger ending and you're left going "noooooooooo, why must I wait?"
I don't like the Dani O'Malley character, she really...
Published 23 months ago by J. L. Rice

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable enough *mild spoilers*
Firstly, I just want to say that KMM is my favourite author and I absolutely adore the Fever series so my review takes into account the standard of the previous books.

Overall this was an okay installment in an outstanding series. My expectations were not high, I didn't really like Dani but I trusted Karen to make it work - she had never written a book I...
Published on 30 Oct 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grrrrreat!, 22 Jan 2013
By 
J. L. Rice (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iced (Dani O'Malley) (Hardcover)
I loved this book and gave it 5 stars because as always with KMM I couldn't put it down and read it in 2 days! I was disappointed it when it was finished and I realised I had to wait a long time for the next one.
There's always a cliffhanger ending and you're left going "noooooooooo, why must I wait?"
I don't like the Dani O'Malley character, she really rubs me up the wrong way. Being such an arrogant teenager playing with all the "big boys" but by the end of the book you kind of undertstand her better, see where she's coming from and realise most of the arrogance is a shell to protect her from this horrible apocalyptic-style world she now lives in and has to deal with all the bid scary Fae roaming around.
Because she has all these special abilities she also feels responsible for the world and feels like she has to help in any way she can, no matter what the "big boys" say. Girl power, you know.
If you hated the Dani O'Malley character in the Fever series, don't turn away from this book. Give it a chance, its soo worth it.
Also it lets you see what happens next after the walls between our world and Fae have fallen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable enough *mild spoilers*, 30 Oct 2012
This review is from: Iced (Dani O'Malley) (Hardcover)
Firstly, I just want to say that KMM is my favourite author and I absolutely adore the Fever series so my review takes into account the standard of the previous books.

Overall this was an okay installment in an outstanding series. My expectations were not high, I didn't really like Dani but I trusted Karen to make it work - she had never written a book I hadn't enjoyed. I enjoyed Iced, but it really wasn't a patch on the previous books.

I don't want to spoil the story, so I'll just say what I liked and disliked. I liked the return to Dublin and the rich world KMM has created, as usual KMM's descriptions of anything fae were exquisite, dark and haunting (references to unseelie princes 'chiming' makes the hair on the back of my neck stand up) and the best parts of the book, for me, involved Christian and his transition.

As for dislikes... there were a few. The main one was Dani. She still irritates me and the story felt 'dumbed down' for having a fourteen year old protagonist. I was dubious about this going in, the idea of it didn't appeal because in all honesty as a grown woman I don't find fourteen year olds very interesting. However, I trusted KMM to pull a rabbit out of the hat... but I don't feel that she did. All the 'fecks' and 'dudes' were as annoying a presence as ever. The idea that Ryodan and Christian would be even remotely interested in her or the woman she would become just seemed unexplainable. I was at a complete loss to account for Christian's sudden infatuation.

Another dislike was, well, every other female character in the book. The other sidhe seers were just so two dimensional, weak and insipid that I had to stop myself skimmimg past their parts and force myself to concentrate repeatedly. KMM could do with taking a leaf out of Kresley Cole's book here - her Immortals After Dark series is full to the brim with interesting secondary female characters that jump off the page, without detracting from the main character. I was reminded of the early Black Dagger Brotherhood books when I just wanted to skip past the parts with the lessers.

I also felt that The Big Bad (responsible for the ice) turned out to be a bit 'meh' - although I did think the other baddie was cool.

Overall, it wasn't a bad book (it was written by KMM after all) but I had just completed a re-read of the previous books and this one did not scratch the itch that built up over the course of the re-read, it felt lacking in comparison. I finished the book longing for the return of Mac and Barrons and disappointed that there are two more Dani books before this happens. I'm still a die hard KMM fan... this is just my least favourite of her books.

*** EDIT ***
KMM has reached out to fans via her facebook page because of "tons of emails asking about the "over-sexualized" YA thing" asking them to comment in their reviews. I had deliberately left this aspect out in my initial post because it's a bit of a hornet's nest and ok, out of loyalty to KMM over what I feel was a bad judgement call (everybody makes them), but here goes. This is NOT a young adult genre book. It is an adult book that happens to have a fourteen year-old protagonist.

However... whilst Dani did not have sex in the book, she did witness sexual acts and (what I found disturbing) was lusted over by very grown, very sexual men who are vying to be her 'first'. A lot of it goes over her head, because she's only 14, so there isn't any sexual tension as such, but...Ew. Not only did this make me uncomfortable for the obvious reasons, but as a woman in my thirties I felt alienated. I wanted to be as drawn to Ryodan and Christian as I was to Barrons and V'lane but I didn't connect and I suspect this is because I struggled to find men who are attracted to 14 year old girls attractive. That being said, this is the story KMM wanted to tell, which is entirely her prerogative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it., 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iced (Dani O'Malley) (Hardcover)
(Did anyone else who ordered from Amazon have a problem with the pages? Mine are all uneven and I even got a replacement and it looks exactly the same. Did anyone else have this problem?)

Review: Loved this just as much as I expected. It wasn't as brilliant as the Fever series, but this is only the first book and I have high expectations for the next one. People who are obsessed with Dani's age and whether the book is too sexual need to get over themselves. It's expertly written and KMM knew exactly what she was doing. If you're not interested in it, don't read it. Simple. Ditto to people who thought Dani's voice was too 'young and immature.' Either you're way too old or you just don't remember what it's like to be young. Either way, don't trash the book for stupid reasons. I loved this. All in all, well worth waiting for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars fun, but not as good as the Fever series, 16 Sep 2014
By 
A fun enough read, but not as good as the Fever books that it is a spin off of. Dani is annoyingly oblivious for such a smart girl and some of the ways she rationalises the obvious away is just plain stupid. New side characters are introduced but not fleshed out. (I suspect they are there for future books.) There is a lot more fantasy-like descriptions of stuff. Exploring the library, for example, felt very Harry Potter. The plot seems to drift a bit in the middle and the one major thing left over from the last book, that is hinted at throughout this one, is finally addressed on, literally, the last page and left as a cliffhanger. RUDE.

Mostly however, my issues with the book stem from Dani being 14 years old. Like the previous books this is a dark and at times sexual book, so why have we thrown a 14 year old into the mix? I'm not one of the readers who believes that minors and sex can never cross in a plot. That wouldn't reflect reality and just because a minor has sex in a book doesn't make it automatically pedophiliac. So, her actual age itself isn't the problem. But if an author is going to place a minor (and not a 17 and 359 day old minor, but an innocent, barely 14 year old minor) in a sexually charged plot it needs to be particularly dealt with. It wasn't here. It was carefully dealt with, don't get me wrong, but not in a way that worked for me and it compromised the whole plot. Here's why:

Dani's spunky and bright. That's great. And two dark dangerous men are in love with her. OK. But one of the men is literally turning into an Unseelie prince (what is referred to as a death-by-sex fae), i.e. an elite member of the eviler of the two fae courts. The other has been a mercenary for millenia...you know rape, pillage and murder. So why, why exactly am I supposed to believe that these two men are willing to voluntarily abide by some antiquated and unenforceable (in post-apocoliptic, lawless Dublin) idea of the age of consent?

I might have believed they didn't find underdeveloped females attractive, except that the Unseelie in general appeared to prefer perversions and both men are shown to have physical, sexual responses to her. (They basically walk around with constant hard-ons.) So, they obviously are attracted. What exactly is supposed to have held two morally unfettered men, who generally take what they want, to the moral high ground? The answer should be nothing, which means the very premise of the book, that these two men are staking their claim for the day she turns 18 untenable and unbelievable.

(I should note that in an interview KMM has stated that neither Roydan nor Christopher is supposed to be sexually attracted to Dani. They just have constant erections. Their love of Dani and engorged penises shouldn't necessarily be seen as correlative. It's true that men look at nubile young women all the time, IRL, and don't act on it. In our culture that idolises youth, it's not even considered pedophilia to do so. I appreciate what she's after in writing the book and characters the way she did. I even think it's far more realistic than when people either write only one of two scenarios--one in which minors are either wholly devoid of sexuality and sexual awareness or victimised by it. I just didn't feel these men were the sort to behave in the reserved mature way they do. Some men, maybe even most men would. But would a death-by-sex fae and a man who grew up in an age when 14 year olds wed and bred?)

They're fun series. I'll no doubt read more of them. I've been consistently impressed with the way KMM slips surprisingly erudite social observations into the books, but this new incarnation was a bit disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really great book, 27 Jan 2013
By 
Dark Angel "Dark Angel" (Cornwall U.K. home of Pirates) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Iced (Dani O'Malley) (Hardcover)
Only BIG criticism that I have, is that the main character Dani, is Irish, Dublin born, no way would she be talking about, diapers (nappies) shopping carts (trollies) hot Flashes (Flushes) candy bars (chocolate) soda (pop) Consignment shops (Charity?)etc., can't get into thinking of her as being Irish, but American. LOTS of American terminology, which can be very annoying when reading about Dublin/Ireland! Other than that, it's a really great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New genre for the author, but it works, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iced (MP3 CD)
Writing a hurt teenage character is a challenge, but somehow it works for the author. The story is apocalyptic fantasy and that is not a feel-good genre, but there is humour and the writing draws you in, certainly well enough to allow you to look forward to the next volume.
Warning: while this is a standalone story, I have my doubts how well this works for people who have not read the Fever series, from which it is spun off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 10 Jan 2013
By 
M. Jordan "Claire13" (Leicester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Iced (Dani O'Malley) (Hardcover)
I loved this book.. it was really refreshing to hear the story from a 14year olds perception on the world.. it really was so well-written. During the book you see dani grow.. she's still a child at the end so cannot wait for her life's twists an turns to continue.. and who will win her heart at the end.. who knows.. fully recommended!! Best series I have ever read.. it even made me visit Dublin last year to see if I could find any fae!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It just doesn't stack up :-(, 11 Aug 2013
This review is from: Iced (Dani O'Malley) (Hardcover)
I love Karin Marie Moning's Fever Series and when I read that there would be a Dani spin off series I was ecstatic about finding out what happened with Mac & Barons. Dani always featured in the Fever series and she always came across as a typical inquisitive hyperactive teenager with an added bonus: she has a superpower which includes freeze framing, supersight, superhearing and she is a kickass Fae slayer.
I'm sad to report that I'm very discombobulated about this book. Yes, that's a word that featured many, many times throughout the book. It seemed like Ms Moning has looked up obscure words and forced them to fit into her book. I found it very annoying and her writing style has deteriorated to the extent of bring poor.

"Horniness slams into me, and I hear myself making such an embarrassing sound I could die of embarrassment."
Excerpt From: Karen Marie Moning. "Fever Series Book 6 Iced."

Although Dani is portrayed as a 14 year old I felt very uncomfortable with the erotic and sometimes pornographic aspects of the book. I would have found it more believable if Dani was slightly older. On the positive side, Ryodan's character has developed so many new facets as he was generally quite one dimensional in the Fever Series. It would be interesting to read more about him, but that my aversion to poor writing and inappropriate character behaviour (Dani's age and the eroticism) would not trump my curiosity. It's a shame, actually.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is amazing. I really really could not put this book down. Gutted we have to wait so long for next one and it only in hardback whats up with kindle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Iced? Yes, please., 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic. Can't wait for the next chapter of Mac/ Barrons and Dani/Ryodan to unfold.
Moning is one of the funniest, wittiest writers I have read in years. I find myself constantly laughing out loud when reading her novels.
More please as soon as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Iced (Dani O'Malley)
Iced (Dani O'Malley) by Karen Marie Moning (Hardcover - 30 Oct 2012)
£15.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews