Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the Foundation Series!
This was probably my favourite book out of the entire series. It's great. It's set between Prelude to Foundation and Foundation, and serves as an excellent bridge between the two books. The book provides a characterized version of Hari Seldon, which I felt was missing in the other books, where the only place where readers would 'see' Hari Seldon would be at the Vault...
Published on 26 Mar 2000

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Asimov not at his best!
Enjoyed the first in the series, but found this book a complete bore - a good part of the story was taken up with Harry having domestics with his wife; deus ex machina saves the day; deus ex machina saves the day; more deus ex machina saves the day, etc.
Published 18 months ago by Azza_V


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the Foundation Series!, 26 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This was probably my favourite book out of the entire series. It's great. It's set between Prelude to Foundation and Foundation, and serves as an excellent bridge between the two books. The book provides a characterized version of Hari Seldon, which I felt was missing in the other books, where the only place where readers would 'see' Hari Seldon would be at the Vault during the crises. In addition, while retaining a high level of excitment and plot-development, it made psychohistory come to life as a science, instead of just the as a mysetrious force as portrayed in the other books of the series. I recommend reading this book in its correct place in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost as good as the original trilogy, 20 July 2000
By A Customer
This book shows Asimov's story telling powers remained undiminshed by the years. The story is fascinating even though we know, in a broad sense, what will happen in the end. Asimov has stated that he viewed Hari Seldon as his alter ego, and so it is appropriate that the story of Seldon's last days should be Asimov's last work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must-read if you are familiar with the series, 18 Sep 2000
By A Customer
An absloute classic. This, Asimov's last book, is another jewel in the Foundation series. It fills a gap between foundation and its prelude, and fits in seamlessly. It completes the series in a glorious manner. The end, and the failing of Seldon's faculties, are made especially relevant because of Asimov's own life at the time, and his unwelcome death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Asimov is the Best, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I do not read Pure Sci Fi books too often mainly Koontz/Herbert/King but, when told to get the Asimov series, I made the leap and found I could not put them down and ended up reading one after the other. These are excellent books and keep you interested all the way through the lifetime of the foundation series. I would recommed these to anyone who likes to read well written and gripping books. I have tried other since but no other author can keep me interested as Asimov did. I suppose it is dependent upon individual tastes and these are my cup of tea. Seller was excellent providing great service and delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Classic Classic, 13 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book to complete my series, and what a series, even though poor Asimov was pestered by his publishers to write more more... when he did he did not rush it , he took his time and the quality is still there, obviously if you are interested in this book you have read some of them so carry on. remember pass your books on to the kids get them reading SF if you can too many hours on the IPad and no creative ideas from reading books makes jack a dull boy..Buy it its great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The last triumphant effort of the master, 23 Nov 1999
By A Customer
The Foundation series is probably THE sci-fi series. In recent years Asimov rather lost it with regard to the genre, becoming rather self indulgent and wobbling on about all manner of personal hang ups. This last effort (he died soon after completing it) is much, much better. Its rather episodic, and it definately helps if you've read the previous books in the series, but its concise, well-written, and a treat for Asimov fans. Some of the resolutions to the situations (especially Seldons wife Dors) are telegraphed but this is still a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Asimov is Sci Fi., 19 Jan 2000
By A Customer
Very enjoyable read...fleshes out the Foundation story, and has more character depth than his earlier books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
classic read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was thrilled to find that I could still get hold of this classic novel. The Foundation series is probably one of the best conceived and written of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
completes my foundation series.An absolute must for asimov fans. bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla thanks,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Forward the Foundation
Forward the Foundation by Robert Silverberg (Hardcover - Mar 1993)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews