Customer Reviews


6 Reviews

4 star
0


2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "On Crete, even the gods may die.".
So what chance for humans? And, sure enough...

Cleverly uses the device of the prologue again in this first-of-series and to great effect. As usual, the seeds of the story are sown in the very early chapters and the author trusts that the reader will stay alert and pick up all the clues as it moves along. Links are made through time and myth - e.g. a golden...
Published on 19 Dec. 2007 by James North

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but not exceptional
I enjoyed this story - as I have hundreds in a similar cosy vein over the last many years.

No gore, no graphic sex scenes, plenty of descriptions of the scenery and the usual rather limited 'stock' whodunnit characters (think Agatha Christie suspects in an archeological dig from the perspective of an emancipated young 1920s woman). The heroine is quite an...
Published on 15 Oct. 2009 by Cozymysterycrazy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "On Crete, even the gods may die."., 19 Dec. 2007
By 
James North (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Tomb of Zeus (Laetitia Talbot Mysteries) (Paperback)
So what chance for humans? And, sure enough...

Cleverly uses the device of the prologue again in this first-of-series and to great effect. As usual, the seeds of the story are sown in the very early chapters and the author trusts that the reader will stay alert and pick up all the clues as it moves along. Links are made through time and myth - e.g. a golden youth who drives his Bugatti over a cliff makes echoes with the son of Theseus who drove his chariot into the sea, both men fleeing, thousands of years apart in time, from accusations of the same sin. Cleverly never cheats the readers (though she doesn't spoon-feed them) and the clues to the primary and the secondary murders are hidden in plain sight, resulting in one satisfying solution.

The unravelling is done by a dashing new heroine who makes Maisie Dobbs look very frowsty. Armed with spade and Luger and a lot of attitude, Laetitia battles male intolerance in the world of archaeology to dig up and expose truths long buried as well as a fresh and personally distressing murder. The wonderfully evocative setting is Crete in the golden years of its archaeological discoveries and this, along with the intriguing characters and challenging ideas linger long after the last page has been read. You get much more than a mystery story for your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Introducing Laetitia Talbot - archaeology, murder, intrigue . . ., 21 July 2013
By 
Mrs. K. A. P. Wright - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first of Barbara Cleverly's books featuring Laetitia Talbot. It is the late 1920s and Laetitia is an archaeologist. We meet her on her way to Crete where she is going to take part in a dig. Female archaeologists are rare beasts in the 1920s and Laetitia is very protective of her status and takes herself very seriously, so seriously that it is not immediately obvious how old she is.

She is staying en famille with the head of the dig, a man of great charm and charisma, and his extended household. She soon becomes aware that things are not as they should be, and then she finds that another member of the household is someone from her past, who not only has hurt her badly, but is also morally very dubious.

Then the deaths begin and the accidents start to happen. Letty, being Letty, plunges in headfirst causing mayhem and danger on all sides.

This is an excellent book. The plot is complex and convoluted. Hints are constantly being thrown out about past events, which is tantalising. Some you find out about and some you don't. The characters are also complex. We tend to see them through Letty's eyes and she does not always see clearly, so what you see is not always what you get.

I have enjoyed all the books by Cleverly that I have read (and I think I have read all that are in print) and this one is an excellent addition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but not exceptional, 15 Oct. 2009
By 
Cozymysterycrazy (living in a dream world) - See all my reviews
I enjoyed this story - as I have hundreds in a similar cosy vein over the last many years.

No gore, no graphic sex scenes, plenty of descriptions of the scenery and the usual rather limited 'stock' whodunnit characters (think Agatha Christie suspects in an archeological dig from the perspective of an emancipated young 1920s woman). The heroine is quite an attractive character and it would be interesting to see her in action for more books, although she may have locked herself into the 'romance' a little early for a series.

Basic plot predictable, few actual suspects to choose between, a couple of other characters described early on in fairly promising detail but thereafter mere wallpaper. A few modern words missed by the editor (e.g. 'input' which wasn't used in 1928 conversations as far as I know) but nothing too jarring.

It passed a pleasant, rainy Sunday by the fire. I shall probably read the sequel when it comes out, but will borrow it from the Library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Who-dunnit, 24 Oct. 2013
By 
Mr. M. Parker "Bluegrasser" (Farnborough, Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tomb of Zeus (Laetitia Talbot Mysteries) (Paperback)
This is a delightful read in the classic style of "who done it?", in an exotic setting and period. My only regret is that it is not available in Kindle form, which would have been more convenient. These novels would seem ideally suited for a television adaption.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as first series, 31 May 2014
By 
Emmabemma (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Barbara Cleverly's character Joe Sandilands, however I haven't enjoyed this new character Laetitia Talbot as much. Even the writing isn't as tight, but it does have gung ho spirit and is quite enjoyable. I shall keep reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but disappointing, 11 Dec. 2007
By 
Joyce Holmes "bookhound" (Lincoln.UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tomb of Zeus (Laetitia Talbot Mysteries) (Paperback)
I have been fan of Barbara Cleverly since reading her first book and have almost all of them. I was hoping for more than I found, As always her book was beautifully written but the character of Laetitia did not engage the attention as did that of Joe Sandilands, I was conscious of a distinct desire to skip sections rather than devouring every word. I did not feel the interest in the period or the place in which the book is set, even though I have read extensively on the archaeology and geography of Crete. I have to say I expected more.

However I did finish it and I will probably buy the next one in hopes that I will enjoy it more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Tomb of Zeus (Laetitia Talbot Mysteries)
The Tomb of Zeus (Laetitia Talbot Mysteries) by Barbara Cleverly (Paperback - 30 Oct. 2007)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews