Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A definitive book about the subject
This book is one of the definitive early books on Nanotechnology, from K. Eric Drexler, who developed most of the concept. The nanotechnology proposed by Drexler is not merely the sort of "nanotechnology" described routinely in the media in stories about new drugs or hair products but a fully capable system of "digital matter processing" using machines built to nanometere...
Published on 5 Mar 2007 by Paul

versus
1 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars K.Eric Drexler's Atheistic Faith. A potentially good read, spoiled by the Molecule to Man theory.
The first little incline I had that this book was geared towards the Evolution Theory was under the sub-title 'Existing Protein Machines' (on page 8) which reads: 'Yet over three billion years before Jaquard, cells had developed the machinery of the ribosome.'

I thought I'd put that aside and carry on reading because throughout the first chapter, Drexler...
Published on 23 Nov 2009 by Steven Taylor


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A definitive book about the subject, 5 Mar 2007
This review is from: Engines of Creation: The Coming Era of Nanotechnology (Anchor Library of Science) (Paperback)
This book is one of the definitive early books on Nanotechnology, from K. Eric Drexler, who developed most of the concept. The nanotechnology proposed by Drexler is not merely the sort of "nanotechnology" described routinely in the media in stories about new drugs or hair products but a fully capable system of "digital matter processing" using machines built to nanometere level precision, capable of self-replicating and doing for the handling of matter what computers did for the handling of information.

This book aims for readability and persuasion more than depth, but Drexler's other definitive book, Nanosystems, discusses the concept in more technical detail. For most readers, however, this book is an ideal introduction to Drexler's ideas.

If Drexler is right then once such technology appears the world will be radically different. Engines of Creation is an essential book for anyone interested in future technology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the 21st century's bible, 11 Aug 2005
This review is from: Engines of Creation: The Coming Era of Nanotechnology (Anchor Library of Science) (Paperback)
If Carl Sagan's Cosmos was the book about everything (being the Universe everything) then Eric Drexler's Engines of Creation could well be the 21st Century's Bible.. Notice that it was written quite a long time ago yet it'll be hard even for the next generation to criticise. It's a true vision with a magnificent scientific support. It tells you all about nanotechnology's power to be with it's overwhelming future effects on our society. It's also great for you if you're starting a career in nanosciences allthough the practical aspect has been neglected to some extent (being difficult to prove most of his visions - for the time being..) I'm convinced that he's shown us the next human being's Frontier with this masterpiece and it should be read in school no matter what you'll be studying in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mind Expanding Stuff, 25 Jun 2009
This review is from: Engines of Creation: The Coming Era of Nanotechnology (Anchor Library of Science) (Paperback)
Engines of Creations is a really exciting book about the possibility of a fantastic future. While nanotechnology is the main part of the book, Drexler talks about Artificial Intelligence (AI), colonisation of space, information management, and an extended almost immortal life. He doesn't just talk about these things but predicts how these technologies will develop, how we will use them and the social implications.

The book can be very technical at times as the author begins by explaining how DNA is a nanomachine and how it encodes and produces every living thing. He uses this as a model for man to design DNA like machines and extends this to nanomachines not based on building proteins but building non-organic machines.

Large parts of the book talk about the steps that need to be taken in order to ensure that the technology is produced with appropriate safeguards in place (both physical and political).

The book was published in 1990 when html and the web was still being developed. Towards the end of the book there is a chapter on information. He discusses using html and how it will revolutionise the way we store/update documents. He basically explains the web as it is now.

The ideas in this book are used extensively in almost every modern sci-fi book or movie out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A passionate advocacy of science, 28 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. G. Carroll (LDN | HKG | SZX) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Engines of Creation: The Coming Era of Nanotechnology (Anchor Library of Science) (Paperback)
Drexler's book Engines of Creation discussing the potential and ramifications of nanotechnology has influenced the great and the good of futurism from Wired magazine to science fiction writer Neal Stephenson.

I decided to revisit the book, even though it is about a quarter of a century old now. Drexler writes with stream of consciousness-style drawing from science and several centuries of western thought like a polymath Alan Ginsberg on speed. With his theories came justifications and some serious thought given to the consequences of nanotechnology.

The book is also an invaluable read for scientists in the face of skeptics. Drexler's writings on the press and how they view science would be invaluable to a climatologists who now stand by ringing their hands when some of their science has undergone rigorous scrutiny. Drexler maps the kind of communications strategies that they should take.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, authoritative, 4 Feb 2011
By 
Mole "Mole" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Engines of Creation: The Coming Era of Nanotechnology (Anchor Library of Science) (Paperback)
Drexler is the one that they all refer to when discussing nanotechnology. He discusses the concept in a way that I found easy to read, and makes the various points in a clear, concise manner. He actually raises a number of key questions within the text, concerning just how we will define this in the future and how these concepts will impact upon human society.

If this is a topic that you have an interest in, or you want to understand how this technology could change the world, then this is where you should start. It will lay the groundwork that will help you make sense of some of the other works out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely loved this book and feed my imagination, 15 Jan 2010
This review is from: Engines of Creation: The Coming Era of Nanotechnology (Anchor Library of Science) (Paperback)
A good explanation of what Nano technology is, what the possibilities are good and bad, and general titillating ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 27 Dec 2002
By 
D. Metz (Eugene, OR United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Engines of Creation: The Coming Era of Nanotechnology (Anchor Library of Science) (Paperback)
Drexler takes the reader methodically through the possibilities of nanotechnology. He builds a really strong case for the inevitability of this technology and how profoundly it will change the world. His philosophical reasoning is outstanding and I have to say I'm convinced about what he is saying. When you get his vision, you realize just how archaic the pre-nano world will seem from the future. How inexact our "bulk-technology" is! Dealing with billions of atoms at a time at best - come on!
Also dealt with is the coming age of intelligent machines. In Drexler's future intelligent machines and are tied in very closely with nanotechnology.
Anyone who is remotely interested in this topic or the future of mankind should read this book; it's a mind blower. It was given to me by a friend and in the inscription he wrote that this book has turned him "religious" - religious about nanotechnology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars K.Eric Drexler's Atheistic Faith. A potentially good read, spoiled by the Molecule to Man theory., 23 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Engines of Creation: The Coming Era of Nanotechnology (Anchor Library of Science) (Paperback)
The first little incline I had that this book was geared towards the Evolution Theory was under the sub-title 'Existing Protein Machines' (on page 8) which reads: 'Yet over three billion years before Jaquard, cells had developed the machinery of the ribosome.'

I thought I'd put that aside and carry on reading because throughout the first chapter, Drexler wonderfully illustrates the world of possibilities within Nanotechnology. Maybe I wouldn't come accross many other atheistic statements I thought, but then enters Chapter Two which is titled 'The Principles of Change' which should really be titled 'The Principles of Evolution.'

It's a wonderful book, but becomes heavily geared towards the Evolutionist faith. Something like this should remain Scientific and should not be Hi-Jacked by huge assumptions on Origins.

I personally thought that it was unnessasary to mention Evolution in a book with such wonderful ideas. If Evolution is your thing, then by all means, you'll love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Engines of Creation: The Coming Era of Nanotechnology (Anchor Library of Science)
£10.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews